We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Playa Taqueria

La Playa Taqueria
Ranked #27 of 85 Restaurants in Pacifica
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The food here is great. Probably the best you can find this far north (outside of the mission). Great price and lovely service. My go to Mexican food spot, and it's right next to the beach!

Helpful?
Thank jenni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A weekly Must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been enjoying this place so much for the past 8 years. I'm local, and if asked where do you want to go eat, I almost always pick La Playa. The employees make me feel like family, the servings are Big, they always go the extra mile to make me feel welcome. I Love this place!!!!! Thursday can get Really Loud, seems to be the most popular night of the week. Ya, La Playa is a Good place :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay standard Mexican fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food is OK. I do like the fish tacos supreme a lot. Service can be surly. Been going here for 14+ years. It's where we go when we don't want to cook and it's conveniently located for us. But, they don't really extend themselves to be friendly and can be quite curt at times if you have any questions. Basic beans & rice sides. Nothing special.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here - move along ;-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Almost hate to provide a review since this is one of Pacifica's best kept secrets for the past few years. Alas, the secret must now be out since the nightly attendance is now getting out of hand. This is clearly a "Triple D" kind of place. Good drinks (you must try their Cadillac marguerita), an excellent selection of local draft beers, and some of the best Mexican food you will experience anywhere around San Francisco. Their chile verde is, hands down, the best I have ever had. Try it in the burrito and it will save you a few bucks over the dinner meal. The fish tacos are also perfectly prepared, day in - day out. We have never had better. Not all dishes are perfect, but it has been a weekly visit for us over the past few years, and we look forward to the friendly atmosphere, meeting old friends, and outstanding food and drink.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank roystotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fish taco supreme”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to the place twice and specifically came back for the fish taco supreme. It is delicious - served open faced and full of flavor. However, both times the service was very poor. The server behind the cash register was unfriendly. Might go back for that taco again, but they need to improve their service. We saw a couple stand in line to order and finally decide to leave because they were being ignored for so long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cajayhawk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Playa Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing