We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, Friendly, and Delicious”

El Ranchito Taco Shop
Ranked #53 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly, and Delicious”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in for a quick dinner last night. I had the three taquitos with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, guacamole and sour cream. YUM-O! I mean, they were shredded beef taquitos, I guess you can't jack that up. But, really enjoyed mine and the guac was tasty, which can be hit or miss. The husband had the shredded beef taco combo with beans and rice and he loved his, too. The tea was so fresh it was still warm, but whatever kind they use is great.

The service was good and this place was HOPPING - it's pretty small, maybe 14 booths. As soon as we got up, someone nabbed our booth and one of the employees ran over and said, "Let me clean that for you first". The place was clean and the condiment/salsa bar & utensil sections were kept stocked.

DEFINITELY recommend. Fast, affordable, and tasty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjadegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Plenty of good food a reasonable cost.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

First time visit. Counter girls were very helpful to us in making our selection. Carni asada salad was loaded with meat, guacamole, sour cream and lots lettus. Shredded beef burrito must have weighed a pound and was loaded with everything. Being east coasters used Taco Bell, we think we've found a new favorite. Very good, will return and will recommend to friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmileeReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really great!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I grew up in SoCal and like to think of Mexican, especially inexpensive Mexican my native food. There are so many to choose from. This place is one of the best on all counts. We all have our favorites and el ranchero taco shop is now on my top ten list in all of SoCal. You can't go wrong!!! Did in mention how nice the staff is? You can pay more but why bother?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've had great tacos, burritos, tostadas, and chile rellenos. Inexpensive. Order at the counter and pray that you find a table as it has been crowded on all three of our trips there. Serves beer also.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankb357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“best mexican dinner”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I love this mexican rsstaurnat is so yummy and cheap. i go here all the time for lunch with co-workers and once in a while with family. i give it 5 stars i do reccomend it. there's different variety of food items for eveyone to choose from even for kids. the food is done fast when i order to pick it up its ready in 10 minutes or even 5 minutes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cawa76025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito Taco Shop also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to El Ranchito Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing