We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
“Terrific place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place turned out to be so much better than what I expected. Great price, great location. My room was spacious and the jetted tub was terrific. I agree with some of the other reviews, this is a great place for couples rather than families. I am definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I wanted to like this hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, but the walls were very thin. By very thin I mean I was woken up in the middle of the night by someone snoring in the next room. The next morning I could clearly hear a couple talking. They sounded like nice people, but at 6 am I was not happy to be listening in. I live in a city and am used to ambient noise, but this was over the the line of poor construction and insulation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel had a great location, close to the beach and within 10 minute of the attractions in Monterey. I was pleasantly surprised with our hotel room! Our room was decorated nicely and the bed was very comfortable! Only problem is that our shower kept leaking water after we used it, and the cleaning lady left a dirty gross towel in our bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mufflers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in a King size room at the end of one of the buildings with a lovely fireplace that did help keep the room warm and provided lovely ambiance. We were at a conference at Asilomar on our wedding anniversary weekend so we wanted a comfortable spot for the evenings. Sunset Inn was just what we needed for a good price in Pacific Grove. Not too far from the many great restaurants in town & walking distance to the beach & lighthouse. Never got to use the jacuzzi tub - maybe next time!

Room Tip: End room was nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tervfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really loved the feel of this place; it is quaint, charming, and our room was very spacious. We were only there for one night, but I would definitely like to come stay again and get a room with the jacuzzi tub. The rain shower was nice, but not as nice as a jacuzzi would be. Plus the bed was huge and really, really comfortable. A few other plusses are the fireplace, a nice tv, and great staff.

It is just a short walk from the beach that has a lot of walking trails. I kind of like that it is secluded from the tourist spots, but just know you will have to drive or bike to get anywhere, such as restaurants and tourist attractions. I think this is definitely most suited for couples, not really a family place.

Room Tip: Go for the jacuzzi tub rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Because of the great rate we didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! Within walking distance to the beach and tidepools. We stayed in a Queen Room with Fireplace and it was VERY small but nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sunset Inn in Pacific Grove is a quite hidden inn in Monterey. Beautifully decorated rooms, quiet location, yet near to the Aquarium (by car). Sunset Inn is very close to the water front. Fireplace was great to have. Breakfast in truly continental with no hot entree. We went out to breakfast, but the stay was lovely.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an inexpensive yet nice in stay in Monterey, Sunset Inn is a perfect fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winelover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Lodge
Sea Breeze Lodge
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing