We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now that's a "Burger Joint" you can rave about!”
Review of Grill-A-Burger

Grill-A-Burger
Ranked #3 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At GRILL-A-BURGER, Palm Desert, we have a passion for hamburgers. We make our trendsetting burgers the old-fashioned way using only the finest and freshest ingredients available. Our hand crafted, grilled-to-order, moist and juicy patties are made daily from fresh (never frozen) 100% all-natural USDA Inspected Choice Beef, free of artificial hormones, antibiotics, and other things that don't belong in hamburgers. And we have nice buns, too! They are freshly baked daily at a local bakery. Buns are slightly toasted and garnished with garden crisp lettuce, hand-sliced red onion, vine-ripened tomato and sliced kosher pickles. Our homemade French fries are never frozen and are only made with fresh Idaho Russet potatoes that are hand cut, double-fried and lightly salted without any processing steps in between. And we change our zero trans fat oil every day! Clean oil = crisp, great-tasting fries! Our authentic soda fountain milkshakes and malts are hand-dipped, hand spun and made with premium vanilla bean ice cream, whole milk and natural flavorings. All served in a place that considers our environment by using food packaging that is all natural and made from annually renewable resources by buying from as many local vendors as possible and, of course, by using energy efficient equipment and recycling. We hope this is everything that you have been looking for in a burger place and MORE! Again, welcome and enjoy! Awards include: Best Burger Desert Sun 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Best Burger Palm Springs Life 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, LA Times Best Burger in the Inland Empire 2012, TRIPADVISOR TOP 10 BURGER JOINTS IN THE USA 2014
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Now that's a "Burger Joint" you can rave about!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We walked by this place often when grocery shopping at Bristol Farms and always noticed it was busy. Now we know why! It is a plain little hole-in-the wall spot that has it ALL. They serve fantastic burgers in every variety you can imagine. We tried the Prov-O-lone and the Gaga-licious. Also took the waiter's recommendation for garlic fries. They hit the nail on the head with each of these. Filled with flavour, fresh and delicious. The fries are home-cut and served in a special cone shaped metal apparatus. Ha. The chipotle mayo is so good. Make sure to order it on the side. The offer wine, beer and different drinks. The milkshakes were highly recommended but we could not fit them in. Too much food. The greek salad was tasty. There were lots of nice looking substantial salads to choose from. A surprising PLUS for a true burger joint. The owners and friendly and always check to see how you are doing. The service is very good. We told our friends to try it. They now say it is their favourite burger place in Cali. We agree!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks CanadaMelanie! Glad you discovered us! Your compliments made us very happy (and that's a good thing!)! There are quite a few burgers to choose from (over 30 signature burgers plus, salads, hot dogs, and "non-beef" burgers too!). Next time you'll have to come in and try the famous Avocado fries and a milkshake!! Can't wait to meet you, please introduce yourself when you come in next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    166
    56
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“yummie”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really good burgers, friendly staff, excellent fries. Sometimes in off season they close early just when you would love an 8pm burger cooked by them and not in the heat on your own grill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irvinggetthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello irvinggetthecar (love your user name by the way!)!! Thank you for sharing your awesome review! We will definitely consider a later closing, so check our facebook page or our website for updates on those types of changes! So looking forward to serving you some more YUMMIE food soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well Done Hamburgers”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The restaurant was full but a young couple invited us to sit down with them. This may have confused the waiter, there was no excuse for not asking how we wanted our burgers cooked. They came well done and were bordering on indelible. As the young couple finished before we did, the were given their check first. Somehow, without us knowing, that young couple paid our bill. They left and we sat there for ten minutes waiting for our waiter to bring the bill. We do not think the waiter should have done that. This evening may have a one-time deal, but an overlooked hamburger from a restaurant that specializes in them is not a good thing. Plus we never got French fries we ordered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks Edwin B for sharing your concerns… We always grill our burgers to medium, but our servers do take time to check in early in the meal to correct anything that the customer's not happy with. We're sorry if you felt your order wasn't done right, we are always happy to take complete efforts to satisfy everyone and our service includes frequent "check ins" with all of our tables.
The restaurant is quite popular and at times it can get incredibly busy and seating is tight. We've had many groups come back together that originally started off as "seat mates" at Grill A Burger! The young couple that you sat were quite generous it sounds and we're sorry if we didn't make enough of an effort to intercept their act of kindness. We hope your stay in the valley was enjoyable regardless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Burger..."PG-13" Menu”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Took my two boys there during a lacrosse tournament. Great hot dog, burger, fries and onion rings. Good, friendly service. Only drawback is many menu items are "creatively" named (Blu Job Burger, Buck Naked Hot Dog, Orgasmic something...) I appreciate the humor but struggled a little with my ten year old's questions. Unnecessary. Suggest they make a "family" menu for folks with kids. Otherwise, a great burger dinner!

Helpful?
1 Thank DLB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there Dlblackburn87! We admit, the menu is a bit "over the top" and we're sorry if it made things uncomfortable. Having kids ourselves, we know it's even sometimes hard to turn on the radio without having to explain what the songs are blasting! Hopefully, everyone was distracted enough by the delicious food that conversation was kept to a minimum? Hope the Lacrosse tournament was a fun time! See you soon, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good burger, good take-out”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was pretty impressed with this burger joint that is housed in a pretty non-descript location. I walked in to place our order for take-out and it was ready in about 15 minutes. Great fries, we only got a few as part of my daughter's kid's burger meal but they were delicious too. The burgers were big and tasty - quite impressed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calinadian, Owner at Grill-A-Burger, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you MUhrblock for your review! It sounds like you had a fine time and even managed to sneak away a few fries… success! Anytime you'd like to come back, we'll be sure to have a fresh order of hand cut fries waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill-A-Burger also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Grill-A-Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing