We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

My new husband and I booked this hotel for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon in California. I booked it after reading a few reviews online. Unfortunately this hotel looks NOTHING like it does in photos online. Our room was filthy- stains everything, broken door to the screen/mini bar, phone didn't work. The carpet also had an awful smell..don't know if it has ever been updated. I have never complained about a hotel before.... I was so upset that I called the front desk and the toll-free best western number and they were no help at all. I spent the whole night calling other hotels in the area, but they were all booked for the first two nights of our stay. Our sleep was terrible there- we could hear people upstairs constantly throughout the night.. and outside in the parking lot. Maybe there are other rooms here that have been updated and are nicer... but ours was awful. I didn't even want to take a shower there. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are much nicer hotels in the area. For our last night in the San Fran area, we switched to the Inn at Oyster Point which was absolutely wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and we will look into the issues you mentioned in your review. Please call me directly so that we can discuss further. We hope to have you back so that you can enjoy one of our comfortable ocean front rooms. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    389
    172
    67
    45
See reviews for
328
436
45
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

All reasonable rooms in the city were sold out so we ended up here, which turned out great. It was especially convenient to get back to the airport. It was a very good value compared to the rates right in the city. My only suggestion would be to ask for a top floor room. The noise from the room above was bad, it sounded like herd of elephants were staying above us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ManyJournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Ok, this place looks a little worn/dated from the outside, but the room we stayed in was modern, clean, new carpet, nice bedding (no nasty bedspread), and comfortable. The best part was the view from our room of the ocean! We slept with the sliding glass door open and listened to the crashing waves all night. It was awesome. There isn't a deck attached to the room, but you can sit next to the sliding door and see the ocean.
The best part of our stay was dinner at the Moonraker - the attached restaurant. We didn't even have to leave the hotel to have an amazing, elegant dinner with a million dollar view! It looked like every table had a breathtaking view of the ocean/waves/rocks. Ours faced the huge windows and we watched people surfing during our meal. One of the best dining experiences we've ever had, and we are foodies (my husband was a chef for 20 years). We were especially surprised that this was a restaurant in a Best Western but trust me, it's awesome!
I would definitely recommend this hotel if the ocean view is important to you, and you don't need a five star hotel. Make sure to get a room facing the ocean. Also, this is great for your last night in wine country if you have to go to the airport in the morning, it's only a few minutes' drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the ocean - it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele33657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was my first trip to Pacifica and I already want to go back! The Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel was located right in a beautiful cove, where whales were frolicking for hours and hours. It was an amazing site to see, right from our room! A very nice room, by the way. The two (very comfy) queen bed room with a view was clean, well appointed, and perfectly located. (The elevator in the very back of the building was clunky and slow, but that was the only ding I can give this place.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kellyp783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Lighthouse Hotel in Pacifica was close enough to SF to drive easily but allowed us to get away from the congestion for the evening and enjoy the view of the ocean. There is also some hiking in the area with great views of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 152sharonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This facility is outstanding for it's proximity to the beach (could hear the waves crashing and take a walk on the beach). It's close enough to San Francisco to make it in and out with relative ease and then head north or south and enjoy the coastal highway!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johni824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Often you book a sea view room and its true... If you get binoculars out. Here, the room was all but on the actual beach, and what a view. Hotel very friendly staff, easy walking around, several places to eat within yards, and possibly the most comfortable hotel bed Ive ever had. Only downside was the wifi was poor.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.8 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
12.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Best Western, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing