We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family, comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units (a regular one bedroom plus a larger one bedroom with connecting doors). Room was very comfortable and spacious. Having the kitchen made family breakfasts easy and low fuss. Sofa bed was fine for the kids and the rooms had enough space for people to spread out. Property has a nice pool which the kids loved and two tennis courts which were easily available. Only real downside is there is no room service so you had to get takeout but there are plenty of good dining options close by as well as several grocery stores. Net a great choice for Palm Springs area. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 3 which is closest to the pool and main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SFtravelbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. The staff will appreciate the positive comments regarding the resort. We do have plans to implement room servce at the resort in the near future. We hope you can return in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 979 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are gold members with Starwood and own 3 other properties. Was offered a 4 night stay for a very reasonable amount to see this property. I called ahead to make sure we ad the one bedroom "side" of the lock off and were assured. This meant ( to me) a full kitchen as we always ave with westin villas. BE AWARE this is a new concept design. A DELUXE one bedroom is a kitchenette and small queen bed. Not what we expected. Room are okay, but lack decor, very dark and carpet is tacky! Website indicates these deluxe units have a fireplace and they do not. ( premium sides do as well as full kitchen and king bed). They would not move us as they were full - even though parking lot was fairly empty for four days. I now see other members were comped parking. We were charged $7/night and I feel now this was not reasonable given the size of the resort.

Overall it is a decent property, but not the villa quality we expect. The view we had was in bld 6 and while the mountains are lovely, we were looking out at construction as well as hearing work for several days. We do love Starwood, but their sales presentations are getting a bit pushy with the dangling carrot methodology.

Room Tip: Corner units look to be brighter. Top floor has better views. Stay away from BBQ areas for less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest, I apologize that an upgrade was not available during your stay. We do try to accommodate upgrades whenever possible. We do charge parking for those guest not using their ownership options during their stay. I hope your travels bring you back to our resort so we can improve on your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you need anything further. Thank you for providing us with you feedback.

warren.jerome@westin.com

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not easy to find as their address on Willow Ridge is incorrect. The Resort at this address will give you driving directions to go around the block, about a mile, and enter off Portola. This is an impressive place once found as it covers a number of buildings around the pool, restaurants and club house. Everything is in fine condition and the staff is prompt and helpful.
You cannot walk up to the front desk and request a villa, as all reservations are done by phone or internet. We called from the front lobby and got a villa for two nights. We liked it so much, we called the next day and reserved two more days.
Desert Willow Villas is a share owned resort so they will give you reasons to attend their sales presentation.
New building construction is going on, so ask for a villa in a building far away. We stayed in building 5 without any noise issues.
We had the smallest villa but 600 square feet was very adequate with kitchen, living room, bedroom, bath and washer/dryer. The villa had a great deck with view of the golf course.
Gas BBQ's and heaters are located at the end of each building so It was easy to sip some wine, and enjoy the views while awaiting the cooked food.
The bar happy hour drink and food menu and accomodations near the pool and fireplaces are quite nice and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room on top floor away from construction. Room away from BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear guest, I apologize for the miscommunications with the GPS directions to our property. We have since had the error corrected on goggle maps to provide proper directions to our location. Our team will be excited to hear your comments regarding the staff and resort amenities. It was nice to know that you were able to use the BBQ areas and enjoy the happy hour menu in Agave. We did want to inform that in the near future a fire pit will be available for guests to enjoy on the upper pool deck. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope you can return in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just stayed at this property over the weekend - Service was 5 stars. We needed to extend our stay, and although the property was at 100% occupancy, the front desk kept an eye out for cancellations and was able to accommodate us. We were even upgraded to a one-bedroom premium villa.

Rooms were very spacious & clean - especially the bathroom. The first night we stayed in the standard Deluxe Villa (Building 6 - farthest away from the Main Lobby/Pools, but beautiful/quiet view of the 18th hole). It had a Queen size bed - although it seemed more like a Full size bed. The second night, we were in a Premium villa (Building 2 - adjacent to Main Lobby/Pools) which had a King size bed (and it felt like the size of a King). I would opt for the Premium Villa just for the larger bed and the nice tub in the bathroom. There was also a outdoor deck with a table for al fresco dining, if you choose to do so.

There are only 2 restaurants on-site. We had breakfast at the Mountainview Market & Coffee House, which was more like a deli-like place. There were only several tables inside, but there was outdoor seating as well (which probably would be nice during Spring/Summer when it's warmer). There's also a mini-mart with snacks/wine/beverages. However, since there is a kitchen in each villa, you can also head down to Ralphs (about 5 minutes away) and stock up on food/beverages. The kitchen has everything you need: microwave, stove, fridge, toaster, utensils, plates, etc. Pool-side service for lunch was available as well - sandwiches, burgers, appetizers, etc. There were BBQ units throughout the resort - we didn't use them, but they looked very nice, well-kept units (there are BBQ utensils in the villa).

Pool & Gym - Pools were heated and there was also a water-slide. The gym had the essentials and Life Fitness equipment. There's also a sauna and steam room. Adjacent tot he gym, there were bathrooms with an outdoor shower (which would probably be nice during the Summer).

Parking - there is a $15 charge (which I guess is normal of any resort), but we were comp'd that several nights when we asked if there was anything for Gold Spg members.

WiFi - good connection and Free throughout the resort - No Resort Fee.

I would not hesitate to stay here again when visiting Palm Desert.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 & 2 are closest to the pool & lobby. Buildings 6 is farthest away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBlancq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We were happy to know that our accommodations met your needs. We do have a standard parking fee for those guests not using their ownership during their stay. It was great to hear that we were able to extend your stay at you request. We look forward to your next visit to our resort. Thanks again!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just stayed at this property for a couple of nights but could have stayed much longer. Everything in the Villa was as shown in the pictures and it had everything one would need to feel like home. Small kitched including all the wares needed to prepare a meal. The washer and dryer was very convenient and efficient. The bed was heavenly and the bedroom had a wonderful view of the golf course. Outside there were barbeques and sitting atreas ready to be enjoyed. It also has two new tennis courts and a beautiful pool area. The staff was fantastic. Did not have my room cleaned for the two nights as I booked a special rate without housekeeping. I will come back to this place again and stay longer to experience everything it has to offer.

Doc Kaelin

Room Tip: I used to stay at the Grand Hyatt in Indian Wells. However, this property was just as nice and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay. We were excited the hear that our accommodations met your needs. The staff will also appreciate your kind words. We hope to continue to be your choice when staying in the desert area.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Desert Willows for a week prior to Xmas - our second stay there within the past year. We were impressed with the villa we stayed in - it had everything we needed. As the property started to fill up as Xmas approached, room cleaning times became a bit erratic so we turned away the cleaners a couple of times. Only one concern - I wonder if the management is aware that several units appeared to have dogs - I know because a very bold guest left her dog crate on our patio as she walked hers about the property.

Room Tip: There do not seem to be any bad choices. We've stayed in two different buildings and both were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you choosing us as your location for the holiday season. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused rgearding our clean times. We appreciate the feedback regarding pets in the room as we do have a no pet policy. Your comments are very useful for us to continue to improve our service for future guests. We hope you can return for future visits.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The Westin Desert Willow Villas is a timeshare property, but we recently stayed there as guests. As usual for the Westin villa properties, the room was spacious, the bed was heavenly, and the service was friendly.

This is an ownership property and has some differences from your average hotel room. First, there is a full kitchen with everything you would expect: stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, pots, and pans, as well as plates, cups, silverware, and serving ware, etc. They provided detergent for the dishwasher, but only one packet every other day. There was a Trader Joes not too far away and we were able to prepare most of our meals at the hotel. We did eat out a couple of times and had good experiences at Cheekys, Palm Greens, and Roy's.

Second, there is a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, glass enclosed shower, two sinks, and the toilet is behind the most sturdy pocket door I've encountered. The tub was large enough for a family of 3 (two adults and a small child) to bath together. They provided soap, shampoo, and conditioner. However, we had to ask for cotton balls and cotton swabs, which were provided at no charge.

Third, there was a stackable washer/dryer. They provided 3 packets of detergent and fabric softener.

We were traveling with our 1 year old. We had to ask but were provided the following without charge: jogging stroller, high chair, crib, and diaper pail. One thing that was a little strange was that the crib was delivered without sheets. Instead there was a bath mat type rug in it. Luckily, we brought our own. When we asked for an extra crib blanket, they brought us a regular blanket for a king sized bed.

With only the lighting in the room, the room was a little dark. However, it wasn't as bad as other hotels.

There is a pool area with two pools and a hot tub. A portion of the pool area was under construction but there was plenty of room to swim and lay out in the sun. Understandably, the hotel has a strict policy about babies wearing swim diapers, which they provided free of charge. There is no spa and were told that we could use the spa at the sister resort.

We enjoyed our stay and would go back if we ever find ourselves in the Palm Desert area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WkndBoudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest, our team will be excited the hear about the friendly service you received. We were also glad to here the room amenities met your needs. It was a pleasure to hear that your family enjoyed their experience. We hope you can return to us in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $167 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow Villas features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing