We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Peaceful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a new Westin property. I was in building 5, on a ground floor unit and I loved it. Free roaming jackrabbits right out the patio slider, 2 large pools at walking distance close to the lobby, the restaurant and the market shop, nice views of the golf course. Quiet and relaxed resort. Best to have a rental car to get arond town. Around the property you can either walk or get a golf cart ride. Guests can use the services at its sister property Mission Hills as well.

Room Tip: If you do not like to walk, get a room in building 1 or 2, if you like to be more secluded with only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest, we were happy to know that we were able to meet your needs. A quiet and relaxed resort is what we strive to be for many of our guests. Thank you for taking time to inform us of you experience. Wee hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    236
    59
    22
    14
See reviews for
325
261
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just enjoyed a fabulous weekend this weekend! We were celebrating our daughter's birthday and we had a great time. The villa was large enough for us that we didn't feel like we were tripping over each other and the fully stocked kitchen allowed us to cook some meals and save money. We spent the entire day Saturday by the pool - over 6 hours. There was never a loss for activities for our daughter: crafts, waterslide races, you name it! The resort was at 97% capacity but it was never too crowded. Staff was friendly, helpful and eager to please. The resort was so clean and well landscaped - very pretty. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you only need 1 bedroom (which also includes a sleeper sofa in the living room) ask for the Premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsdogz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest, we excited to hear that we were your choice of location to celebrate your daughters special day. We were happy to know that the kitchen facilities came in handy. The pool staff will appreciate the friendly and helpful comments! We pride ourselves on how our resort is presented to our owners and guests. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We are Starwood owners (but not at this property). The villa (had the small side of the lock off since we were staying on a promotion) was very clean and comfortable as expected. The unit was ready when we arrived at 2 pm so we did not have to wait.

The concierge, Candice, was friendly but rather discouraging for her job. She asked us what we wanted to do during our stay...I mentioned the Jeep tour of the San Andreas Fault...she did assist us in getting the reservation but told us that she has did this tour and it was "ok if you didn't mind the heat and climbing over rocks and stuff". This made us a little concerned but still booked the tour....and we had a blast. We are both over 50 and not of the "athletic type" but the hiking was easy and at your own pace while the guide was so interesting you didn't even notice it. I also mentioned the Palm Springs Follies and she told us they didn't start until Nov 4 ( we are leaving that day). The other gentleman working at the desk checked the computer and informed us the show started Nov1. Candice continued to be "less than excited" about the show so we did not book it. Throughout the week we were told by others how great the show is and shouldn't be missed. I also asked about the Pines to Palms Scenic Byway.....she said she never heard of it. We did a Google Search ( and TripAdvisor search) to get the route.....absolutely not to be missed if you have a car while visiting this area.

The resort is not nearly completed yet so it is inconvenient to have to walk so far to the pool area if you are on a back building ( we were in #5) but they do come quickly to transport you by golf cart if you call. This problem will be eliminated once the new pools are opened next year. The restaurant and bar will remain at a distance however which is unusual for a Starwood property. I found it ridiculous to pay $15/day to park when it is outside parking and the rooms are not cheap to begin with. We have never encountered parking fees t the other resorts.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and talkative as we would expect from Starwood. The property is immaculately clean and cared for. We feel this resort is a work in progress at this point. We are not golf ears therefore we needed to search for things to do but had a great time none the less.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank csshadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for providing us with your comments regarding your visit. I was glad to hear that we were able to get with checked in smoothly. I apologize about the mis-information on the activities in the area. We will definitely address this with our team members. The staff will appreciate the comments about friendliness and helpfulness. We hope your travels bring you to our resort again in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Westin Willow is really a timeshare resort, but they do sell rooms on Priceline, and I presume other web travel sites. We spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Westin Willow, and we enjoyed every minute of it. Our room was large, clean and had everything one would need. There was a full sized kitchen with a full sized refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, toaster, blender..and much more. There were two TV's (one in our comfortable living-room, and one in the bedroom). The bathroom has a good sized spa tub, two sinks, rainshower head in the shower, and separate toilet room. The linens were high end thread count with down comforter and down pillows. The unit had a patio with four chairs and a table. There were barbeques available close by, if you wanted to barbeque. Our room had a view of the mountains and a golf course..not bad at all! The service was great. The people there seemed to really care about the guests. As mentioned before, many of the buildings are not close to the main building that housed most activities and the food venues. All one needs to do, is call to the front desk, and immediately they send a golf cart to pick you up to take you where you want to go. The pool area was okay, but for the size of this HUGE property, we think there should be another pool area for the farther built out buildings. There was a really cool slide that looked like it was be fun to try..We never did it though. A small complaint that I have was that the breakfast menu they have, if you choose to eat at the hotel rather than make something in your own kitchen, is small. It is more like a snack counter that serves a light breakfast. Most things are pre-made and in a display freezer. Only the eggs are made to order. I would like there to be a real full menu breakfast at the Willow. All in all it was a terrific place to stay. If you want to be in Palm Desert, the Willow Resort is very close to anywhere you would want to be in the Palm Desert area.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room, close to the main building and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We do have plans to open an additional pool area in the near future. We also will be expanding our breakfast menu when business needs allow. We were happy to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Resort is very clean. Check-in staff was very friendly. Pool is quiet. Not much kids around. Easy access to downtown Palm Springs with our rented car. We also drove to Temacula to visit wineries and stopped at Mount Palomar for wine tasting. We love the visit to the winery. We also visited the Palm Spring Aerial Ramp, and we recommend doing it. We were there in December 2011. As with any Westin, we love the heavenly bed and pillows.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our team will be excited to hear your comments on friendliness. We were also happy that you were able to enjoy excursions available in our area. We hope to have you as a guest in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent an extended weekend at the Westin Desert Willow Villas with two pre-teen kids. It was a great property for that and the villa itself was lovely - well appointed, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and quiet despite the very happy party down the hall. We especially enjoyed the barbecue grill areas which provided just enough socializing but plenty of room. The pool and water slide are great for kids of any age but BEWARE that it's on the rowdy side and was downright loud in the late afternoon - but fun. We loved the friendly complimentary golf cart shuttle service. Our biggest disappointment was that the pool area and wait staff were inconsistent at best (one lazy soul said he "like, really, checked" the lost and found; his buddy returned with our missing item 3 minutes later). Poolside food was disappointing but they appear to have no objections to BYOB. We would go again and this property could be absolutely ideal for a reunion or get-together - just not for splash- or noise-sensitive individuals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest, we were happy to hear your comments regarding our rooms, grill areas and shuttle drivers. I apologize for the lost & found issue and the food poolside. I would like to connect with you if possible regarding your concerns. Please contact me at the resort or you are welcome to reach out via email. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

warren.jerome@westin.com

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very good resort. The rooms were very clean and roomy - there was no noise from other guests. Excellent pool area - although 2 of the pools were undergoing construction compliance. We knew in advance that some of the pools were closed - as it was clearly displayed on their website. Which was good. This is a good resort for both families & couples. We plan on staying here for next visit to the Desert area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCGH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at The Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at our resort. We were excited to hear that our pool area met your expectations. We hope that your family is able to visit our resort again in the near future. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing