We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger in the Desert”
Review of Grill-A-Burger

Grill-A-Burger
Ranked #4 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: At GRILL-A-BURGER, Palm Desert, we have a passion for hamburgers. We make our trendsetting burgers the old-fashioned way using only the finest and freshest ingredients available. Our hand crafted, grilled-to-order, moist and juicy patties are made daily from fresh (never frozen) 100% all-natural USDA Inspected Choice Beef, free of artificial hormones, antibiotics, and other things that don't belong in hamburgers. And we have nice buns, too! They are freshly baked daily at a local bakery. Buns are slightly toasted and garnished with garden crisp lettuce, hand-sliced red onion, vine-ripened tomato and sliced kosher pickles. Our homemade French fries are never frozen and are only made with fresh Idaho Russet potatoes that are hand cut, double-fried and lightly salted without any processing steps in between. And we change our zero trans fat oil every day! Clean oil = crisp, great-tasting fries! Our authentic soda fountain milkshakes and malts are hand-dipped, hand spun and made with premium vanilla bean ice cream, whole milk and natural flavorings. All served in a place that considers our environment by using food packaging that is all natural and made from annually renewable resources by buying from as many local vendors as possible and, of course, by using energy efficient equipment and recycling. We hope this is everything that you have been looking for in a burger place and MORE! Again, welcome and enjoy! Awards include: Best Burger Desert Sun 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Best Burger Palm Springs Life 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, LA Times Best Burger in the Inland Empire 2012, TRIPADVISOR TOP 10 BURGER JOINTS IN THE USA 2014
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Burger in the Desert”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Winner of multiple "Best of the Best" Awards over several years, this restaurant did not disappoint. We were fortunate to get in without a wait. Huge selection of burgers with all types of fixings, in and outside of buns and other coverings. My wife had a burger in a salad with blue cheese dressing. I had a traditional cheeseburger in a bun with the works, and fries to share with my wife. My wife had a black and white shake, I had a black and white malt. Everything was delicious and plentiful. Service was incredibly fast and friendly. This is a place that definitely earns its accolades.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmmadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi tmmadams! Your review makes us smile! The staff are all pretty darn proud of their awards and work hard to maintain our "best of" status! Glad you enjoyed the burgers, the salad, the fries and the shakes! Looks like you got to sample the complete deal… would love to have you in again to try some more selections, next time you're out in this neck of the woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    171
    57
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Avocado”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is very good at this restaurant. They have lots of mini burgers that are bigger than a slider but not as big as a large burger. The best appetizer on the menu is the Deep Fried Avocado slices. You must try them. Wonderful. Different and very tasty. Service is good and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharlyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks sharlyn2 for your review! The Avocado Fries are super popular and the dipping sauces are pretty amazing! Definitely a favorite for many! I personally like that they are lightly breaded and so crisp on the outside but moist and soft on the inside… yum… now you've got me craving them! Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading the Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to have dinner here during a recent trip to Palm Desert. Turned out to be an awesome choice. It was packed for dinner on Saturday evening. 10 minute wait before we were seated. 30+ kinds of burgers with some options with turkey/chicken patties. I had the pro-vo-lone Ranger and my wife had the Guac- a-doodle-doo (chicken burger). These were pretty big patties with various fixins. Also, ordered some delicious garlic fries. Service was excellent. The owners were going around and chatting with customers and making sure everything was OK. I could tell that this was really popular with the locals. I will definitely go back when I am in the area. Highly recommended for burger fans!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks kst1 for taking the time to review your experience at GAB! Saturdays can get a bit chaotic but, usually the wait is reasonable and the food is cooked fresh to order in good time. You had some excellent choices and the garlic fries are so addictive aren't they?! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and that you'll be back… we'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palouse
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge Selection!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate dinner on a Friday evening and the place was packed. The food options on the menu were pretty overwhelming - I can guarantee they have something to please everyone! I ended up getting a hot dog and it was very tastey. The meals don't come with a side - so that must be ordered additionaly. Please note - one serving of fries is probably enough to feed at least 2-3 people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImaCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi ImaCoug! Your review was so appreciated! There are ton of choices on the menu and it can be confusing, but sounds like you all found some great choices! I always have a hard time between choosing a hot dog or a hamburger (so I just alternate!). You are totally right about the fries, our portions are generous, so a full order can easily be shared. We hope you'll come back and try some more selections soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited for the first time today at lunch. Restaurant was busy but service was fast and attentive. Had tri- fries - sweet potatoe and french fries and onion rings. And mini burgers 2 oz. patties with a variety of toppings, we chose bacon cheese and an M (a variation of a big Mac). Food was very good We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Mrsbb56! Glad you enjoyed your visit to GAB! The mini burgers are popular (and you don't have to sneak them off the kids' menu!). They are just the right size for many people. The Tri Fries platter is a smart choice and lets you try a bit of everything! Can't wait to have you back (if you haven't been already since this response has been posted!)! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill-A-Burger also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Grill-A-Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing