We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way better than anything around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
h2ofosho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way better than anything around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

I have to come to this area every year for conferences at Asilomar and have stayed at most of the places around here. I had even stayed here before it was remodeled and it was terrible. But the new sunset Inn is by far the best Inn in the area. The rooms are beautiful and really high end. They have huge wall mounted tvs, comfortable beds and amazing bathrooms. Even though it was above what I usually pay in the area, it was totally worth it. Before, I would only stay in this area when I was forced to. Not anymore! Now I have a place to go with my wife for a vacation. Way to go Sunset Inn and thank you!!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful, Clean Rooms!
  • Disliked — wireless Internet didn't reach my room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank h2ofosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    248
    80
    27
    20
See reviews for
89
461
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KANSAS CITY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Best place we have stayed at in the area. Close to the ocean and resteraunts, nicely remodeled, helpful staff and very clean. It was the same price as other very dirty propreties. Loved the shower and the flat screen TV. Beds were so comfy we did not want to leave.

  • Liked — new furnishings
  • Disliked — no microwave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KCTRAVELKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Sunset Inn for a conference my husband attended at Asilomar. Our room was incredible with a jacuzzi, fireplace, plasma TV, and the bed was the most comfortable ever! The room was lovely and very clean, and it was kept that way each day by the cleaning staff including daily fancy towel arrangements - just iike a on a cruiseship! Barbara in the front office was so very helpful in helping me plan activities. Deer visited the area in the evenings and we were within a minute of the golf course and the ocean. We had a wonderful stay and we plan on coming back again and again.

  • Liked — the room and the location
  • Disliked — iinternet connection not the best but looks like they are working on that
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ceeveejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was our fifth time coming to Monterey from the Bay Area and the Sunset Inn was the best hotel experience yet. My wife and I stayed here to have a more intimate experience (rather than the larger chain hotels) and it was totally worth it. The room we stayed in was obviously new and the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen in a hotel. The location is perfect, it's an easy walk to the beach and a quick drive into the center of Monterey. Next time we come down I will book a tee time because the golf course is really close by too.
The staff was really nice, they made a dinner reservation for us at our favorite restaurant, Tarpy's, and when my wife asked for extra towels, they were brought to us within minutes. While chatting over a great cup of joe in the morning, the receptionist told us the hotel is under new management and is almost done being remodeled. I was a little hesitant when booking given the reviews from a couple months ago, but we were here 3 days and didn't hear any construction.
Basically, my wife has decreed that we are staying here from now on...

  • Liked — Bathroom, Bed
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JBKahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon in California. While we spent most of our time in San Francisco and Napa Valley, we were able to spend one night at the Sunset Inn as we were returning from a visit to Hearst Castle. We did not have reservations but were able to secure a room with a spa, fireplace, and very comfortable amenities. The staff was accommodating, the continental breakfast very tasty, and the location and quiet were great. I think the workmen who were refurbishing other cottages waited until we were up and about before beginning the noisy activities. Close to everything--17 mile Drive, fisherman's wharf, aquarium, etc The hotel manager recommended the Fishwife restaurant about a mile away--dinner was positively great. My wife and I are still talking about the night we spent at the Sunset Inn--and we spent 5 nights in San Francisco in a smaller room that was more expensive. You will never regret staying here.

  • Liked — Quiet, yet close to everything. Great amenities
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Visited Monterey for a short weekend trip and decided to give this hotel a try. We were NOT disappointed! They've recently remodeled and we got the opportunity to stay in a new room. Simply amazing! Such a refreshing change from other hotels that we've stayed in. We also appreciated the quiet peacefulness of the property. The staff was helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. On our next trip to Monterey, we'll definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nothing - everything great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dred_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

There were plenty of available hotels in the area, but we chose the Sunset Inn as the room description had a spa-tub listed. Just as we were about to leave on our trip, we recieved a phone call that this room was not available and we had booked it just as the listing was going to be changed and we were credited $10!!! and given a down-graded room.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed by the unpleasant staff at the reception desk that if we didn't like it we could go elsewhere (it was late afternoon). No apolgies offered no attempt to right the situation. The room we were given was basic. No coffee/tea maker in the room, lights out in the bathroom and what is described as a "rain -shower" is pitiful. A generic shower head in a stall that is indeed "big enough for 2" but you will freeze your butt off.
A continental breakfast was offered but the coffee served was so foul it could strip paint.
On the plus side, it was clean.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JLL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetInnPG, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2008
We would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory visit to Sunset Inn. The reservation was booked through Expedia and therefore they were the ones that contacted the guest at an inconvenient time. We take pride in our new rooms and this particular guest never complained about a light bulb being out to the manager. Coffee makers are available upon request but no request was ever made. Furthermore this guest was upgraded from an older room with a spa tub to a newly remodeled room w/o tub and received a $10 credit. The guest was also told by the manager a further $10 credit could be given but the guest seemed dissatisfied from the beginning. We tried everything to make the trip a pleasurable one for the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing