We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best new hangout place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Venue Sushi Bar

The Venue Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Venue Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best new hangout place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! I came with my sister and my mom on out girls night out and we all agreed this is our new hangout place! The ambiance was swell and the service and staff were great! Sushi was phenomenal! Very retro chic!

Helpful?
Thank pris-diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband loves Sushi but I do not. This restaurant was able to accommodate both of our taste. I had a chicken dish and calamari which was perfect, and my husband had a sashimi platter which he enjoyed.

The staff was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bairepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The Venue keeps getting better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Venue is a really good spot and perfectly located on El Paseo in the heart of the Dez. The service is super and the owner/chef obviously takes great pride in not only the food quality, but the presentation and the overall style of the space.

The quality of the food is very fresh and the the rolls are quite imaginative. This is the first place I've seen strawberries included in some of the sushi dishes. Sounds odd, but very groovy.

This is a perfect place to take friends from out of town for way above average food and a little too much sake or to just chill on Sunday evening. It's also open rather late for Desert standards so that's a plus.

The outside patio is the best street level al Dante option on El Paseo

All in all, I'd like to go back right now.


TIP: Go for the Chef's recommendation option(s) and the Tataki salads are like you've never had before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millard112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very creative sushi chief Engin Onural also very friendly and social compare to other Japanese sushi makers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my favorite place in Palm Desert . Very friendly service. Everything is very fresh and delicious. May favorite roll is The Venue Roll and ahi poke for appetizer is just amazing

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elnur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST of the west!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Venue Sushi Bar is my favorite place in Palm Desert .I visit PD every month for business and love to let my plates fill up with Chef Engin's artistic hands! The place is very popular, always full and you have to make reservation . They keep my chair for first friday's of each month ; 8 pm sharp :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venue Sushi Bar also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to The Venue Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing