We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Pacific Grove”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We loved the Sunset Inn. We found it in the Lonely Planet Guide and it wasn't wrong. The room was spacious, newly refurbished and very comfortable with everything we needed. The hotel is two minutes walk from the ocean and a few minutes drive from the charming town of Pacific Grove. Ideally placed for exploring the area. Barbara, the host, was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Good breakfast of bagels, yoghurt and cereal, with great coffee. We only had two days there but didn't want to leave. Look out for the wild deer wandering round the hotel grounds, town and golf course! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 895 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

We decided to turn a cousins wedding into our mini honeymoon! I came across the Sunset Inn which had good reviews and decided to stay here. The Inn is very sweet and charming, The rooms are extremely clean and I loved the hardwood floors. The bathrooms were really nice too. Barbara is wonderfull She will answer any question and send you off to enjoy your day. She makes you feel like you are her own personal company by providing you with a nice clean place to stay and plenty of information about the perfect sights to see. The only slight negative is that the walls are super thin. Other than that it was just perfect! We are going back in Oct.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meliss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We were delighted when we arrived. It is in a very convenient location to downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and Fisherman's Wharf. It was also very close to the 17 mile scenic drive. We were given great service and special attention upon check-in. Our room was extremely clean, and the decor was modern and cozy. We had a fireplace in our room, as well as a flatpanel TV. The beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was very clean as well, although the towels were a little on the small side. Our rainshower was nice and spacious, although I would opt for a room with a tub next time. The only thing I was not completely happy about was the complimentary breakfast, which was lacking in options, but that just forced us to go out into town, where we found a delicious place to eat. Overall, I can't complain about anything.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpossehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Firslty - I would like to say a HUGE thank you to Barbara who upon arriving late after 10pm, confirmed that all local bars and restaurants would be closed but then proceeded to kindly allow us a bottle of wine from her own wine collection. What a star and just what we needed after a long drive in the rain from LA - thank you so much. Our only regret is that we couldn't replace it due to us running out of time and having to leg it to San Francisco quickly. The room was gorgeous and very spacious - didn't hear a peep and had such a good nights slepp - we were gutted we only had one night there. We fell in love with Monterey and with Sunset Inn and chose by fat the best accomodationin that area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzle3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Real nice place but room 118, as lovely as it was, stunk like mildew. You can hear everything going on in the room upstairs, for example someone coming home at midnight and taking a bath at 1am, etc. Otherwise, if all the other rooms are as nicely renovated, minus the smell and the noise, I'd recommend this hotel. Very lovely place and location.
The beds are very hard and hurt our hips. Didn't get much sleep during our two night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband took me on this great ~ Birthday weekend! I booked the Sunset Inn for just one night & we ended up staying two nights!! It was so comfy, relaxing, & down right homey!!! You're close to everything! The staff was Fantastic!!! We want to make it a yearly trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trkngrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Sunset Inn was like a little piece of Paradise! The room was so beautiful, so clean and so very well appointed, right down to the beautifully designed bathroom and luxurious amenities. I had to pull myself away from the room, constantly reminding myself that my reason for coming was to see the seaside and other sites! Barbara and all of the other staff members were wonderful, morning, noon, and night. Everything I needed, she made sure that I was able to find it or supplied it to me herself. (Who does that anymore?) The owner of Sunset Inn even stopped and talked, and made me feel like a special guest. I do plan to go back to Pacific Grove. You can believe that Sunset Inn will be the only place I plan to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwysgr8ful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $111 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing