We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveler rating
706
384
95
37
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
384
95
37
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit rain shower wood floors yogurt donuts continental breakfast pacific grove golf course short walk mile drive jetted tub great place to stay quiet area monterey area front office would definitely stay here again glass of wine pebble beach
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2015

This hotel is better than it looks in the photos. The rooms are spacious, affordable, the beds are extremely comfortable and it has a very relaxed atmosphere.
There is a continental breakfast included which is basic, but nice.
Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.
Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Hi sisabell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review and for staying at the Sunset Inn. We really appreciate it! I am so glad you noticed all of the recent updating we have completed, including the brand new pillow top mattresses with new linens and pillows. I hope your holidays are wonderful and that we get a chance to see you again during your next trip to the peninsula :)

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

Can't ask for more than what they have and do for you. My favorite spot period. Can't wait to go back!! Close to everything and is comfortable and homie the people are delightful and the owner takes pride in it and it shows

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roberthP295EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Hi roberthP295EY,

Wow, thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review for us. We really appreciate it! I am so glad you noticed all of the great improvements the property offers and the service provided by the staff. They work really hard to try and make sure everyone has a good stay at the Sunset Inn. I hope your holidays are the best and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Peninsula :)

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

We stay here when visiting the Monterey Penninsula. It is off on the quiet end of Pacific Grove. SI is a small, well run, clean, well appointed motor INN. Prices are reasonable in all seasons. Again, that said, the hubbub of Downtown Monterey is a little drive away. Try a stay at the SI, and enjoy all this area has to offer.

Room tip: SI is in a very quiet part of Pacific Grove.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Hi Dave N,

Thank you so much for the great review and for staying at the Sunset Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us. I see you enjoyed our peaceful location only a block from the ocean, but near all of the best things to do on the peninsula. I hope your holidays are wonderful and we get to see you again the next time you travel to the area :)

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015

The location is divine. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Close to downtown Pacific Grove and the beach. Refreshments was available both at night and in the morning. I strongly recommend this beautiful inn.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank boothism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Hi Boothism,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review! We really appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoyed both our location near the ocean and your stay at the Sunset Inn. I hope we get a chance to see you again during your next trip to the Monterey Peninsula! Happy Holidays :)

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

The area and the Inn were very
Secluded and quiet. Close to the ocean, great restaurants and great for walking or just watching the waves. We met the owners and would definitely
return for another stay in the future.

Room tip: Need to put non-slip mat or stick ons in the bathtub!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank namcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Hi Namcut,

Thank you for taking the time to write a good review for us. We really appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and it was so nice to meet you. I we hope we get a chance to see you again during your next trip to the area. Happy Holidays :)

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews