We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful take the tram to see it all!”

Living Desert Zoo & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Palm Springs General Admission to The Living Desert
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The botanical gardens of this park offer great opportunities to see desert vegetation.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful take the tram to see it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous time. The animals and gardens are wonderful. We did not realize how big the zoo is,so we missed mist of it.I wish they had told us how large it is when we purchased the tickets.,and encouraged us to take the tram around the park. You can get on and off it is well worth the $6 more. as there are two miles of walking sites to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,305
    538
    157
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a great place to learn about flora and fauna in the desert! Very interesting for children and adults. Lots to see and do.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent about 5 hours ...arriving a little before 10 am for the giraffe feeding which was well organized and informative. The LD is very easy to navigate on foot but a trolley is available.We attended a couple of the presentations which were interesting.The volunteers are very helpful and pleasant.Many of the animals were active and we even saw the big horn sheep running up and down the mountain. Take the time to walk through the many different gardens.They are laid out beautifully,and so peaceful. Our favorite activity was the new Australian bird feeding exhibit; there is a $2.00 fee to enter the exhibit but worth it. We packed lunch and drinks which worked out perfect,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank awaywegoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Wonderful education and wildlife welfare resource”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited because we were interested in seeing and learning about desert plants and wildlife. The whole place was so large (1,800 acres) and so well laid out that we saw and learned a great deal about desert life around the world.

While not being too keen on zoos, it was evident that the mammals and birds here are well cared for in spacious surroundings and comfortable conditions.

We were incredibly impressed with the animal hospital which cost $7 million and which was really state of the art in terms of its operating and recovery facilities. The volunteer who showed us around had a level of knowledge and enthusiasm that was infectious.

There were also neighbouring trails which went out into the adjoining desert.

Overall, a highly worthwhile experience that I'm pleased to recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveloholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The living desert zoo is obviously amazing and has lots of species not found elsewhere. It is well laid out and organized and there are lots of friendly staff and volunteers to help you find your way and make suggestions and answer questions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fosho876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Desert Zoo & Gardens also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Living Desert Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing