We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added Wedding Stress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pala Casino Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Added Wedding Stress”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed here for my friends wedding. She booked a joining room with 4 beds for herself and the bridal party SIX months in advance. She was told that they would place banners in the room that said "Thank You Bridesmaids" and strawberries.

Upon arrival we were told that our room was not guaranteed (they did not tell her this at the time the room was booked) and after 30 mins at the check in counter we were sent up to our room- which was not joined. We called the from desk to move us. When we entered the new room THERE WERE ONLY THREE BED!!! There were no banners, no strawberries, nothing! They wouldn't even let us brink champagne to the room to celebrate her last night single. The icing on the cake, in the middle of all us girls charging clothes the next day, some man barges into our room giving a tour- all he said was "oops, sorry" and shut the door.

Just hours before her she was to be married, the bride had to go down and deal with this stress and the front desk only offered her $50 off. After she had over 9 rooms booked there for friends and family and we spent over $400 on dinner.

The front desk agents are completely under-qualified to EVER work at a hotel of this size. To screw up someone's wedding reservations is beyond belief. I will never stay here again on principal- I also DO NOT recommend staying here for any type of event where stress may be a factor.

The only reason I didn't give it a terrible is because the rooms are clean, the food is good and they have a nice pool.

We then decided to check on her reservation for the wedding night in the suite. She prepaid for a rose turn-down, Champagne, strawberries and banners. Low a behold, none of this was in their system. Can you imagine if we didn't check the night before!!. What a horrible thing to deal with on your wedding night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sMARTIshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    129
    42
    17
    29
See reviews for
64
159
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend for a relaxing getaway. Checking in and out was a nightmare as there were long lines for both. Even though there were three ladies at the front desk, all were on the phone as the lines got longer.

Our "Mountain View" room was clean, but located right next to the parking structure so all night long we heard car alarms going off and the beeping of people locking their cars as they were coming and going. Also, I don't know what the peole above us were doing, but it sounded like they were playing basketball for about an hour around 1:00am.

The next problem was the fire alarm that went off in our room as well as the whole resort at 5:00am while we were sound asleep. The loud beeping and recorded message that told us to “stay in our room while the reason for the alarm was being investigated” went on for about 20 minutes. I called the front desk and they told us it was just a monthly drill. OK, I understand you need to perform fire drills, but at 5:00 in the morning when you have guests that are sleeping??? We couldn’t go back to sleep. We watched TV and started to get ready to check out. While my wife was in the shower and I was shaving they had a power outage which stayed out for about 15 minutes. Called the front desk again and they told us the whole building went out for some reason. They couldn’t explain why.

We checked out of our room after standing in line again for a half hour and went to their food court to get something to eat before our drive home. We were told that because of the power outage they were only serving cold sandwiches. We picked one up and left.

Not a very relaxing weekend. If you book a room here, make sure to ask if they have a fire drill scheduled first!

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms can be close to the parking structure. You will hear car alarms all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandhopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Arrived on the 26th for the Jeff Dunham show. We arrived at 6:00 for the 8:00 show to get something to eat and do a little gaming. When we got there we valet'ed and decided to check out Choices, the buffet. When we got to Choices the line was massive. This was understandable since it is a buffet and has a reputation of being a good buffet. We then went to check out Oaks because we didnt want to stand in line for an hour. Oaks had many open tables however they stated they were booked up because. Didn't understand this. I literally could count 10 tables that were empty. Oh well, I understand so we move on. We go to check the cafe but that line was almost as long as the buffet. So that wasn't going to work. Went to the Mexican food place and that was a 45 minute wait. So we go to try to the deli, which is more like fast food. Nope that line wasn't moving at all. Soooo, we decide to eat at the little coffee shop. Almost no wait and I asked for a caesar salad and my wife asked for a turkey sandwich. We get two mochas, water and a croissant. After we get our meal we look for a seat. THERE ARE NO SEATS ANYWHERE!!! So we pull up 3 casino chairs and make a makeshift dining table. All the tables were taken by people waiting for the show and they had no food. While we were at our "dining" table management noticed us. Did they come over and try to help, maybe apologize, or offer something else......nope.....they were too busy talking. It's all good though, i understand. The mochas were rancid and I am not exaggerating. I took them back for waters. My wife asked for a turkey sandwich but got a chicken salad sandwich that was whatever. My salad had chicken on it, which if I knew I would not have purchased because i am allergic to chicken.

The deal with this place is that they do not have the hospitality services to host an event with 1500 people in attendance. I know they want to but they just don't have the room. The Show was amazing but when you have people packed in like sardines on stupid fold out chairs that are 18 inches wide it isn't comfortable. I wasn't the only one who had this to day. The person next to me asked if this was our first time here, I said yes and he indicated the same. He said it was his last and I agreed.

In all I will not be returning to Pala for a show or gambling for that due to this experience. It just seemed like they were more concerned with quantity over quality. Good luck Pala, but you lost me at hello.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cam2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel was very clean , Had a big screen t.v a wonderful veiw , a big bed everything you could want.
The staff is very friendly and made you feel right at home. This casino and hotel has everything you need. A spa a pool. and from time to time live entertainment. They are very updated and the buffet is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormycloud777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel itself is actually quite nice! Our room (I think we stayed in 602) was very nice. Clean room, the bed was comfy and the best part was the jacuzzi tub! The bathroom is just as big as the room! We ate at the buffet one night and my husband said it was the best buffet he has ever been to. The pool was the PERFECT temperature, the only downside is it is pretty small and there were a TON of little kids, but the pool bar had very good prices on drinks so it was nice to spend a few hours sunbathing and just dip our feet in the pool while sipping on some cocktails. Overall I would definitely recommend staying here we were very pleased with the room itself just stay away from the slot machines because we lost ALOT of money on those dang things!

Room Tip: Suite with poolview also has a smaller window on the other side with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifereisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I made reservation 5 months in advance to stay at this place. I was a part of a wedding party where the couple made sure the bridal party and guests would have a convenience access to the ceremony and reception. What I thought was going to be a weekend of fun was not so true to start.
I was sharing a room with a fellow bridesmaid and we were given one king bed to share when I specifically asked for two queen beds at the time I booked the room online.
I called downstairs to fix the mistake but pretty much got lied too. I heard everything from, it's because I checked in late to they sold out for the weekend or they only ONE back-up room available just in case there's a plumbing issue. Therefore, I could not get a new room immediately. Never been lied to so much by a hotel and I travel for business every month.
To make matters worse, they told me I had to either call the front desk or go downstairs the next morning between 7am to 9am and ask for a new room. I asked why couldn't they help me by putting my name on a list? and they responded, "because we don't know when rooms will become available." WTF!!

You think, I am making this stuff up but NO, it really happened and good thing I asked for their names. I think Myra and Erica either need to go through training AGAIN or not work in hotel and hospitality.

One person who I would like to thank is Susan, the Mgr. who helped me out the next morning; yes, I couldn't sleep so I went downstairs to confront the issue. It only took Susan a minute to where Erica and Myra rather be on the phone lying to me for 40 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I've done alot of traveling and stayed in alot of hotels but Pala is among the best. The rooms are tasteful, understated and elegant. The facility is pristine and the food is fantastic. . .best buffet in San Diego bar none. The front desk staff is always helpful and they do their best to accommodate you even going beyond what would normally be considered reasonable. The gaming is fun, with loads of different machines, lots of new machines and lots of penny machines. I'm sold on Pala. . .it's heavenly!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pala
4.6 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#3 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
7.8 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
11.9 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
12.0 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Casino Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Casino Resort and Spa

Property: Pala Casino Resort and Spa
Address: 11154 Highway 76, Pala, CA 92059-2904
Location: United States > California > Pala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pala Casino Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pala, Ca nestled in the splendor of the Palomar Mountains in Northern San Diego County, Pala Casino Spa & Resort is Southern California’s most complete gaming resort that offers So Many Ways to Win.™ Pala is a AAA Four-Diamond award winner for six consecutive years and its gaming and entertainment includes 2,000 slot machines, 87 table games, 10 restaurants, four concert and show venues, 507 deluxe guest rooms, including 82 luxury suites, and an award-winning, 10,000-square-foot day spa and salon. Accommodations, Meeting Space Pala’s 507 deluxe rooms, including the 82 luxury suites, all include mini bars, high-speed internet, two phones with two lines, large flat-screen televisions, dual sinks and Jacuzzis (in the suites). Pala’s professional meeting planners can accommodate every event need. In addition to 40,000 square feet of meeting space, Pala offers an Executive Board Room and 15 fully-equipped meeting rooms, eight of which have patios overlooking the garden and pool. The Pala Events Center seats 2,000 comfortably in 20,000 square feet of meeting space. Spa Pala’s award-winning spa offers unique experiences. The Pala Spa is a 10,000-square-foot oasis designed to revive, refresh and rejuvenate. Each of its 14 treatment rooms offers the option of outdoor treatments on an adjoining patio. Pala Spa features two Couples Suites, a complete salon, a retail boutique and separate men and women’s locker rooms with personal lockers, private shower and dressing facilities, outdoor showers, Swiss showers, eucalyptus steam rooms, sauna and whirlpools. Details such as bamboo floors, mosaic tile, wood accents and creative water fountains create a serene sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pala Casino Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Hotel Pala
Pala Resort
Pala Casino Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing