We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place if you are a smoker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Deep Canyon
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
SoCal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good place if you are a smoker”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

2.5 stars.
Looking for a last minute place to stay in Palm Desert and found this place.
Got lucky and they were one of the only places around that had a room available for under $300!
This place is cheap! Paid only $120 a night on the weekend.
I liked the price.
The people working here were very friendly!
Unfortunately, that is about all the 'good' things about this place.
The rest of it pretty much sucked!

First off we had a family that seemed to be having a family reunion in the room next to us. Probably about 10 of them in the room including a crying baby that you could hear through the walls. They had their front door and balcony door open pretty much all the time so they could step outside to smoke.
This place has ashtrays everywhere... on all the balconies, by the pool and on the tables. It's a real smokers paradise and you will definitely be smelling it in your room.
Very old school!!

The room was large and had a big balcony overlooking the pool. The place is old so many things weren't clean like the bathroom window which was nasty and the bathroom in general was pretty dirty and in need of some work.

The room had adjoining dooring on both sides!! eck. So you could easily hear the people on each side.

The door to our room over looked a parking lot and liquor store. Not very appealing.
The hotel was sold out and they parking lot was completely full so we had to park on the street.

The pillows were probably the thinnest pillows I ever experienced at any hotel/motel. Paper thin and hard to sleep on if you are used to having a fluffy pillow.

This place seems to cater to foreign travelers. At least that was the feeling the weekend we were here. The people at the pool area weren't very 'appealing'.

The place is cheap and probably OK for a one night place to stay. But not a place you would want to hang out in or lay by the pool.... at least not me anyways.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
32
54
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of March 2012. Although we accidentally arrived one night early and late in the evening, we were pleasantly and professionally taken care of. This is a small, 50’s style hotel/motel (32 units total) that is worth every tiny penny you pay for it –but do not expect 2020 style accommodations as you are not expected to pay at that level. You can count on free wi-fi, clean rooms and grounds, updated tiles, showers, bathrooms and carpets, comfortable beds and bedding (but, for example, not luxury down comforters nor high end lotions!), equipped kitchenettes (in the larger rooms) and refrig, microwave and coffee maker in the single rooms –all despite the fact that an abundant breakfast is included in the price. With breads, pastries, hardboiled eggs, apples, oatmeal, cereals, cream cheese, jelly and even occasionally breakfast burritos and potatoes, only someone who has gotten up on the wrong side of the bed would find something to complain about. I believe there is a laundry room on-site too; but I am not positively sure on that.
The owner is frequently on site and it is clear that he understands the concept of hospitality. He appears fair and reasonable w/ staff (the pool and deck is cleaned every morning), chats w/ the long term guests (lots of repeaters returning year after year), and makes sure that small problems and questions are addressed fairly and quickly for a win-win all around.
Location, Location, Location. One block off the main drag so it is quiet enough to have peaceful pool time around the secluded/surrounded pool area yet close to grocery store and only a few blocks from El Paseo, yoga, prime restaurants and centrally located overall to get to all the sites and activities in the Valley quite easily.

Room Tip: To be honest, there are probably 2 rooms that are less desirable. They don't have windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we tried to check into this motel 6 style inn there was no one there. It was 7:00 P.M. We had to ring a call button and ten minutes later the desk clerk showed up. We signed in and headed up to our second floor room, noting that below our rooms's entry door, over the side of the building, there was tons of trash and demolition debris. First impression was not good at all. We entered the room to find 80's era furnishings, hard, squecky beds and no shower curtainor or fan in the bathroom. The list goes on. The room rate card posted in the room was from 2006! The actual rate was $238.00 for two DOUBLE beds. You can most certainly do better! Keep looking.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Inn has a nice location,quiet with nice rooms,shopping nearby and PET FRIENDLY! It's a nice getaway for a romantic kidnap weekend! They have a continental breakfest in the morning and the place is CLEAN! For your dollar,you can't go wrong...!

Room Tip: always call ahead to verify room type,pet friendly,how close are restrants,early check ins or late c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you are looking for fancy mid century ambiance, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a cute place with a big pool, in ground spa and clean rooms, this is a great place. We brought our dog and we had a nice long weekend here. You can easily walk to El Paseo and groceries, coffee are steps away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The staff is friendly and the hotel is pet friendly ten dollar pet fee. The location is great,half Adblock off of 111, and about two blocks from El Paseo shopping. The only complaint was the room smelled of cigarette smoke, which wafted up from the floor below. All in all a good value

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1obbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Palm Desert is a unique environment, and when this unique hotel name appeared on a list of recommendations that were mostly chains, I decided to give it a try. i was hoping for something of a boutique experience, and that's exactly what I got. My room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the setting, a two-story U-shape around a sunny pool and jacuzzi, colorful bougainvillea on the fence, had a wonderfully retro-chic feel to it. it's not luxurious, but it's definitely comfortable, and the free wi-fi was a big plus. Breakfast was included: simple, but enough choices to satisfy. The location was good for my needs, not far from El Paseo and the Living Desert, reasonably convenient to stores and restaurants. I do wish there had been more toiletries than the wall-mount liquid soap! If you want quality shampoo and conditioner or soap, bring your own. Otherwise, check in, make yourself comfortable, and soak up the retro-chic Palm Desert vibe. Excellent value at an attractive price point.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
0.1 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
2.2 mi away
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
#4 of 4 in Indian Wells
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Deep Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Deep Canyon

Property: The Inn at Deep Canyon
Address: 74470 Abronia Trl, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Deep Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quiet, family hotel. Long term discounts available for stays of 2+ weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Deep Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Deep Canyon Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing