We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Deep Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Deep Canyon
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've stayed here before and liked the fact that it was off the main drag. We decided to return with a large group for a retirement party. Unfortunately, our guest of honor received an emergency phone call on the day we were due to arrive. I called and explained the circumstances and was told that we would be given 1/2 of the charge back as a credit, (not a refund) and that it could be used anytime within one year. A few months later, when we were ready to use our credit the owner said that he was going to charge us an additional $100/night and charge us the full rack price for a room. The website was advertising rooms for $99/night, yet our charge was going to be $209/night. My credit of $162 would not even cover one night. We were not about to pay the additional fees, when he had already made $162 off of us. Needless to say, I will not be able to use my credit due, nor will I ever return.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you have to cancel your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrnapier2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
30
51
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
208 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The property is in a great location in Palm Desert - 15 minutes walk to El Paseo and about 10 minutes to Indian Wells Ralph's shopping center. There is a Starbucks, and an Albertsons right across the street. This is a hard property to review as it has some very good features - the pool area is wonderful, the rooms are built around the pool and I would recommend asking for a pool side room with a kitchenette, It will be noisy on the week-end with families and groups, but was very quiet on the week days. The breakfast is very nice and certainly provides the basics. Cute little breakfast area off the lobby or you can go outside around the pool. The rooms are very large and the furnishings, although a bit dated are perfectly fine. Our room did not have a kitchenette, but had a small fridge which was appreciated. Unfortunately our room, although very clean on a daily basis, needed a update. The carpet was very stained and really pulled the ambiance down. The bathroom was adequate, but needed a fresh coat of paint and some stucco work. We did see improvements happening, so perhaps this will take care of these issues. The internet was an issue for us, but they really tried hard to fix that also....perhaps all taken care of now. I really liked this property and for the price, it is good value....you just can't let the little things bother you....if you are looking for 5 star...it's not, but it is charming and we found the staff to be very helpful. I would suggest booking directly with the hotel as the prices seemed to vary quite a bit on the booking sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have visited this hotel a couple of times. T say it first: there is a lot of noise from neighboring guests. The rooms a spacious, clean, very well equipped (fridge, flat screen, airco) .. The pool and hot tub make it a comfortable environment to stay. When I stayed here in nov 2013, the ground floor rooms were booked with men-only multi occupied rooms, where around 6:00 PM de portable sound systems were transported to the pool tables, including canned beer and loud talking, shouting. It did not support a quiet rest at the pool ... In addition to the from 4-5:30 lawn maintenance and leaf-blowers by staff ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoostS_NL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights Sunday 10/6 and Monday 10/7. We loved the layout of the rooms around the pool area. The pool was wonderful and properly heated. We had an upstairs room with a kitchenette, a large balcony and comfortable bed. Furnishings are not new but it was fine for us. We especially enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere at night as we sat out on the balcony.

I would give it 5 stars if housekeeping had shown up to clean our room or deliver towels. We left the needs service sign on the door but when we returned that evening they still had not shown up. We saw them cleaning other rooms so maybe they were just shorthanded. Otherwise we loved this place and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Anywhere upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiserfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed there in July on our way to Arizona.We had a free gift certificate for a weekend and only needed one day so they charged half the rate of regular room.We wanted to stay on our way back for a night and they booked the room for half the price again.There was a hugh fire outside of town and I wanted to cancel our reservation because my husband has extrem COPD and could not be in the smoke.It was 48 hours notice and was told NO.They wanted to say I would not be there so they could rent the room and still charge the full price of the room.Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: At a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this Inn over the weekend of June 29th-30th, which happens to coincide with a family reunion consisting of 20+ families traveling from all over Orange County. They booked half the hotel rooms and had a gigantic pool party with Ranchero music blasting from the time we arrived until 11:30PM. They also had a grill going on with drinks around the pool. Did it bother us? Not a bit, we were out most of the day shopping. When we got back at around 10PM after an excellent dinner at 3rd Corner Bistro, we decided to jump into the pool and mingle with the family reunion. The family members were cool, offered us some food and drinks and we conversed for about an hour to several members of the reunion.

The room is standard and accommodating. The one thing I noticed amidst the 122-degree temperature is that the AC wasn't cooling the room efficient enough. Then I discovered why: the hotel doors do not have any weather sealant on them, allowing cool air to escape and hot air to enter, making the AC work overtime. Fixing this oversight can potentially save the Inn several thousand of dollars in wasted electricity!

The pool is nice with the deep-end reaching 9-ft deep and opens 24 hour (no life guard on sight, so swim at your own risk). A nearby hot tub relaxes us after a dip in the pool. On the second night, i.e. Sunday, the participants of the family reunion left and did a great job cleaning up after themselves. We had the pool to ourselves for the night, which is a nice touch.

Breakfast is mini-buffet style and sufficient. I spoke to two of the members of the family reunion and learned that they host this party at this particular hotel every year for the past 4 years and were making reservation for next year as they were checking out. Tip to those that want peace and quiet: Avoid booking this hotel between the end of June until after the July 4th weekend :).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely and will return! Maybe during early Spring when the weather is more forgiving.

Room Tip: Avoid booking between the last weekend of June and weekends of July 4th if you want to avoid an annu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed two nights during a week long road trip. while the jacuzzi wasn't very hot, sitting next to the pool was great. it's a quiet place to stay and hang out poolside, layout is very 50s. rooms could use some updating, but the cost to stay was of great value. had a frig and small kitchenette. bagel and juice in the morning (and pastries). Wife graded papers (she's a professor) while I hiked above Palm Springs in the mountains.

room was warm the first night, but being that we where on the second floor, I opened the patio door and the room cooled off and was fine. we where running late on arrival and they called us and gave the combo to the night box for key retrieval. turns out the office was still open. nice folks.

free wifi
dog friendly.

if we ever go back to Desert Palm, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room. that way you can leave the patio door open all night for the cooling breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaladawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.2 mi away
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
#4 of 4 in Indian Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Deep Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Deep Canyon

Property: The Inn at Deep Canyon
Address: 74470 Abronia Trl, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Deep Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quiet, family hotel. Long term discounts available for stays of 2+ weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Deep Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Deep Canyon Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing