We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoultely wonderful Mexican food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Agave

Fresh Agave
Ranked #8 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absoultely wonderful Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best meal of my whole trip. I had roasted carnitas, its incredible. The staff is not very friendly. Especially if you have a restaurant.com coupon. And you NEED reservations, any night of the week. But the food is totally worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    183
    54
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best hidden gem just off El Paseo in Palm Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you like Mexican this restaurant will satisfy your every taste. I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of food and the staff are all extremely friendly. I ordered a Patron Margarita on the rocks and it was perfect. Then I saw a plate of something rather intriging being delivered to the table next to me. So I ordered it. It is called Chiles Agave and is an Appetizer made up of Chile Peppers stuffed with large shrimp and served with chipotle sauce. It was to die for. I went back 4 more times during our recent vacation. It is officially my new favourite Mexican dish. They serve guacamole made fresh at your table, the chips and salsa are home made, the fajitas were the best I've had and if you order the quesadillas be sure to get the fajita chicken ones. Superb and a hidden gem just off of El Paseo, near the corner of Lupine and Hwy 111. I recommend making a reservation because it gets packed full in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this place along Highway 111 in the mid-afternoon, so it was more or less empty although the bar was busy. Service was friendly, food was speedy and tasty, and the bill for two people was well under $40. Avoid the house margarita, which is made with a grade of tequila so rough I thought it might make me blind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crabbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“a go backer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went with a coupon that helped on bill. $25.00 coupon and still spent $35.00 for lunch. We had fajitas, split one order. and also had Flan. No problem with service or any thing. Will go back maybe at happy hour or early bird.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
295 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nothing to rave about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is the favorite Mexican restaurant of our friends who live in Palm Desert. It was packed the Sunday night we went. That could explain the somewhat indifferent and sloppy
service. The wait staff spilled food and utensils twice on one of our companions, prompting
an angry reaction. Fortunately, the food and drink fared better. The margaritas were decent.
Next came the tortilla soup, with generous chunks of chicken and jalapeno cheese...delicious.
My chile relleno was excellent, the hard-shell chicken taco wasn't bad. The chicken mole
got my wife's approval. Two of our friends also had the relleno..their favorite dish. An L.A
native, I was hoping for more traditional food. Many of the dishes seemed more suited to American tastes. Unlike many excellent Mexican restaurants in Los Angeles, there's a dearth of this cuisine in the desert communities. Fresh Agave tries its best to fill the need.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Agave also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Fresh Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing