We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to offer all...unless..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Vista
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lots to offer all...unless..”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This property has a LOT to offer ...unless you are looking for seclusion and privacy. This Marriott property is HUGE. That being said it is beautiful. It offers a lot to do for families, golfers, art buffs, bike riders...we can ALL find something to do. Because the property is so large it could make it tough on older folks..but people with kids...They will be in POOL heaven. The pools , spa etc are top notch. This property would be the ultimate for those looking for a bargain during the summer months...relax by one of the massive pools, great glass of something cold..ahh.

Rooms, well I stayed in the newest group of buildings. I suggest a top floor as you can hear those above you. The rooms are very well appointed but small. I would say smaller than standard rooms however I have noticed in newer hotels this seems to be common. Beds were excellent and very nice linens. While getting excited about a refridgerator isn't something I do, while staying in desert properties it comes in handy.

There is a lot for those who are athletically inclined - mountain biking, hiking, golfing, swimming.
For those who like to shop - Palm Desert has about every top of the line store imaginable, if you like bargains Palm Desert and Palm Springs are full of fun consignment stores from fine art, furniture ...clothes.

Soon the desert will be blooming and worth the trip. Suggest late March...

There are a number of good restaurants on the property however they do lack a casual restaurant that remains open past 3:00 p.m.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor. If you would like a balcony you need to request one. This is a VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessWildhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    45
    7
    11
See reviews for
126
68
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Yes, it was a lockoff room which is just a second bedroom that is locked off from a larger condo.
Upside:Enclaves are fairly new: Bed was comfortable, bathroom was nicely done; room had a pull out couch and a bistro table for 2, very small closet, bar sink, and microwave. This room really could not accommodate more than 2 people which was not a problem for us. Overall grounds, golf course and swimming pool area are beautiful! Staff were exceptionally nice.
Downside: First and foremost, NO BALCONY! This is a travesty for a vacation property. Our room had only a 5x4ft window that made the room seem rather like a cave. One of the other vacationers told me to ask to stay at the Village next time as they have a BALCONY/patio - not confirmed though I thought I would check that out.
Also, Shadow Ridge and the enclaves are quite a ways away from El Paseo and Palm Springs downtown and the museums - a car is really a must.
Just a note of interest, it seems that mid January is a bit early for "the season." The snackbar/bar at our pool was never open during our stay and so we were a ways away from any snacks/coffee/drinks unless we made our own - had the pool pretty much to ourselves.
To be fair, and also of note, our friends stayed at the Residence Inn and the Enclaves overall were much nicer.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor is best, and at least a one bedroom condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan_on_vacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed over spring break in one of the 1 bdroom suites. Plenty of room for our 2 yr old to run around. Pools were great and didn't seem crowded even though the property was full. They have an activity center with games and programs for kids which is great to get them out of the sun for a while. As usual with most Marriott vacation properties, prices for food and beverages can be a little steep, but the kitchen in the rooms helped with that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights and got some facts to share with you...

What's the difference between Shadow Ridge I and Shadow Ridge II? Shadow Ridge II is newer... maybe these were built in 2005?? I heard the layouts are pretty much the same as Shadow Ridge I and everything is the same except that you are far, far away from everyone else - meaning you are at the last building and trust me, it's pretty far from the front desk and golf course. If that doesn't concern you (like myself), then go ahead for more privacy.

I stayed in the studio with the thought of having a washer/dryer inside as I read on TripAdvisor that they do. This is not true for studios, but probably the 1-brm and 2-brm do. A studio here is well.... just a studio. This is just a step above a Residence Inn, but with looks of a high-class apartment with a full size stainless steel fridge, microwave, deep tub and a 32" LCD TV that swivels to face either your bed or the small sofa.

You'll get some goodies with your stay such as dishwashing soap, coffee condiments (but not coffee), a small bottle of shampoo and a couple of standard hotel bar soap... Once you run out, you're on your own!

Things to bring:
- Conditioner
- Skin Lotion
- Instant Coffee
- Bottled Water
- Snacks

I would highly recommend staying here. It is pretty convenient with a Costco close by as well as a Bristols Farm for grub. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dengelbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stay at desert spring villa for 2 nights and enclave for one night. We like enclave much better. It is a newer property. The swimming pools are very nice and beautiful. They have good pool and playground for the kids. We had 2 bedroom condo, maybe the condo is a bit smaller but we like the layout better. We stay at the condo very close to the swimming pool on the 3rd floor, got big French door and windows. The patio furnitures are more upscale then desert spring. Little less people Are here. From now, we will choose to stay here then desert spring villa. Also try the restaurant Shermans. It is down the road on country club dr. We love that place.

Room Tip: Swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have visited the Enclaves 5 times in the past 4 years all the way from Scotland. A great resort always kept in first class order whether it be the condos, the golf course or the pools. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Booked again for May and September 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week on an Interval International timeshare exchange. Found the resort employees to be helpful. There is a shuttle service around the property and the three year old condos, while smallish, are nicely furnished. We had a main floor unit where we sat outside watching the hummingbirds land on the bougainvillea.

Don't let them put you in one of the handicapped units, unless you need that type of accommodation. They initially had us booked into one, but we were able to move the next day and they waived the cleaning fee for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing main floor condo overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge II-The Enclaves. Spacious two-bedroom villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed while the separate living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and then try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. Recreational activities include a pool, whirlpool spas, children's pool and waterslide, tennis courts, activity center and game room, 24-hour fitness center with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing