We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different, Great and Very Unusual”
Review of Sense - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sense
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“different, Great and Very Unusual”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Food was different, and really nice blend of flavors. Using whatever is fresh and local. Service was over the top great, food was definately for foodies who like to try new things and blends

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sande W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Quirky and cool...”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place is a trip. It is in an old strip mall right off Hwy 111, parking is adequate. The decor is funky, kinda of 50's diner meets a set off the Laugh-in TV show. Our party of six was seated promptly (we had reservations). The menu is flat out difficult to understand, they have odd names for the different sections and it reads kind of like a tapas menu. Dishes are small and meant to be shared but some are meals and it's difficult to figure out what is what. We had a cool (but very odd) waiter that spent 5 minutes and explained every thing. Here is the kicker.....the food was outstanding. This occurred on every level from presentation, color, smell and taste. Every dish is slightly odd from the norm but the mix of flavors was perfect (foodies will love this place). Our service was above average and dinner was served in a timely manner. The bill was reasonable ($55 per head w/ tip) this included appetizers, main course, wine and desert.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dub2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Unique menu layout...little tough to follow...atmosphere not great and can be noisy...but food was excellent...unusual offerings (that's a positive)...and very nice service.

One dish that I thought didn't fit with the rest of the menu was the lightly fried calamari...this place prides itself in fresh, organic, etc. etc...why have anything deep fried (even lightly) on the menu...when they could have been sauteed in olive oil and a few herbs and spices...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FABOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Snobby and very noisy”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We made a reservation because it is close to our home. We got there and they sat us in the bar and refused to move us to an empty table in the restaurant, I asked why we couldthere's sit there ,as it was the same size and the hostess said her boss said we could not sit there, the manager refused to speak with us to explain why. We felt like he was a prejudiced snob and we left, We have travelled the word because my husband executive job and have never been so disrespected. We are telling everyone we know not to go there

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“creative cuisine”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Very good and interesting menu. The ginger martini wasn't as good as I hoped. Other food items fresh and good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sense also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing