We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCallum Theatre for the Performing Arts

McCallum Theatre for the Performing Arts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A state-of-the-art performing arts center that presents a stunning variety of entertainment and cultural experiences from Broadway productions and opera to classical and rock music.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small town charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We saw a Wilco concert here, the singer said the venue looked like a "Muppets" set, but sound is pretty good and you are right up next to the performers - easy to get in and out of as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    39
    4
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
far away
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“World Class Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been to theaters all over the world, and the McCallum Theatre in Palm Desert ranks among the best. It is beautiful, intimate and has fantastic acoustics. The program offered at the McCallum is amazing for a theater of only 1,100 seats. From Broadway shows like West Side Story to classical music - they have Yo-Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman and Renee Fleming this season - to Blue Man Group, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, and so much more. They even had Wilco there last night. It;s a great place to see a recital AND a rock show. It's so nice to be able to go to a theater where you park for free and walk just steps to the building. And their ushers are so welcoming and friendly. After golf and dining, the McCallum Theatre is the best thing to do in the desert.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely place to see a show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The sound system is incredible; they clearly spared no expense and the seats are really comfortable too. I love this theatre because it's never a hassle to see a show here. The last time I was here, I saw Linda Eder and she killed it. The production team does a really nice job. Go see a show!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue, Comfotable and Roomy seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed the concert, our first time here. The sight lines, sound, and experience was five stars. Free Parking, and easy in and out before and after concert. We will come again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This theatre is absolutely great! Perfect size so as to not have a beat seat. Great entertainment all during the Desert Season.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleoandMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCallum Theatre for the Performing Arts also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to McCallum Theatre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing