We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Less for More” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less for More”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This must have been our fifth stay at the Inn. This weekend (March 15 & 16, 2013) we paid $175 a night. The little breakfast they used to serve has been discontinued. Sunday morning 7:15 a.m. office closed - no coffee and juice available. Tiny little piece of soap on sink (no bath soap). Noisy refrigerator and heater in room. Broken bathroom window. Difficult to operate shower mixing valve. We're getting far less for more money during this stay. Our last at this property, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Plenty of options elsewhere in the Monterey area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricandSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for response.
Rates are always subject to change and do so based on supply / demand, high season / low season / special event and/or conferences . There is always a chance that you may have stayed with us at a lower rate but paid more on a subsequent stay due to the above mentioned.
Please do not let that deter you from booking again in the future just check our website or give us a call for the best possible rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    239
    77
    27
    18
See reviews for
84
450
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved our overnight stay at this lovely little cottage style inn. We enjoyed the private jacuzzi tub, fireplace, HD TV and charming over-all atmosphere. The proprietor was very helpful when recommending places to eat and things to do while in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a Jacuzzi tub, they are very nice with good working jets and the water from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Inn late lastyear. When we went to take a shower there was a used bar of soap caked with hair, used shampoo bottles, and a dirty washcloth in the shower. We cleaned up the mess and let Barbara in the office know. She was very apologetic and said she would apply a credit to our account. Unfortunately, all talk - no action. The credit never appeared, even after several emails to her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katalisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights here during a trip to the US, so we could explore the Monterey area.
Sunset Inn is a nicely up-dated motel (so ignore the older poor reviews - everything has changed) in a lovely location, and a short walk from the Monarch Butterfly Grove, which was one of our must-sees.
Our room was a king with fireplace and shower, lovely and warm and comfortable, and the pillows and coffee merit special mention! decor is attractive and the rooms are kept really clean. We slept really well and were delighted to be pointed towards the nearby Golf Club for breakfast, with good food and service and views towards the sea where we watched whales spouting as we ate! We liked it so much we went there every day. went there every day.
Barbara, the manager is magnificent, with a lovely dry sense of humour. Sara who works with her is charming and the pair of them are so knowledgeable and helpful I can't imagine them being at a loss with any guest's queries, and not just where to eat to what to see.
Stay here, you won't regret it, you'll just relax and enjoy yourselves and be glad you chose the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triskele27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, spoke to a gentlemen and he got us in immediately, gave us advice on what to do while in town and it was a small walk to the ocean. The room was a bit small, but cozy when we first checked in, but we loved the windows and setting. We decided to stay another night so we called to the office and spoke to Sarah. She then surprised us by saying that since they weren't very full, that she would love to upgrade us to a king suite with a fireplace, no extra hidden charges or anything. We moved rooms immediately and she was absolutely wonderful! We then got a knock on our door and it was one of their maids bringing us our phone chargers, headset, car keys and even our bag of pistachios! We plan on staying here the rest of the week and wee couldn't ask for a better, cozy, more accommodating hotel, especially for the money!! Highly recommend it, don't bother going anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Ask for a King suite with a fireplace!! YOU WILL DIE!! There is a room in particular, Room 108 that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great little hotel. Just down the street from Asilomar - easy walk to the shore. Easy access to Pacific Grove main street and a few minutes to Carmel. Our room had a fireplace - very nice. Also refrigerator and 4 cup coffee pot - not those one cup things you usually see. Only one detriment was the thin wall between our room and the next. We could hear everything (and I mean everything) that went on. Fortunately, everyone went to bed at a reasonable time. Room was super clean and people very nice. Even with the thin walls - love this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter - ask when booking if this is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdgirl_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sunset Inn is a great place to get away. The room was cozy, warm, relaxing. We had a spacious room with king, jacuzzi, fireplace, coffee pot with good coffee, and a sizable refrigerator. There is a microwave in the lobby, if needed. Everything is situated just right. The decor is rustic and comfortable earth tones, very inviting. The bed was comfortable but especially the pillows which we plan to find out where to purchase. The inn sits about a mile down the road from the more crowded Asilomar State Park lodging entrance. It even has a long cobblestone driveway which is really a nice touch. The Innkeeper, Barbara, is very friendly and accommodating and offers h'ors deuvres and wine at the 5 o'clock hour. You can walk to the beach in 10 mins. or less, but be sure to ask Barbara what kind of wildlife is out and about so you'll be prepared. Also, at the beginning of the street about a mile and a half is the great Fishwife Restaurant. The web site photos are true to form. We plan to be frequent visitors to Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing