We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveler rating
653
363
94
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
363
94
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain shower fire pit yogurt wood floors continental breakfast donuts mile drive jetted tub great place to stay room was clean and comfortable front office would definitely stay here again quiet area pebble beach asilomar state beach glass of wine road trip
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Sunset Inn while playing in a golf tournament at Poppy Hills. It was conveniently located in the wonderful city of Pacific Grove. The manager Rishi was very friendly and accommodating. It is not luxurious, but it has virtually everything that you will need. It was very quiet and the rooms were well appointed. It is a sensible place that exceeded my expectations on all levels. I underestimated this place and was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donald, It pleases us so much to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property! We strive to provide guests with the most comfortable accommodations and are always thrilled when we exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you next time!

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good hotel at good location. Close to the sea and not far from down town Pacific Grove. Richi the manager is highly professional, hospitable, and effective. He happily assisted my guest at 2 am and helped her with luggage carrying. Richi is great in every sense! Very grateful for his help.

Room Tip: Already provided at the time of checking out.
Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tour767929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback such as yours, and we greatly appreciate your comments. We hope that your travels will take you here again and that we have another opportunity to host you.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pacific Grove must be one of California's hidden gems with unbeatable views over the ocean. Sunset Inn is a motel with accommodation more in the style of country cottages. Perfect and peaceful. Well located near the beach and sufficient space for cars and for those with bikes. The owner gave us the warmest of welcomes and seemed genuinely pleased to have us stay. Rooms and facilities were perfectly clean and well presented. A very small breakfast area is located in the reception office, but adequate nevertheless

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is wonderful to hear that Pacific Grove considered a "hidden gem", and were delighted to host you on your recent stay here. Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip plans called for a visit to the Monterey area, and we chose to stay at the Sunset Inn. We love the rooms, location and evening fire pit conversations with fellow travelers. Property is close enough to everything you'd want to do in the area, but away from the hustle and bustle. On this trip, we discovered a great restaurant in downtown Pacific Grove and will spend a full afternoon in that area during our next visit.

Room Tip: We like upstairs rooms, as we keep the windows open to hear the ocean all night.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,

We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating, thank you very much. We are happy to have satisfied you so well, and we hope to remain your hotel of choice here for future visits.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit to the Sunset Inn, but won't be our last. We love the location, friendliness of the staff, and the well-appointed rooms. Evening "wine time" around the fire pit is a great time to meet fellow travelers and compare notes.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs if available, as we like to leave our windows open to hear the ocean!
Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,

Many thanks for your positive rating – we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our property so much. We hope to host you again successfully in the near future.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews