We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We will not be back...”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you enjoy the sounds of construction, this is you place to be. Nothing relaxing about the sound of them bundling new villas right next to the pool. We really enjoyed our time here last year, but the 3 hour wait for the roll away was just room much. Got stuck in the last unit on the property....when I told them we called to request a specific unit (we called the site directly) we were told that since our reservations we're through expedia that they didn't get the information. Feel like we were being punished for booking through another site. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Call to see if construction has ended before booking. Book room facing away from construction if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNtripmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback. I apologize for the room location and delay with getting a rollaway. We will be sure to revisit these items with our associates to ensure improvement moving forward. Wishing to have another opportunity to regain your trust.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    283
    69
    29
    21
See reviews for
387
322
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Kids club looked like a storage dumping ground with cardboard supply boxes piled high. As a teacher, I can tell you this is a major safety hazard if the boxes were to fall on the children ( i.e. if a child knocked them down, earthquake) and the liability if this happened. Also when I visited there were 2 little girls alone with a male attendant. As a parent, of a daughter I feel more comfortable leaving her with a female attendant especially if for some reason she needed help in the restroom. At my gym in our kids club, a male attendant can only work the kids club if a female attendant is also present. Also at my school it is protocol that male aides cannot be left alone with children without another adult present…even Boys Scouts of America has this rule.

Lastly, the resort dropped the ball on a fun arcade for the kids. There is one room with a pool table and air hockey and guess you can check out video games. This is more for teens and tweens. And then next door there is one more game room with a foosball table and a tv. May I suggest they move the foosball table to the room with the pool table and air hockey. Then I would make the empty game room a PARENT & ME room that caters to 3 years old and under. Buy a play kitchen, get some mega blocks, board books, build a sensory wall, get some STEP 2 slides, or ride on toys. Since there isn’t a park with a play structure and very limited green space for little toddlers this would be a nice alternative.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate you providing us feedback regarding your stay. We will definitely inspect the kids club area to ensure that it is safe for all children to enjoy. Thank you for staying with us.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Mirage pool area has a big waterslide. The slide requires that riders be 48 inches tall and know how to swim. There is a lifeguard stationed at the top and the bottom of the pool. Sadly, we experienced an unfortunate incident on this slide. My 8 year old son went down the slide (I was watching from the other pool with my other child) when he was getting out he fell and hit his head hard on a step on the concrete. THE LIFEGUARDS did nothing. A complete stranger walked my wobbly son over to me in a panic and said he fell badly and was concerned. This was the job of the lifeguard to do this. tTe lifeguard on the bottom should have stopped the slide to check if my son was okay and brought him to me. The lifeguards were always fraternizing with their co-workers or playing silly games with one another and not focusing at all. One so called lifeguard had on board shorts, a golf shirt and tennis shoes….really unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I apologize for what happened to your son and I hope he is feeling better. This is unacceptable and will be addressed with the activities team. We will be sure to review our safety expectations with the team. We hope to have an opportunity to have you as guests again.


Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband, myself and our two teens stayed for 4 nights in March. The room was perfect. It faced the golf course which my husband loved as he would sit with his beer and watch the golf groups go by. Our teens and I made use of the gym which was well equipped. It would have been a perfect place to go with another family as there were joining rooms, outdoor bbq's, and patio tables. Beautiful grounds. We would definitely stay again if we got the same Starwood resort deal. We cancelled our appointment for the time share presentation as we didn't want to be stuck inside for hours. Time share just doesn't interest us. All staff were very professional and friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for spending time with us. It was nice to know that the grounds and décor were to your liking. The staff will appreciate the comments on professionalism and friendliness. We do hope you can return in the near future. Thank you again.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a lovely time of year to visit. March is beautifully warm without being too hot. The villas we full what with spring break but you still had the feeling of seclusion... except perhaps at the pool. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_having_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve. We appreciate you as a guest and hope you can return soon. If I can ever be of assistance, please let me know.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the weather and peaceful desert weekend stay at this resort. Mountain views from all corners, great golf course...well kept resort...we really enjoyed it!!!
Costco, SAMs and many stores are near by. We rented a car and drove to the mountains for a day...it was breath taking... The front desk were helpful in every way...the gave us maps and ect... Thank you for making our Stay memorable!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2GoOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will share your comments with the front desk regarding their helpfulness. It is our goal to assist with making special memories for our guest. We hope you can return soon.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent 10 days in Palm Desert recently and enjoyed our stay at Desert Willow Villas.

The hotel is very,very nice and the staff is extremely accommodating. In fact; outstanding. Would like to offer special recognition to "Torie" at the front desk, along with "Patrick", both always ready to offer a helping hand.

Also not to leave out "Kathie", the Villa Concierge. She, too, was extremely helpful with local knowledge etc.

The ONLY downsides were (1) construction noise and (2) better attention to cleaning maintenance of our living quarters.

For example; kitchen and bathroom floors were washed only once during our stay, and that at the end. In addition, this service sometimes took place at 4 or 5PM. Not good.

Hopefully, if we return next year, some improvements will have taken place.

Dan N

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSox1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Operations Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello--
Redsox1938, Thank you for your feedback and nice comments regarding our front office staff, I will personally share your comments with those involved. I am sorry to learn that you experince with housekeeping and noise was anything less than satisfying. Please connect with when you plan to comeback to palm desert as I would like to personally ensure your stay goes well. Again thank you for your feedback and support.

Bayron Garcia
bayron.garcia@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing