We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family friendly resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great family friendly resort.”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed for one week in building #1 which is closest to the pool and workout center. The resort was full of families with children of all ages. We took our 10 month old and she had a great time in the water. The pool area has a great shaded sitting area with misters and fans that my family loved when they needed a break from the sun. There is only one bathroom near the pool, so it is a little inconvenient, but that bathroom is awesome-- it has a refreshing outdoor shower and complete "zen" feel.

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful, but there were a few staff from the bar and grill that were slow to wait on us at the Grill and walked by us poolside many times before waiting on us. The grill is very expensive $12 for a margarita and average $17 for a meal. There is a market place if you need anything but they close by 11 am so I never made it there. About a mile away is a walmart and costco that have everything you need.

The rooms were very nice, the smaller one bedroom doesn't have a full kitchen and bath like the larger one bedroom does. The larger one bed has a great bathroom with jacuzzi tub, steam shower, and private toilet.

My Hubby played golf at both courses, he enjoyed them both shooting 69 and 74. One course was significantly easier than the other.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatham11, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you very much for all your feedback. We have definitely utilized it to improve and will continue to do so as we expand the resort and add more features. Please come back and see us soon.

Matt Leatham
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    288
    70
    30
    23
See reviews for
396
328
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Californai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I am currently staying here at the Westin Desert Willow Villas and all the previous reviews were accurate but taken out of context.
1. The first thing is yes, the rooms is somewhat dark, but it's the desert and the design to to limit the light in the room, it's generally over 100 degrees in the summer months.
2. The room design in not great, they should have put the plasma on the wall but are we here to just watch TV?
3. The pool, gym, and other area are all new and great.
Basically, if you want to complain, you will find something negative to say, I say relax and enjoy your time away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I took a vacation from Texas to Palm Desert. We enjoyed our stay at the Westin!

We loved cooking in our kitchen, and were a short distance to the pool. We had a car so we had access to whatever we wanted. We had a patio, with grills outside our door. We grilled about 3 times while we were there. Our room was comfortable. We liked having the Ipod dock to listen to our own music. The golf courses look beautiful, though we didn't try it. The concierge was very helpful-directing us to the spa, wineries, etc etc. They even sent us chocolates and snacks to our room when they found out I arrived to California with a sinus infection and had to go to Palm Springs Urgent Care to get antibiotics.

We highly recommend going to the spa at The Spring and the wineries in Temecula.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvalle419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at the Westin Desert Willow Villas using Starwood points for a last minute weekend getaway. Although we have had great experiences with Westin's in the past, we were hesitant to stay at this one due to the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. Though we did agree with some of the other users' comments, we are so glad that we went with our instinct and booked our room. This is why...

The Westin Desert Willow Villas are new and beautiful. When we arrived we immediately noticed the well landscaped grounds and clean facilities. The resort is stunning with desert plants and willow trees lining the paths and buildings. It is important to understand that this resort is set up different that a typical hotel. The villas are in 5 or 6 condo-like buildings spread out across the Westin's grounds, which back up to a large golf course. The lobby, pool area, fitness center, and meeting rooms are in a central location away from the villas. You must leave your building and walk a few minutes to get to the pool area. For families with small children who want the convenience of a small hotel with easy pool access, this might be less convenient. However, as a couple who does not mind walking a short distance and enjoys the quiet and privacy of a more secluded environment - we found this ideal!

We booked a deluxe villa on the 3rd floor in building 2. (Buildings 1 and 2 seem to be the buildings closest to the pool and lobby. ) The rooms are up to typical Westin standards - clean, modern, and comfortable. Our deluxe villa was nice and big with a full kitchen, large bathroom with shower and separate tub with jets, dining area, and a small sitting area with flat screen TV and fireplace. The patio faced the golf course and had a table with 4 chairs. Though we didn't need to use it, we had our own washer/dryer. There is free internet in the rooms. We thought the room was an excellent value for the rates.

We had a great experience with the customer service; the staff was helpful and professional. One negative is that the pool food and drink service ends at 5 pm. They also close the waterslide at 5 pm. However, on our day of arrival we were at the pool around 5:15 or 5:30 pm. When we asked for some drinks the server said that they stopped service at 5 pm, but he would see what he could do. He came back in 5 minutes with the pina coladas we requested. I hope once they see that their guests want to order food/drinks later into the evening they will change their hours.

The Villas are located in Palm Desert away from busy and livelier downtown Palm Springs. It is quiet, peaceful, and secluded. However, there are plenty of places to drive to for dining and entertainment. This is a great place for a relaxing vacation.

Postives:
- Beautiful hotel grounds with desert wildlife
- Spacious, well appointed villas for reasonable cost
- Large pool area (not crowded)
- Hotel provides daily activities especially good for families and children

Negatives:
- There does not seem to be enough parking in the lot for buildings 1 and 2
- Pool slide and food/beverage service close at 5 pm

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smith2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, KS
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

As a Westin timeshare owner, we really wanted to love this property. Unfortunately, this was not the case. First, let us qualify ourselves. We own two weeks of a Westin Timeshare in Princeville, Kauai. We love the Princeville property. We have stayed at several other Westin Timeshares too (Mission Hills, St. John, etc). We travel over 75 nights a year for business between the two of us. We’ve stayed at everything from a Four Points Sheraton …to a lavish St. Regis. We are loyal Starwood members.

The Westin Desert Willow is a brand new Starwood property. It opened just a few months ago. We decided to stay at the Westin Desert Willow to use some left over Star Options from our 2010 account. I am sorry to report we found that the property left much to be desired. Here’s why:

Poor Customer Service – The Customer service experience was below standard. Examples of the service include: assigning an ADA (handicapped) room without it being requested, being accused of requesting an ADA type of room (basically being called a liar) without acknowledging that it could have been a mistake on the part of the villa, not being provided with any kind of orientation with the property, and experiencing a management staff that could not resolve the situation. I could go on and on but it would serve no purpose. Had it not been for the bell captain to take it upon himself to call for the manager, the discussion at the front desk would have continued to go down-hill fast. I reviewed a few other Trip Advisor reviews recently posted and found similar comments related to poor customer service. Beware of the front desk especially.

Inefficient Design – The Westin property is located in the middle of no where. You’ll need a car to enjoy anything in the area. The property was designed with the living quarters away from the heart and soul of the property. The pool, slide, restaurant bar, market, etc. are across the street from Buildings 1 and 2. Building 3 is across a fairway. Building 5 & 6 (Building 6 is still under construction) are even further. If you want to use the pool or restaurant it is quite a walk and provides an inconvenience. What other timeshares do in this type of situation is add smaller pools and meeting areas to allow guest to stay close to their rooms. This is not the case at the Desert Willow. If you want to do anything, you need to take a hike!

Rooms – The rooms are standard and are similar to other new timeshare designs, however there are major flaws. First, there is a fireplace in each premium suite. I am not sure why since the majority of the time it’s HOT in the desert. The fireplace is probably a bit oversized for the room since it is not a big living area. In addition, the fireplace blocks the view of the TV in the family room. This means you can not watch television unless you’re sitting on the sofa. So if you are in the kitchen or eating at the dinner table you’re out of luck. It seems like the TV would be more usable mounted above the fireplace so that it can be seen from more than one spot. There are three floors per building. The top floor is the best with high ceilings and the best views. Beware of rooms second floor rooms X202 & X211. They have a 4 foot balcony wall that blocks any kind of view of the landscape or golf course. It feels like you’re in a garage. This could be resolved if they were to take out the wall and replace it with a railing that would allow you to look through. The first floor of most buildings is built so low into the ground that all you see from your window/patio is dirt (a mound of dirt and sand that divides the building and fairway). In other words most rooms have poor or no views. What were they thinking!

Other stuff – The property has a feel of suburbia and Pier One Imports. It borders on “cheap:” The orange colored outdoor furniture around the pool is new yet is starting to look faded. Most of the furniture has a layer of dust which should be cleaned daily. The pictures in the room look like that came from CVS. The sleeper sofa is looking fairly saggy and looks like it belongs in the basement. The grounds are nice and with time will mature nicely. Covered parking helps with keeping your car cooler, if you can get one before they fill up. There are only two gas grills per building which is inadequate for 12 rooms per building. Construction is still a factor and will be for a while.

We will most likely not stay at this resort again. We prefer the Mission Hills Timeshare even though the units are older (however, they are going through a renovation). We would also recommend staying at the Parker Le Meridian which is also a beautiful Starwood property.

As an additional recommendation to Starwood, we suggest Westin should seek input into there future timeshare designs before embarking on such a great expense that disappoints your customers. Most of the problems encountered could have been corrected with “real” customer input. We're calling the Westin Desert Willow a “Last Resort” choice in the Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatham11, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We've made great strides in the months since you stayed here. We hope to continue our improvement and utilize your feedback as we continue to grow.

Matt Leatham
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We found this hotel through the Starwood website. I thought everything was great. For the most part, the staff were all really nice and helpful. The exception was the waiter service at the pool. The service staff at the pool never once approached us to ask if we needed anything even though we wanted to order drinks. The waiter walked by our group several times to serve food/drinks to some groups sitting next to us, but he never stopped to ask us if we wanted anything. The next day, we were able to get some service, but he was terrible about bringing us the requested glasses of water even though we asked for it twice. He remembered to bring us our alcoholic drinks, of course.

The towel cards are annoying, but the staff aren't sticklers about it so it's fine. Overall, I love having a kitchen & washer/dryer when we're on vacation. And the 24 hour pool is great too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I attended a convention in Palm Springs and the host hotel was sold out. Being loyal to Starwood properties, this came up. When I booked, I noticed it was a brand new property.

We arrived around 11PM on a Tuesday night.

The first thing I noticed was the property was brand new and had a "ski lodge in the desert" feel to it.

I checked into my room without any problem. When I checked in, they mentioned the common areas were completed, but they have completed less than 200 of the 600 planned rooms. That being said, I did not see any construction equipment and most importantly, hear construction sounds.

My room was more like a 1 bedroom Condo. Room 1107 was in the building closest to the pool area, ground level. I had a full sized kitchen with a full sized oven, refrigerator, dish washer and microwave oven.

The living room area just off the kitchen was comfortable.. with a gas operated fireplace and a 42 inch plasma TV.

The bathroom was just as big as the kitchen. It was huge.. with a double jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

The bedroom was to the rear and had a sliding glass door that opened to the golf course.

I stay in a lot of starwood properties and this had to be one of the larger suites I have ever been in.

Outside between building 1 and 2, we noticed two large built in gas bbq's. On our second night there, we had a great bbq. The kitchen was fully stocked... and even had all the bbq accessories.

The pool area was awesome. The restaurant and bar close around 5, and that is a little unusual, but the pool stays open 24 hours a day and they don't care if you bring your own beer/softdrinks... This combined with the full kitchens, I can see saving some serious money on a vacation here.

The other 1 star reviews seem to be focused around the dark rooms... while my room was a bit dark, opening up the curtains and turning on some lights did wonders.

Others complained about nothing for kids to do... I did see kids playing everywhere... and noted they had some kids clubhouse that was only open during the day.

The Westin Desert Willows Villas seems to be a work in progress, but I really like what they have done so far... The next time I'm in Palm Desert/ Palm Springs area, I'll be staying here.

One note... I have ATT and got perfect cell service. One person in our group had Sprint and had no service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
909 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing