We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great staff and service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff really has gone out of their way on out trip to help with anything we have needed, always super friendly and helpful, from advise on things to do, places to eat, even warming up our leftovers in thier microwave (the fridge in the room had frozen them solid, LuAnn was so patient with us,constantly checking and giving it more time).The houskeeping staff did a great job on the room everyday. They all really made the stay all the more special.

The proximity to San Francisco was good, got into town and down by Fisherman's Wharf usually within 25-30 minutes, worked out great, if you are ok with some traffic at times.

The hotel is nice, parking is kind of under the motel, so pretty well protected. Rooms are well appointed, and nicely sized. Nothing is really over the top , except location, the beach right outside the motel, surfers in the water, and waves breaking right out of the rooms is really terrific.

Don't know about the restaurant, prices on menu scared us to other places, but the view from the door is amazing.

Definitely no complaints about anything, all positives on this trip. Thanks to all who work there, you made our first trip to California really special.

Room Tip: The desk recommended to call directly, and they can get you into an acean view room, they are not av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    382
    169
    66
    43
See reviews for
322
428
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I arranged for a weekend away using a free night certificate. At the time I made the reservation we were told "it's an ocean front room with two queens" (we had our three yr. old grandson with us). We already knew the location of the hotel and an ocean front room....we were excited and looking forward to this stay.

We arrived, registered and went to our room......the most horrible view ever! And it certainly wasn't an ocean view. I called Best Western Rewards program and they tried to help by calling the hotel however, there weren't anymore ocean view rooms available. That's on BW Rewards program probably more than the hotel....just to be fair.

Within a few minutes of being in the room my wife made a comment about the carpet being damp. It was. Then, as the sun started to set, closed the balcony slider and in short time we noticed that there was a very musty odor. I think this may be the norm for old wood construction buildings buit along the ocean as I've smelled that odor before. The hotel is old.

As I slid the balcony slider closed, we noticed that the sheer curtain was ripped, lengthwise, at the edge closest to the door handle. Tacky.

When we returned to our room for the evening we heard a lot of noise coming from the room above us. It was obvious that it was a couple with several small kids running all around. It didn't slow down by 9:30 p.m. and so I called the front desk. It slowed for approx. 15 min. then started back up. I called the front desk again at about 11:00 p.m. and it stopped. Remember, it's old wood frame construction so sound proofing between the floors is near non-existent.

I had just barely gotten to sleep when we were all three woke up by the bed springs of the bed closest to the balcony. Somebody was getting lucky. It would go for five minutes or so then it would stop for ten to fifteen minutes then they'd go at it again. We assume they were waiting for their kids to go back to sleep. Finally, I had enough and called the front desk again.....to no avail. It was the most miserable night of lodging we'd had in years.

The up side is the location (although there are several other hotels and motels within a block) is the beach. Like they say, location, location, location. It also had a nice clean pool and hot tub that was very inviting.

The way the hotel was built in sections, years apart, it makes getting from the front desk to your room very challenging (if it's what they call a courtyard view on the back side, in the C section of the hotel) and also trying to get to the pool was even more of a gauntlet. There isn't an outside entrance to the pool.....you have to go down a very long hall to the B section of the pool and on the first floor, which is on the second level up. Also, if you go to the second floor above the registration desk and walk the hall back to C section you're no longer on the second floor.....you're now on the first floor and have to take another elevator up to the second floor of section C part of the building.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not getting a courtyard view room.....get a real ocean view on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCZhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the mix-up in your Best Western Rewards reservation. Please call me directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us. You can reach me at 650-355-6300. Thank you. Marty GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our room was nice, everything listed for our room was in the room.
The other guests around us were quite, The bed was okay, we will stay here again.The room was ready on time.

Now the not so good part, The attached restaurant leaves much to be demanded, poor service, rude service, twice in my life have I ever gotten up and walked out of a restaurant this was the second time !, I will never spend a penny in this overrated under preforming want to be restaurant, i have no problems saying this because I know the restaurant management nor the service help cares.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unfortunately We could not stay at this property. We had an emergency situation (family death) come up and we were not able to stay. We had a reservation with a no cancellation policy with our reservation. I called up to the front desk and asked if we were able to cancel the reservation and the Front desk agent named Jessica canceled the reservations without asking any questions. Wow that is what I call customer service. Someone who can sense and respond to the needs of the customer. A very refreshing experience. So thank you Jessica and I hope that I can visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allinav96822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you have a San Francisco itinerary & want a beautiful ocean escape- THIS IS THE PLACE! Heading south from SF-go 280, then catch Highway 1 to Pacifica. "Rockaway Beach" is 20 minutes & a world away from CITY. Beautiful OCEAN VIEWS can be had (prices vary), but the walk on the beach is RIGHT THERE for free. Rooms are clean; beds are comfy, w/frig & coffee makers- You'll love pool area to relax. Staff is wonderful; Jessica, Amada, & Irene will make sure your needs are met- just ask. Yes, the hotel lay-out takes study, but covered FREE parking; coffee, newspaper, fruit offered in lobby, & superb dinner restaurant on-site, worth the effort. SAFE enclosed card entry halls good for female travelers. Also inexpensive exploring- even if just binoculars from your room! And we found great local Art studio, orchid nursery, fun small stores to shop, & Caboose BBQ lunch! We plan to make this a regular when visiting bay area because its such a beautiful change of scene after working. Its EZ travel back to SF (&Airport) now that we're familiar with route. Hope you can check out this BWestern as Manager Marty's hospitality efforts insure you'll be a return guest!

Room Tip: If its a special occasion- ask for Upper Floor with ocean view but less expensive rates available. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was your average Best Western but the location was amazing! Right on CA-1, a quick 15 minute drive to downtown San Francisco and right on the water. Also, close to a grocery store and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I figured the plus meant this Best Western was nicer than most. It was. Very good service and the area you are staying in can't be beat. Beautiful area. The one downside, and we were told this upfront, is that we would be staying in a room with a handicapped bath. We basically were flooding the bathroom with the first shower. By the second one we had made some adjustments but you still flood the bathroom. Appeared to be pretty standard by the drain in the middle of the bathroom. Still, would have preferred a regular room if I had my druthers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shebbie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.7 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
12.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing