We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Nice Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
South OC, CA, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Another Nice Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed in a late-summer desert stay at Palm Desert Comfort Suites (Sept 8 07), almost one year to the day since our first. This time, we used our Choice Privileges points and reserved a King Suite. Lucky for us, they had one of their largest King Jacuzzi suites available (room 101) and upgraded us free! Incidentally, this was our room on our first visit. I must mention that while the room was holding up okay since last year, the bathroom had a rather disgusting musty smell the entire time we were in the room. Other than for that, the room was clean, the 2-person jacuzzi tub was fun ;-) and the pool was better as they added quite a few new padded lounge chairs. I will suggest to try a room away from I-10 and the railroad tracks... but it really didn't bother us (all six jacuzzi suites are on the end of the building closest to the freeway and train tracks). Breakfast was okay... lots of bagels and breads, juices, do-it-yourself waffles, hard boiled eggs and (?) thinly-sliced heated ham... weird. The front-desk staff was excellent... the free upgrade and a two-hour checkout extension were both granted in a friendly manner. Bottom line... this sure isn't the nicest place we've stayed, but we still would like to return for a relatively inexpensive desert stay. And I'd be giving this stay a 4 of 5 if it wasn't for the musty bathroom smell.

  • Liked — 2-Person Jacuzzi Tub In Bedroom/Lounging On Rafts In The Pool (106 Degrees!)
  • Disliked — Musty Bathroom Smell (Disgusting!)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonesting69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalHotelier, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
Hello bonesting69,

I am sorry about the musty smell in the bathroom. Sometimes the housekeepers will close the bathroom doors after cleaning, which will cause the musty smell when it does not get the chance to dry completely. The heat at that time of year compounds the issue and causes the bathroom to get humid if there is still quite a bit of moisture. I have since asked housekeepers to leave the bathroom doors open in the hot months between June and October. If you stay with us again, please let us know of any issues and we will make our best effort to correct any problems. We have several methods to get rid of odors from simple spray air freshener to an ozone machine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    77
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
52
73
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Overall, an ok stay. The room was nice but a bit dirty with trash, wrappers, old cheerios, etc on the floor. The window was extremely dirty for our "view" of the pool.

The evening clerk (Tiffany) that checked us in was pleasant and efficient. We called down for additional items that we needed and she took great care of us.

For a one night stay, not a bad place to stay.

  • Liked — Evening Staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CHa-chiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalHotelier, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
Hello CHa-chiNG,

I am sorry for the condition of your room. If you stay with us again, please let us know right away if you find any trash on the floor. The condition of your room sounds unacceptable to me. Currently, every room is inspected after a check-out by our Executive Housekeeper. If you let us know of any problems with your room, it not only allows us to fix the problem but it also allows us to determine what areas the staff needs to improve.

Unfortunately, Tiffany is no longer with the company, but we always stress great customer service with all of our staff and try to go above and beyond to accommodate all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

It is always a joy to sleep in a great bed , with great bedding , which sometimes is hard to find at a hotel. We really enjoyed our night at this hotel and wish we had more time to stay longer.. The breakfast was beyond what they call continental... Belgian waffles, sausage, bagels, yogurt, muffins, fruit, and more. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pvdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2005

We had a great stay here. The rooms were clean (I think they done a recent renovation) and the service was good. They had great waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2003

My husband and I stayed here, looking for a no-frills place to lay our heads at night. However, the inn was a bit of disappointment. It was more no frills than we had expected: the pool was freezing, the bed was too small (a double!), and the dark, cramped suite space would have fared much better as an open-room plan. It was also a bit dirty in the corners of our room, which irked me most of all. Not too inexpensive, either.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
4.7 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 39585 Washington St, Palm Desert, CA 92211-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Palm Desert
Comfort Suites Palm Desert
Palm Desert Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing