We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat after a year: still good”

The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 74
Dallas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Repeat after a year: still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sometimes a repeat is disappointing. Not 3rd Corner. The casual ambiance is comfortable. The ability to select a bottle of wine at retail rather than restaurant prices (plus a $5 corkage) is wonderfully economical. We had a great zin for $29 that would have gone for $75 in normal restaurant markups. The Hummus appetizer we shared for four was fabulous: highly recommended if you like hummus. There was a fresh ingredient that added a zip to it we couldn't identify but loved. Entree serving was modest but reasonable.

Wait staff performance did not quite match the food. The service wasn't bad. The waiter was cordial and got the order right. But when my water glass goes dry and stays that way for more that 5 minutes, and I have to wave down my waiter to get it refreshed, I frown. Also, he would not permit a substitution of a vegetable for starch to accommodate my diabetic wife. Finally, he had no suggestions or guidance from among the 15 zinfandel's in the wine selection when I asked about zins. Maybe he was new. I'll definitely go here again on next year's visit. I'll bet his service will match the great food then.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    80
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
346 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Worst dinner of our entire trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband ordered a hamburger and it came practically raw. He couldn't eat it so he told the waitress, and she sent over the Manager. She was short with long dark hair, glasses and a smurk on her face. She refused to do anything about it. She said that is how we serve our burgers, bright and pink. But clearly it was undercooked and ecoli just lurking. She did not put customer first she giggled and walked away. We shall never go back and do not recommend this restaurant. If she was willing to take it off the bill, we would perhaps give the restaurant a squeek of a pass with a warning about ordering burgers. But she didn't do anything to apease my husband, who never usually complains, but this was blatant discord. We still gave the waitress a tip since it was not her fault. Seemed the place was busy during happy hour, but we have no interest in returning whatsoever and give it a complete fail.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came for the wine tasting and decided to have lunch first. The menu provided for an extensive selection.
The quality was very good The beet salad was unique but unfortunately on the skimpy side, rather unusual for desert restaurants. The ham sandwich was the best. The ham was amazing, the bread spectacular, definitely a have again. The service was very good and our waiter had a very good wine knowledge,

The wine tasting was a lot of fun, a great way to experience some new wines.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great concept for a Wine Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Wine Bar is a great concept which allows you to buy a bottle before you dine. Excellent selection of wine at great prices. the atmosphere was very nice on the small patio. We were with a group so had a set menu - the food was good, not great! I would go back to try things off the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YUM EEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Some very dear old friends have moved to our gorgeous desert, and part of the fun of that is taking them out and showing them some of our incredible dining options we have here.
The 3rd Corner is one that we actually have gone to, again and again. Dinner there was such a delight with the wide range menu, from pastas to delicious steaks/fish/poultry dishes, and of course, the great wine shop where you can buy a bottle of wine for dinner, very well priced, and a small corkage fee. All four of us raved about our different meals.
Our friends enjoyed it so much that they have returned to dine in the bar. The bar menu is extensive, mirrors the dinner menu at less money.
But, the real surprise was a week ago, we went for Sunday Brunch. Advertised at $16.95 with a bottomless Mimosa beverage included, again, the menu was creative and had many wonderful options. The hardest part for me was deciding on which Eggs Benedict I wanted. They have 5 or 6 options, from traditional to Duck. Amazing!
It was all delicious, and there were 6 different meals ordered...all plates were cleaned! A couple of us opted for a Bloody Mary, which was hot and spicy (they can make them milder) actually having two apiece (they were so good, and it was a wonderful day with good friends!) When the bill came, our great server had taken our 1st Bloody off the menu, as we had them instead of the Mimosa....what a surprise. That's something that doesn't happen ofter. We left an extra generous tip, as the service and food were both perfect!
One suggestion, make a reservation for Friday or Saturday night, as they are very busy this season. Larger parties should always reserve a table. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing