We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great San Fran hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to HIE and Suites in Pacifica, CA. Great service and overall clean property. Although the carpet in room 211 needs to be replaced. If you want the Pacific Ocean without the crowds of San Francisco, this is the place. Walking trails and Rockaway Beach are just outside your door. Make sure to visit the shopes in the area around the hotel. Especailly the 'Grape in the Fog' restaurant and bar at the end of the street, Elizabeth will thake good care of you. Went spent 3 nights and have been very pleased with our stay. Breakfast was fast and easy with great attention to cleanliness. Always clearing tables and restocking the food. Menu changes daily. The beds were comfortable and bedding was clean. The AC (it was accually warm when we arrived) worked well, and we kept the fan running at night to drown out any unwanted noise. Although we never heard anything out of the ordinary. Very quiet in Pacifica. We loved it.

Room Tip: Just ask, they are very accomidating and knowledgble of their Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNtraveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

My family stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. We booked 2 rooms, one of them was a spacious 2-room suite since we have young kids, the other was a partial ocean view for my parents.

The 2-room suite came with a mini fridge, microwave and sink. The bedroom included a large jacuzzi tub which we took advantage of on both nights. The bathroom was a good size and had a shower stall with hot, hot water. The living room had a full-size sleeper sofa and a couple of small lounge chairs with an ottoman. A small table with 4 chairs was in front of the window. There was even a faux fireplace, I thought it was a oddly placed picture on the wall until my daughter figured out you could turn it on. When we did, it had "flames" in the frame and actually put out some heat. There was also a wraparound patio of sorts with table and chairs that was accessible from the bedroom and living room. The only unfortunate thing about the room was that it had no view whatsover - it faced the parking lot and the highway - so we didn't spend any time on the porch. We didn't notice much road and car noise at night and slept pretty soundly. I recommend not turning on the heat if you can help it, the heater was a bit loud.

The free breakfast was hot and decent - one morning was sausage, egg and cheese biscuits; the other was pancakes, bacon, potatoes and scrambled eggs. A mixed assortment of muffins, pastries, bagels and toast. 4 different kinds of cereal, plus oatmeal, boiled eggs, yogurt. Plenty of whole fruit. Coffee (with a lot of various creamers) and tea were available 24 hours. Fresh-baked cookies were put available at mid-morning.

The staff was very courteous and nice. I joined Priority Club with this reservation, and with that the girls received free snacks when we arrived and we were able to extend the checkout with no extra charge.

The hotel is just a block away from Rockaway Beach, behind the Seabreeze Motel and Nick's Seafood Restaurant. There's a walkway to the beach that hooks up to a paved trail. It goes a long way in both directions. Great for runners and walkers.

We picked Pacifica because we wanted to be between San Francisco and Half Moon Bay. It's only 20 minutes from the city, a very easy drive. And the hotel was a surprising gem in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mailmanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel located on the beach. Short drive to San Francisco. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean--bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good...and free. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with at least a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridagal34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn in Pacifica, CA. many times over the years for work and it has always be decent. The rooms and overall facility are good and the majority of staff are friendly and helpful. The location is just on the outskirts of Pacifica and a short drive to San Fransisco so its ideal for the person looking to visit the area without the expense and noise associated with the crowds.

They only have a few rooms with balconies and the third floor on the south or west have the views of the ocean. For the walkers, the walking paths are just outside the hotel and there is a beach a short walk from the property. There is a restaurant around the corner called Nicks, that serves great sea food including a great crab sandwich.

All in all. For a weekend get away or short business trip this property is worth considering as a place to rest your head.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean side balcony suite. It is a little more expensive but great if you want to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A bit far from SF but located smack on a scenic beach close to airport. Good service and breakfast. Reasonable price in a pricey region.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slw95756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in. It was the only one on a two week trip that actually feed a HDTV signal to the HDTV. The lighting was nice and bright, the new bath fixtures were easy to control, and the cabinet drawers slid nicely from the high-quality drawer guides. The only negatives I could come up with is the light switches were not intuitive (which fixtures they controlled), the mute button on the TV remote did not work, and they subsititued Tasty Os for Cheerios at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

First of all, the hotel is practically on Rockaway Beach- a small motel and its parking lot are the only things between you and the ocean. My husband and I had a king junior suite facing the ocean which was wonderful. You could hear the rush of the waves which is a fabulous perk for an insomniac like myself-- I slept like a baby all three nights of our stay. There is also an electric faux fireplace which was very soothing, even without the heating part on. So all in all, our room was amazing.

But that alone isn't enough for a 5 star rating of this hotel. The staff is FABULOUS! Very friendly, extremely attentive, and they have free cookies in the evening by the check-in desk! Perfect! Every morning started with their free breakfast (the eggs were not great, but their bagels and cinnamon rolls were fresh and tasty!) and ended our night with cookies and complimentary hot chocolate.

Lastly, since much of our trip was focused on San Francisco, this hotel is perfectly located. Far enough from the city to be quiet and scenic, but close enough that we could get home from the Phillies-Giants game at AT&T Park in about 20 minutes.

All in all, a great place if you are looking to spend a lot of time in your hotel (we didn't, but it would have been just lovely if we had), but equally lovely as a comfortable, relaxing home base for a city trip.

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms facing the ocean are by far the best view and best for a quiet atmosphere if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mousemousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
299 reviews
7.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
79 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica

Address: 519 Nick Gust Way, Pacifica, CA 94044-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range: $166 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Pacifica, CA is where your Northern California vacation or San Francisco Bay area business trip begins. Located minutes south of San Francisco off HWY-1 and next to the Pacific Ocean, we have beaches, ocean, sunsets, restaurants and public transportation within walking distance to meet your needs. We are conveniently located near the Daly City and Colma BART Stations and I-280 offering easy access to San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, Moscone Convention Center, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco State University (SFSU) & the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Within driving distances from Half Moon Bay, Napa Valley, Sausalito, Silicon Valley, Santa Cruz and Monterey you are never too far from a fun-filled family weekend. We offer deluxe accommodations in our oversized rooms with free high speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators and free weekday newspaper delivery. Relax in our premium suites featuring a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub & oceanviews. In the morning, enjoy our complimentary Express Start deluxe breakfast in our great room. Whether you are staying for business or leisure, it will be difficult to choose between relaxing in your spacious comfortable room or walking along the beach at sunset. Come and Stay Smart with us ~ have the ocean as your backyard and San Francisco as your play ground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pacifica
Holiday Inn Express Pacifica
Holiday Inn Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing