We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, views, rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great service, views, rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We are elite level two owners and have been to many of the westin properties and this one is up to their standards. Service was excellent as we checked in early and the accommodation was great. Would be nice if they had a spa and the westin workout room was not designed well. Had a locker room in the workout area but shower and steam room was in another. Not possible to bring clothes and change. It was obviously used as a bathroom for pool. They need to find a way to add a locker room in the pool area so we can lock up our stuff and shower and steam.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for being an elite member and we appreciate your loyalty. Is was exciting to hear that we could accommodate an early arrival. The staff will be pleased to hear the comments on their service. Thank you for the feedback regarding the locker room. We hope you can return in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    277
    66
    28
    19
See reviews for
381
314
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hey we are mid 40's couple from north vancouver bc canada and discovered palm springs about this time last year. We travel often and love travelling the world so we bailed on our welcome gift / timeshare pitch that comes with but for the property, room size and amenities there isnt much to complain about if you are a reasonable person imo. We arrived at 12:30 pm in hopes they would give us early check in and if not hold our luggage and ill hit the course on site. Sure enough they were happy to tell us our room was ready and we could check in (3 hrs earlier)than official check in time. We were put in newest cluster of villas 18 where all rooms face the 16th hole mountain course and are brand new so I would recommend that block for peace and quiet. Only thing I was dissappointed with really has nothing to do with our pleasant stay but I too am a starwoods card holder and use it mostly for westin in whistler but when I found out they dont give you points if you booked vacation via 3rd party site alla travelocity or expedia I was kinda bummed but not hotels fault per se. Overall worth every penny and one hint is if you book platinum room instead of deluxe via travelocity or expedia etc its 25 more per night but its guarantees you the full size fridge and king bed so you are basically getting advanced upgrade for min cost....

Room Tip: one hint is if you book platinum room instead of deluxe via travelocity or expedia etc its 25 more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upstreamdeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback. Our team will be pleased that your stay went well. It was nice to know that would could accommodate an early arrival for you. We hope to be your choice of location in your future travels to the desert.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a beautiful resort with fabulous amenities and customer service. We were invited to stay for 4 nights for a very low price, the offer came from Westin/Starwood - we didn't realize it was a Timeshare property but the Villas should've been a clue. Anyway, we had a lovely time, we listened to the presentation - 1 fellow walked us around & presented all the reasons why, IF we were in to it,, this could be ours. We know many people who have timeshares 7 we listened with an open mind, in the end we opted out. It is a Westin property w/ Starwood points behind it but check out the WHOLE deal before signing any lines.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night and days, staff was great, workout room was well stocked, but most machinery was out of order - apparently waiting for parts that had been ordered. We ate in 3 of the 4 nights - they have amazing outdoor BBQ areas and we made us of them. Everything is top notch esp. because tit is a new property and is still expanding.
Because they are Westin property - they have The Heavenly bed... we slept like babies ;) washer/dryer in villa and they have a full 1 bedroom with kitchen option or a 1 bedroom with kitchenette - this was sufficient for us for 4 nights with grilling meat & veggies on BBQ. There is still a 2 burner stove but no oven in the kitchenette -- worked fine for us !

Room Tip: we liked the #4 (or 18) bldg. because rooms were close to the 2nd pool/hot tub, large BBQ area. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Leach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Relax, thank you for staying with us. We appeciate your comments regarding the villas and the BBQ area. We have addressed to fitness center equipment and have taken steps to maintain quality. We hope your travel bring you back in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the newest rooms in building 18 . This site is situated at the end of the road and borders a new pool area. All the units in this complex face north which gives shelter from the baking sun. The units contain a large master bed, washroom as well appointed kitchen . One if the best amenities is the outside BBQ area that is situated beside the pool with views of the Desert Willow Golf course which runs through the centre of the complex. Hit happy hour which runs from 4-6 daily .... Fruit margaritas and chicken natch is are fantastic at the Agave Grill and bar. Go early and try and grab a seat beside the large outdoor fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Operations Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello-
Gerry B , I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the property. Thank you for your support and hope to welcome you back soon!

Bayron Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights on a special deal. Sat through the 90 minute timeshare pitch that extended to 160 minutes before we got out of there. We declined the offer, being stuck with one hotel group just wasn't for us. Check in wasn't overly friendly. Concierge was great, gave us a nice welcoming package and was very helpful with recommendations for the area. Our room was on the first floor of building two. It was nice but a little underwhelming from what we were expecting. Small kitchenette, dark drab interior, average bathroom. Bed was super comfy though. Our patio was a cave with no view and the view out of the front windows was the parking lot. If you're trying to get people to purchase a timeshare why not put them up in the premium rooms especially when the resort was so quiet? No room cleaning unless for a fee and you had to call for fresh towels. Tried the on site resturant and was disappointed. Very average food, my hotdog came cold, everything seemed microwaved. The pool area is fantastic, lots of loungers and good selection of pools and hot tubs. Pool side service was spotty at best but very friendly when they did come by. Loved that the pool area is open 24hrs. Wasn't really stoked with the $7 a night parking fee. Didnt try out the golf courses of the fitness area. After spending some time here I would try another hotel in the area before coming back and wouldn't buy a timeshare here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Operations Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
As a frequent visitor to our properties, I do sincerely hope you can acknowledge that normally our service is exceptional and the difficulties you experienced on this occasion are not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care. I am sorry to learn your experience was not up to your expectations. If you came on a package you are proabaly one of our SPG memebers, please connect with me so I can address your concerns and update your comments on your SPG profile and we can better manage your expectaions on a furure visit.

kind regards,
Bayron Garcia
bayron.garcia@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

As Westin owners we got a special promotional deal for 5 nights and 4 days here. I asked for a golf course view and a very nice unit on the 3rd floor of bldg. 3 was given to us. The staff was very very nice. Only complaint was that one of the golf course closed the day we arrived for overseeding and they were only able to get us on the open course at 12:45 or 1:30. Played at 12:45 and we were not able to complete our round because of darkness. When we complained about slow play the concierge said that it was because of a tournament. The course was great, but we had really planned to play quite a bit of golf there and were unable to. Took advantage of Happy Hour at the restaurant and also had lunch there. Food was great as was the service. The pools are lovely. The place is huge and there are club cars driving around regularly that will pick you up and transport you to where you want to be. I must also congratulate the "salespeople". When listened to our "Owner Update" and declined to add more to our timeshare they were very polite and did not apply pressure as we have encountered at Kierland. All in all it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view from top floor. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Operation Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello--
Californiagranny, I am sorry to learn you golf experiece was anything less than expected. Please note that our property sits on public golf course and is not managed by our property. I will make sure your comments get to the Golf course management team. Please connect with us before your future visit and we will do our best to plan your golfing experince. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to explain and apologise. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Bayron Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were here for 2 nights in November. Things we liked: excellent set-up for a family stay, very well equipped and designed one-bedroom "apartment", complete with washer-dryer (plus detergent), kitchenette with all utensils, full-size fridge, small living room, patio off the bedroom overlooking pool and mountains. Quiet family crowd, very pleasant surroundings with great landscaping. Excellent base to visit the area.

Things that prevented me from giving a 5-star: limited SPG Platinum perks (no upgrades - not even with suite nights, no late check-out, had to choose between points or continental breakfast, not both). I'm no elite SPG "diva" - but my pet peeve is the coyness that check-in staff have about the availability/unavailability of SPG elite member perks - just say upfront what you can or cannot do! It shouldn't be my job to "beg" the information out of you. I have always felt the huge disconnect between how these perks are trumpeted on the SPG website encouraging elite membership and how vague/coy/evasive check-in staff are about these things. House keeping was a little iffy (had to ask for coffee supplies etc the next day). Half the treadmills were out of order the entire time in the otherwise nice gym (huh?)

Had a good time - but felt that management can be a lot clearer (on the website perhaps) on how elite perks are doled out (or not).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hopskipjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Operations Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello--
Hopskipjumper, We do our best to accomodate all our SPG memebers benefits based on availability and i am sorry to learn we were not able to honor some of your requests on this visit. We do have this information posted on our website, http://www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/property/overview/announcements.html?propertyID=5653#conditions Please connect with me and I will ensure to add your comments to your SPG profile so we can better manage your expectations on a future visit. On a more positive note, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. I do therefore hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Bayron Garcia
bayron.garcia@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing