We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Friendly staff”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, SC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place, Friendly staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very quiet. This is a hidden gem. The bed was perfect, the room clean and the location was great. Shopping and some excellent restaurants were within a very short drive. We had breakfast at Denny's and it took all of 10 minutes to get there. We also had supper at a Mexican Restaurant along Cannery Row and it was very, very good. This place would be perfect for Honeymooners or older couples looking for a nice quiet place to relax. We stayed here while visiting the area. My daughter thought it looked quaint so we decided to try it. We rented 2 rooms and they were both excellent. Barbara at the front desk was really nice. The rooms were clean and the rooms were big. The bathrooms need a ventilation system to pull the steam out of the room after stepping into the overhead shower. Loved the shower. It was like a rainstorm since it was directly overhead. There is no Air Conditioning but we didn't need any. An overhead fan would really be all that is needed to keep cool since the climate is usually cooler.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald29316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    275
    83
    29
    20
See reviews for
115
502
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
imadork
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good location (block from beautiful ocean), and we got a good price. The room was cute, we had a fireplace (not needed in summer though), and a comfy bed. Upon first look, the bathroom was nice as well, and tiled beautifully. We had the handicapped room, although are not in need of it, but that was not a problem. However, at night our warm was stuffy and when we went to turn on the air conditioner switch, we realized it didn't actually work because there was no ac vents and no ac in the room. Well, that would be fine if there was a fan, but there wasn't, so even with the shutters open, it was pretty stuffy. Also, the walls are thin which means you can hear your neighbors using the restroom. Finally, the shower got water all over the floor because it was the same floor as the rest of the bathroom (not sure if this is only in handicapped room). However, the biggest problem was the shower heads (there were two), but they were absolutely disgusting..green gook, white good..obviously not cleaned in forever, and mold on the baseboards of the shower. The accesories in the restroom were not cleaned at all. It was gross. However, for the price we paid, and since the room itself was clean, I will still give 3 stars, but please up the cleaning practices, and make it more apparent in advertising that there is NOT air conditioning, which is pretty much assumed in the U.S.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The was the third motel/hotel in which I've stayed along Asilomar Blvd, during assorted trips to wonderful Pacific Grove.

I love staying in PG, compared to much busier Monterey. I highly recommend this particular area across from Asilomar Beach if you want a quiet location where you can stroll to the coastline for ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Sunset Inn is at the northern end of the street, across from the Point Pinos Lighthouse. From here, it is a fantastic walk in any direction.

The hotel itself is typical of those in this area-- clearly a remodeled motel, with varying degrees of successes along this row of accommodations. At Sunset inn, plantation shuttered windows and hardwood laminate floors area lovely touch. We had the front upstairs room, with a large comfortable bed, chaise longue, fireplace, and large screen TV. We had trouble with TV channels, but no big deal, as we rarely watch it. Unlike other reviewers, we didn't find the room or location be noisy at all, as few cars go along that section of the narrow road. We were warned by the receptionist that we'd hear noise from the office in the morning, but that never occurred.

The room was clean, but the shutters in need of dusting.

Tim in the front office is quite knowledgeable of local restaurants. Ask his advice, and let him know if you want the "local" favs, or the tourist places. Drive or walk to the nearby area of Lighthouse Ave, not far from the hotel, for restaurants in quaint buildings. Barbara, who is there in the morning, was helpful at resolving a billing issue. NOTE: keep your eye on your credit card bill's "pending" charges" because, in addition to being charged for the actual room, it took a full ten days to have the pending charge removed. This is unusually long, and after being told it would be off in three days, only to find it a week later, I had to call her again to intervene.

Breakfast: There's coffee available in the morning. I rarely eat breakfast, so it didn't matter, but was surprised there wasnt a bit more out, even just a few yogurts. For breakfast or other meals, a couple minutes walking distance and across from the cemetery, is Point Pinos Grill, but we didn't eat there. A short drive away, there's a bagel place on Forest Avenue.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room in the front, above the office. It was very quiet, and from one window, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Older hotel, we could not open the window due to not screen on the window. The room is tiny and some rooms have conjoined steps leading to being able to hear other guests. Great location in the middle of Carmel and Monterey.

Room Tip: Don't get a room which shares a staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Sunset Inn is inexpensive (for Monterey/Pacific Grove) basic lodging for folks who want a great location, but don't care about amenities. Some rooms have phones, some don't; some have hairdryers, some don't. Regular coffee is available in the rooms, but not decaf. The rooms are clean, well decorated and the beds are comfortable. There is a lovely little patio at the front that is perfect for afternoon wine/tea (BYOB). The area is quiet and the beach is a short (5 min) walk away.

Room Tip: There are upstairs and downstairs rooms. None are really handicapped accessible.. all seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Sunset Inn only for one night. The rooms were large and well furnished. The fireplace made it feel very cosy. Although we had the first room by the entrance, we were told, it's very quiet at night, which it truly was.
A couple of nags - the fridge was very noisy during the night, so we eventually had to unplug it, to sleep.
As the houses are wood, one can quite clearly hear the neighbours and in our case, we had a couple that kept arguing, so the stay was a bit uncomfortable due to that. Otherwise, very serene setting with walks nearby to the beach and light house. For a stop over I would recommend it for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay during our three nights. The room was very quaint, cozy and clean. It was also very romantic. The only problem we had was that the fireplace didn't work in our room which was a bit disappointing.
We loved the location. It's a short walk from the water and rocky beautiful coastline. We even walked to it one morning to watch the sun come up.
Apparently, it bothers some people that there isn't a breakfast included but not us. There are plenty of wonderful places to grab breakfast a short drive away.
Overall, we had a wonderful time and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloakofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing