We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not kid friendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pala Casino Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pala Casino Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel at least five times with our kids and this time will be our last. Other family members joining us brought their kids. Aside from the pool area, Pala is a very limited experience for children. Although there is more than one jacuzzi, kids are not allowed.

We do not expect a casino of this caliber to cater to children, and we do value the chance for any adults (including ourselves) to enjoy a peaceful retreat without the disturbance of poorly behaving children. However, during our stay we were constantly treated in a condescending manner even though the children were well behaved. Staff members are everywhere to scold them if they appear to be in certain areas, even areas not marked as adults only. I do not expect children to be allowed in the casino itself, however in the process of going to the food court you must walk through the casino. We were asked to "leave" the casino with our kids when merely walking through to get food. Our kids were asked not to play on the large grassy lawn between the hotel and pool. There is no landscaping there, just grass and pathways, and the kids were not disturbing anyone or crossing the pathways. I arrived at the spa one morning a few minutes before it opened to book an appointment for my wife. My 5-year old daughter was standing next to me quietly holding my hand. A staff member unlocked the door, not to assist me, but to tell me I had to leave because kids are not allowed on the premises! She then informed me I would have to come back a few minutes later when the spa opened (I didn't mind waiting there). I could not understand being treated this way as an adult, in control of my child, ready to spend serious money for spa treatments (which I did not).

Lastly, the restaurants are very good, but after several meals bringing the kids to dine in, we just wanted to order take out and feed them outside on the patio. My wife called the Italian restaurant to inquire about ordering pizza. She was told we could order them to go. Twenty minutes later she walked down to read the menu and place our order but then was informed they would not serve us to go--that we had to dine in because they were too busy. This is the kind of thing that bothered us the whole time: an inconsistent and unwelcome stay for our our kids.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TJflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    125
    40
    17
    28
See reviews for
59
147
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We decided to getaway at the spur of the moment to somewhere close by. A nice adult weekend (kids had other plans). I was a little leary of going to Pala after reading a few of the reviews but I'm glad we went. Such a great time! Nice casino and restaurants. I highly recommend The Oak Room. I had the Chilean Sea Bass. Delicious! Melts in your mouth. Our waiter, George, was very attentive, ask for him you won't be disappointed. We didn't go with intentions of winning alot of money. ! I'm assuming that's why some of the reviews were bad...sore losers. John, one of the pit bosses, was very informative about a few of the card games we had never played...Thanks! We will go back! If you go to the spa for a treatment ask for Crystal . I had a facial with her and it was one of the best ones I've ever had. I would not recommend this place for kids. This is a casino for pete sake...smoke, alcohol and all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family and friends thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here as we got a cabana out by the pool, ordered lots of food, relaxed and watched some football. Had a birthday cake for my oldest son....great time had by all!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights Oct 14,15 &16 for my birthday ,arranged by my love. She booked a petite suite but on arrival we were upgraded to a Luxury Suite on the tenth floor with a wonderful mountain view. The resort is about 6 miles off I 5 and arises unexpectedly in the middle of nowhere. The isolation and our room provided a quiet and tranquil setting. The casino always had live entertainment.
We started each morning with a trip to the jacuzzi and pool-got a little sun. Over the three days , we had NY steak and eggs at Pala cafe; cleaned up, gambled a bit and lunched at Noodles; watched a little TV and attended wonderful happy hour at Amigos-great steak tacos. We made our donations and got a lot of fun play on many of the loose slot machines. All in all, this is a terrific staycation for us San Diegans 45 minutes away; they even offer some interesting entertainment like Don Rickles and Debbie Reynolds on Feb 16th 2013. Please check out our photos..Pala is swellah ">))

Room Tip: try happy hour at Amigos...4-6pm...steak tacos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RALPH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed at the Pala Resort many times. A great place for a weekend getaway or a midweek stay. Make sure to stop by Amigos for their street tacos, happy hour is from 4 to 8 everyday. They have a large pool, great place to rent a cabana and spend the day relaxing. Outside concerts are also a must, very fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the superior suite is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Descanso, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was well worth the 60 mile trip It takes me to get here. Although I have only been here three times I have been comped generously each time. I have also been getting real free play coupons in the mail. The staff and pit bosses actually go out of their way to make you have a pleasant experience,unlike a nameless casino in Alpine.
They have gourmet restaurants here the Kobe steak was excellent at the steak house,and their Italien restaurant was first rate. Many table games,one complaint some of the blackjack tables are 6-5 ,please avoid these ripoff games.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm only reviewing the hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Nice decor, and I loved the bathroom. Huge! Separate shower and tub. Free parking. Just hate the smoke smell when you enter the place but what can ya do?? They don't allow coolers or any alcohol in the rooms so be smart and pack the drinks in your luggage.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pala
4.5 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#1 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
7.7 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
9.7 mi away
Fallbrook Country Inn
Fallbrook Country Inn
#5 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Casino Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Casino Resort and Spa

Property: Pala Casino Resort and Spa
Address: 11154 Highway 76, Pala, CA 92059-2904
Location: United States > California > Pala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pala, Ca nestled in the splendor of the Palomar Mountains in Northern San Diego County, Pala Casino Spa & Resort is Southern California’s most complete gaming resort that offers So Many Ways to Win.™ Pala is a AAA Four-Diamond award winner for six consecutive years and its gaming and entertainment includes 2,000 slot machines, 87 table games, 10 restaurants, four concert and show venues, 507 deluxe guest rooms, including 82 luxury suites, and an award-winning, 10,000-square-foot day spa and salon. Accommodations, Meeting Space Pala’s 507 deluxe rooms, including the 82 luxury suites, all include mini bars, high-speed internet, two phones with two lines, large flat-screen televisions, dual sinks and Jacuzzis (in the suites). Pala’s professional meeting planners can accommodate every event need. In addition to 40,000 square feet of meeting space, Pala offers an Executive Board Room and 15 fully-equipped meeting rooms, eight of which have patios overlooking the garden and pool. The Pala Events Center seats 2,000 comfortably in 20,000 square feet of meeting space. Spa Pala’s award-winning spa offers unique experiences. The Pala Spa is a 10,000-square-foot oasis designed to revive, refresh and rejuvenate. Each of its 14 treatment rooms offers the option of outdoor treatments on an adjoining patio. Pala Spa features two Couples Suites, a complete salon, a retail boutique and separate men and women’s locker rooms with personal lockers, private shower and dressing facilities, outdoor showers, Swiss showers, eucalyptus steam rooms, sauna and whirlpools. Details such as bamboo floors, mosaic tile, wood accents and creative water fountains create a serene sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pala Hotel Pala
Pala Resort
Pala Casino Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing