We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Can't wait to return!!!

My two kiddos (ages 9 & 10) and I LOVED the zoo!!!!! We went in the middle of the day and were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dani B
,
Long Beach, California
Great place to visit

We checked out Glow at the Zoo, and it was a great night! The whole place lit up at night, and it... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
GoingNewPlaces
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 3,142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Palm Desert
from $150.00
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $235.00
More Info
Reviews (3,142)
Filter reviews
3,142 results
Traveler rating
2,113
751
210
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,113
751
210
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal hospital giraffe feeding model train animal exhibits african village merry go round all ages natural habitat great place to visit hiking trails big horn sheep the palm springs area coachella valley the san andreas fault camel enclosures carousel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,081 - 3,086 of 3,142 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The Living Desert Zoo in Palm Desert, Calif is a great place to spend a day. Good for all ages. Lots of animals from all over the world, including giraffes, large cats, zebra, and more, all out in various "desert" settings. They feed (and let visitors feed, too) the giraffes around 10am so get there early. They have several bird talks and a show that is quite good -- one of the best we've seen.

Date of experience: February 2011
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We decided to check out the Living Desert while on vacation in Palm Springs and it was so amazing. The animals and stuff they had to do there was so much fun and I was very surprised about all the stuff that they had there for being such a small place. I recommend bringing your own water and maybe some snacks (we spent four hours there and were hungry and thirsty but reluctant to pay 2.75 for a bottle of water that is less then a dollar at the store and 7 dollars on a small sandwich). Also, spring for the tram wrist bands. You will learn stuff from the tran operator and whenever you want to get back to the front for a show or something it is much easier then walking and faster too. Everyone should check it out, you will love it!

Date of experience: February 2011
Thank FoxDemonGirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

You could easily spend hours walking around the many gardens representing different deserts around the world. The zoo portions, spread out among the gardens, are not extensive but are very high quality. I visited here in early April when the weather was great and many of the cacti were in bloom.

Thank bobthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I headed to the living desert on a weekday morning - I had heard that the best time to see the animals was early or late in the day due to the intense heat. The cacti gardens are wonderful to walk through with many enclosures dotted throughout hosting all manner of animals/reptiles./birds. There is so much to see that it is sometimes a little daunting!

One thing of note; it is not by any stretch 15 minutes from Palm Springs as advertised on some brochures. The journey is more like 30 minutes but it is worth making the effort.

Thank JimboLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This is a good place to spend a couple hours. It is not a big zoo so you can probably do it in an hour or two. But it is worth a visit if you are in the area. I was told to go early as the animals are more active and that was a good tip. The wolves were a favorite.

Thank ltloutang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews