We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, generous servings, excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Basil

Le Basil
Ranked #36 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great food, generous servings, excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

this was our 2nd visit to le basil and it was even better than we remembered.
servings were hot, service good and food was awesome. my only advice would be to put a little more effort into decor and dining atmosphere!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Almost any dish is worth having. Smaller portions for the lunch menu are always perfect. Try the minced chicken and garlic dish-you'll love it. Also, try the fresh whole Coconut...what? Yummm!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love this restaurant! The food is always tasty and well prepared. The staff is friendly and attentive. Just can't get enough of this place!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babushka2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

After reading reviews on TA we decided to give this restaurant a try. Glad we did, the food and service was excellent. A little hard to find, but right next to Von's across from the Mayfield shopping center on Hwy 111.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“TA reviews steered us to a fabulous find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

On our recent trip to Palm Desert, we were pleasantly surprised to find one of the best Thai restaurants we've been to in this far away location. Every dish we ordered was absolutely delicious, and such a treat, we ended up going back a second time during our 5 night stay!
The Spicy Eggplant with Pork, Lard Na Noodles with Chicken, Tom Kah Gai Soup, Pad Thai noodles Chicken with Basil - all with well balanced, complex flavors. If the dish isn't as spicy as you like it, be sure to ask for the assortment of chili sauces to complement the dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Basil also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Le Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing