We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great place for families, we used the pool near the 4000 block and it was excellent, 2 pools, one that has a sandy beach and 2 hot tubs. The room was clean and the staff was very accommodating.

With a room with a kitchen we saved a lot of money by eating meals in.

I will return to Shadow Ridge

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    45
    7
    11
See reviews for
126
68
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The whole family has been excited for months for our week at Shadow Ridge Enclaves - just called to check on the temp of the sandy pool and was told that the pump was down, and it would be closed for the next 4 weeks!! Has to be 'custome made'???

At least the newly renovated kids club opened this weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmattconlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Generally pretty good for families: very nice pools, play areas, bbq grills, etc. rooms are nice, except we got stuck in a handicap room which is not good for little kids since everything like microwaves and thermostats are at their height, not yours. Would give it 4 stars except we experienced some problems: pool heater down for 2 days, power outage for half a day, and wifi down (perhaps due to power outage). Other than that, we'd come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minibarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great property, Enclaves is a little more removed from the rest of Shadow Ridge but it is quiet and enjoyable. Rooms are solid, the Nick Faldo course is superb, but service at the various pool restaurants and bars is subpar. Wonderful place for families, the main pool has a water slide and plenty of activities for the kids. But curiously they shut down the main kids activity center for renovations during spring break?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

After spending 7 nights at another Marriott property we came here for 2 nights. Our room was great; it appeared to have been recently refurbished. We had a great view of the pool. The property has a lot to offer in terms of activities. I only wish they had a restaurant to eat breakfast. I would stay here again being as it was located close to many restaurants and shops. I wish we had stayed here for our entire trip. The one bedroom villa was spacious and well furnished. The washer and dryer was a nice addition.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This property has a LOT to offer ...unless you are looking for seclusion and privacy. This Marriott property is HUGE. That being said it is beautiful. It offers a lot to do for families, golfers, art buffs, bike riders...we can ALL find something to do. Because the property is so large it could make it tough on older folks..but people with kids...They will be in POOL heaven. The pools , spa etc are top notch. This property would be the ultimate for those looking for a bargain during the summer months...relax by one of the massive pools, great glass of something cold..ahh.

Rooms, well I stayed in the newest group of buildings. I suggest a top floor as you can hear those above you. The rooms are very well appointed but small. I would say smaller than standard rooms however I have noticed in newer hotels this seems to be common. Beds were excellent and very nice linens. While getting excited about a refridgerator isn't something I do, while staying in desert properties it comes in handy.

There is a lot for those who are athletically inclined - mountain biking, hiking, golfing, swimming.
For those who like to shop - Palm Desert has about every top of the line store imaginable, if you like bargains Palm Desert and Palm Springs are full of fun consignment stores from fine art, furniture ...clothes.

Soon the desert will be blooming and worth the trip. Suggest late March...

There are a number of good restaurants on the property however they do lack a casual restaurant that remains open past 3:00 p.m.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor. If you would like a balcony you need to request one. This is a VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessWildhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Yes, it was a lockoff room which is just a second bedroom that is locked off from a larger condo.
Upside:Enclaves are fairly new: Bed was comfortable, bathroom was nicely done; room had a pull out couch and a bistro table for 2, very small closet, bar sink, and microwave. This room really could not accommodate more than 2 people which was not a problem for us. Overall grounds, golf course and swimming pool area are beautiful! Staff were exceptionally nice.
Downside: First and foremost, NO BALCONY! This is a travesty for a vacation property. Our room had only a 5x4ft window that made the room seem rather like a cave. One of the other vacationers told me to ask to stay at the Village next time as they have a BALCONY/patio - not confirmed though I thought I would check that out.
Also, Shadow Ridge and the enclaves are quite a ways away from El Paseo and Palm Springs downtown and the museums - a car is really a must.
Just a note of interest, it seems that mid January is a bit early for "the season." The snackbar/bar at our pool was never open during our stay and so we were a ways away from any snacks/coffee/drinks unless we made our own - had the pool pretty much to ourselves.
To be fair, and also of note, our friends stayed at the Residence Inn and the Enclaves overall were much nicer.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor is best, and at least a one bedroom condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan_on_vacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge II-The Enclaves. Spacious two-bedroom villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed while the separate living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and then try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. Recreational activities include a pool, whirlpool spas, children's pool and waterslide, tennis courts, activity center and game room, 24-hour fitness center with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing