We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch spot”

French Corner Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #24 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great lunch spot”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I can't resist stopping here for lunch when I am shopping in the large shopping center where French Corner is located. The prices are high, but the food is very authentic French fare. I love the crepes filled with chicken and mushrooms. The mussels are enough to share with a friend. It is a popular spot so you had better come early or late at lunch time. The room is cheerful and light and bright. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great French food in the desert”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Being somewhat suspicious of finding good French cuisine in the desert, we stopped in for lunch. What a find! Great food, well presented, good service, a chance to utilize my long-neglected French. Very, very satisfying experience. As an extra special treat, we took desserts home to share later.
Do not overlook this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank T-rad-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“hard to believe...”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

...that such a charming and utterly authentic French bistro would be located in the midst of a string of big-box stores along a stretch of Highway 111 in Palm Desert that's all strip malls, but the French Corner Cafe is worth seeking out. It's a great place to unwind over a light lunch after a heavy day of bargain shopping, offering traditional French food in a comfortable setting, replete with video screens offering scenic views of French travel destinations. And unlike in those places, the service is extraordinarily attentive and friendly. The sandwiches and salads here are delectable, but make absolutely sure you save room for dessert. The pastry case is a choco-holic's dream.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe...”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a nice brunch at this cafe and the food was very good. We each had a soup and sandwich combination and the soup was delicious as well as my sandwich. We had no problem getting a table even though there was a lot of traffic through the restaurant. The service was speedy and the waitress was very nice and knowledgeable. I would recommend this cafe to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ochump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great French Style Cafe”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A local resident of Rancho Mirage recommended this cafe to us and we were not disappointed. Excellent food, excellent service.
The desserts were like works of art. Very large portions and could easily be shared.
Loved the art work and other memorabilia that reminds one of France.
We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Corner Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to French Corner Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing