We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down, but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I got very worried after reading bad reviews, after I had already booked this hotel for one week. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a double room which was huge, and the shower and jacuzzi tub were in great working order and very clean. The window had blackout curtains, which was essential as the parking lot outside is very brightly lit. The beds were very comfortable. The things that were run down were a very flimsy curtain rod, a loose ceiling tile in the bathroom which rattled every time the door opened, slightly ripped lamp shades and a very slow running sink drain. Breakfast is negligible; really just dry packaged pastries and tiny yoghurts. As pointed out in other reviews, the only security is the room door itself, as the door between the hallway and the outside was zip tied open, for some reason. It's definitely a pretty run down place, but the bottom line for me is comfortable beds, huge room and quiet surroundings, so I was able to sleep really well.

Room Tip: Non-ocean view rooms face an extremely brightly lit parking lot, so make sure the room has blackout...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Pacifica Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 293 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night because of the location. It's located directly across the street from the beach. Our hotel room was very dated. The air conditioner didn't work. Maintenance had to replace the knob on the air conditioner in order for it to work properly. The jacuzzi tub was an ugly blue color and we didn't even use it. The tv, desk & chair were dated. The sides of the bathroom vanity was made out of plywood. The shower stall was so small that you could barely turn around in it. There was a large gap between our hotel door and the floor which allowed us to hear everything going on in the hallway. There was a sign on the fireplace that said it was temporarily out of order. The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the spectacular view of the beach from our room. I would not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Front Office Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello, and we are sorry that your stay with us was not better, We are in the process of updating our rooms, and revamping the entire hotel. We want all our guest to feel good about their stay and we do apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, excellent price, clean and comfortable rooms, super view, close to San Francisco. Literally booked online with smartphone minutes away as we drove north on hwy 1 and loved it so much we stayed a 2nd night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barleypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've stayed in three different rooms here in the past month. This hotel was chosen because it was conveniently located. The first night, it was cold in the room and we woke up shivering in the middle of the night because there is only a sheet and blanket on the bed. Yes, we could have called for more blankets but we didn't. The second time, I asked for blankets at check-in and it was fine.

There are rodent traps on the outside of the building but that didn't bother me. The doors to the hallways do seem to be open all the time. There are two women who worked the front desk at check in and check out. One of them definitely needs training in customer service and I thought it all three times I encountered her. The other one is very good. The rooms are OK, nothing special but there is a giant Jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room.

If you need to stay in the San Francisco area, this is one of the less expensive places to stay. It's very convenient to Daly City.

Room Tip: The hotel has a few rooms with 2 doubles and the rest seem to be king. I've only stayed on the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Everything is broken. It has a rat problem and there's RAT TRAPS full of DEAD RATS all over the grounds. The hotel is not secured, the door locks are broken, the security cameras are gone. Fireplace is broken. They told us all to expect a fire alarm test AND IT DIDN'T WORK?? The phones are broken. The place is barely staffed and you can get no help. The manager hides all day and won't help.

Beware: the front desk is occasionally staffed by a complete sociopath. I have never witnessed such a horrible verbal attack on a customer as I did when I checked in. It was a taller, younger girl with curly hair, who has a clear disdain for life. She is single handedly annihilating the already shaky reputation here.

As for the facility itself...NASTY. There are a few major problems that almost make you question whether the owners even want to own this place, or have owned hotels in the past. First off, the exterior is great and clearly redone. The landscaping, however, is an insurance claim waiting to happen. We are talking pathways made of of lumpy broken bricks. Someone fix that! Come on!?!? Broken bricks?

1. Only 3 pillows on a king size bed? Why? The towels are ancient and gross.

2. The sociopath at the front desk is costing this place more money in bad attitude than they will ever know and is somehow still employed.

3. The rooms aren't dark enough. There should be two curtains but what they did was only leave one and try to cover the door with it, and presumably use the other half in other rooms. So you have a big curtain rod, half a drape, and a bunch of light. THE BLINDS ARE RUSTED. Tetanus much? Gross.

4. Highlighting that "all room include free breakfast" should lead to something other than gas station continental breakfast. You gotta hike down to the front desk, grab you a smashed breakfast bun in a bag and some single serve cereal, then hike back up to your room. It's not even continental, its seriously like a gas station. The fridge is broken too.

5. phones are broken, red light flashes constantly.

6. Fire alarm system may or may not work.

7. Hotel guest buildings and hallways are insecure because the locks are all broken.

8. Security cameras have been removed. Dunno why.

9. Plumbing is terrible, clogs for no reason. There is literally one toilet plunger and you have to wait after the other guests are done plunging their toilets to use it.

10. This place is busted up and falling apart. All they did was PAINT OVER RUST and it's all just coming off again. Walls are busted, concrete is busted, facilities are busted, everything just doesn't work. Fireplace? Doesn't work.

11. There isn't enough parking even for paying customers. It's hit or miss. THEY TOLD ME JUST TO PARK IN HANDICAP!!! No thanks, that's immoral and illegal. Wow.

Avoid this place, it's a total trap and they completely misrepresent it. It's 1 1/2 star at best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pfullinwider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, General Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Pfullinwider,
We are so sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. Management is currently working with our maintenance and staff to address all these issues and improved not only our facilities and amenities, but also our customer services. We definitely appreciate letting us know what you thought and this will all go into improving our business further.

The hotel is working hard to reverse all the points you’ve presented and completely deliver on our promise. We hope you will give the hotel another visit in the future so that we can show you better facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this resort and planned on staying for 4 days. Thankfully I only booked it for one day, as I couldn't find the star rating.
I cannot express my relief at knowing we only had to stay in this dump for one night.
The check in girl was rude and sarcastic with us. We had planned on extending our stay before we saw the rooms. She argued with us over the web price compared to the Hotels price. There was a $40 difference per night. When I said I wanted to confirm the web price she replied "whatever" not only was this rude to talk to a stranger this way, but to guests was beyond acceptable.
We then checked into our ocean view room, it was ocean view. However we were unable to open the sliding doors due to the incredibly loud main highway right under our windows. The view looks great, it looks like you're on the beach. YOU'RE NOT!! There's a main hwy 1 that runs right beside the hotel, so you're unable to hear the waves at all over the noise of a freeway!
Then there was the door that didn't close properly and had to be slammed, it was off the hinges somewhat and made me extremely nervous. The hot tub in the middle of the room taking up the majority of space was ridiculous to put it mildly. There was the college dorm style bathroom, which was covered in black mould along the silicone. The bed spread was stained, as was the bed skirt With dark brown stains??!! The pillows were lumpy and smelled horrible, I slept without a pillow. Then there was the patio with no furniture, but a bright light that could not be shut off and lit up the bedroom, so you had to close the black out curtains. My husband unscrewed the light as we didn't want to miss the sunrise, and close the curtains. The breakfast was set up in the check in area, it was really a joke. Boxed cereal and packaged pastries that looked cheap and artificial. We ate elsewhere. This was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed at ever. I travel monthly for work and have stayed in some dumps, but this topped them all! This is more like a 1 star hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank skusderci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Pacifica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We would like to apologize about the issues you experienced. Some of the rooms may have better views than others. This is unavoidable as there are different angles of rooms. Having said that, Based on your comments, we’ll endeavor to make the rooms a quieter and more relaxing experience.

Maintenance is also an important aspect of our business that we would like to enhance to ensure that all our guests will have fresh white linens and fluffy pillows. We always change any old sheets and room materials when necessary. We hope to see you in your next visit and provide you our improved services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October,this hotel is right across the street from the beach.The views from the hotel are great as long as you have a ocean view room.Our room had a nice Jacuzzi tub in it and the rooms are very roomy.Parking was nice under a overhead carport.We ended up having to leave a day early because of inclement weather getting home,so they let us leave without charging us for a additional night,very accommodating. Would return here for sure!

Room Tip: There is some road from the ocean front rooms but that's not the hotels fault,still worth it for...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
6.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
940 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
12.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
573 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Beach Hotel

Address: 525 Crespi Dr, Pacifica, CA 94044-3423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range: $189 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacifica Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacifica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Beach Hotel Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing