We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sea Breeze Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
Los Angeles
1 review
“Loved the Sea Breeze Inn!”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I am a very picky, frequent traveler and have stayed in many 5-star hotels all over the US and in Europe. I stayed at Sea Breeze Inn in one of the cottages for several months while relocating to the area and looking for a house. The exterior is modest, the interiors are newly redone in excellent taste, the cottage was immaculate and quiet [I was at the back of the property] The area is very quiet but in an excellent location. The gorgeous Monterey Coast is within a few blocks as is a beautiful municipal golf course. The coast is breathtaking, and you are in the forest and when out walking see lots of deer. You are near the Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row [note: off-price brand name outlets], the 17-mile drive through Pebble Beach and over to Carmel. And Asilomar Natl' Park [very interesting] and Asilomar Conference Center.

You are also blocks from quaint and historic downtown Pacific Grove with all the ammenities closeby like Post Offices/movies/cleaners/laundrymat/excellent restaurants. But the Inn itself is very quiet and there is WiFi and a very nice Continental Breakfast. The staff is excellent and friendly. I would definitely stay here again...the monthly winter rate and location makes this an excellent place for snowbirds, too.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank reearchwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    166
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
133
158
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

This review is for The Sea Breeze Inn on Monterey Bay, CA . The price we paid was around $135 per night for a room with two queen beds. The room was itself OK, nothing extraordinary. The bath, though, is a serious problem. The faucet had definitely no place to put your soap, contact case, etc. at all. Really, absolutely no space! There was hardly any space to fit in your hands in the sink either. The shower was old and the flooring seemed dirty. The toilet was below standard size, which could cause trouble for big guys. The lighting of the room was insufficient. The people in the front desk were very helpful and there was an OK breakfast. But thats basically all this hotel can offer. I would probably look for some place else to stay if I visited Monterey once again, which I doubt.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gezgin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Well --- we stayed in one of the Sea Breeze cottages... it was cute, it was small, it was quiet... nearest neighbors were about 20+ feet away. For a honeymoon that part was very nice - no noise, no worries, no yelling kids... however.... the cottage from the outside looked like a converted 12'x20' storage shed or garage. (that's how they are detatched from others). The bed was comfortable but the bathroom only had a shower. That was fine, just wasn't what I'd thought from a 'hotel'/cottage. The heater worked good, which was great because it was november and rainy. The room had just linoleum - no carpets. that was a little odd. Not even a throw rug. They did add a fridge and microwave for us, but we had to request it. For the price, it was over rated. But for the quiet and not sharing walls with a neighbor it was nice. Just don't expect anything fancy ... at all.

  • Liked — detatched cottage
  • Disliked — looked like a converted storage shed, not even a full bath or throw rugs
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VC135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I figured since we were staying in a queen cottage it would be quiet. Not the case. Even with the windows closed, we could still hear the constant chatter from the housekeepers (from across the parking lot)! Our neighbor in the next door cottage was in and out of his vehicle all night long and everytime he shut the door of his truck it shook the wall and headboard (and my husband and I). The room had a weird smell (like soggy cornflakes mixed with chlorine). The room had no carpet, the beds were uncomfortable with a very thin and old blanket. There is no tub, just a generic looking shower with very low shower head. The towels were very rough and they didn't provide many. The TV set was an older model and seemed very far from the bed. The continental breakfast consisted of muffins cut in half and was very crowded in their small office. On the upside, the man working in the front office was very polite!

  • Liked — Parking
  • Disliked — Noise, floors, no aircondioner, next to loud residential area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We too stayed in room 120 which is on the ground floor - one of only a couple of two storey buildings. Avoid this one if you can as we had a lot of noise from above. Otherwise it was fine. The room was a reasonable size and clean. Breakfast is very basic, but it's free.

In spite of this, I would still recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from above
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hockeybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Our room, number 120, was beneath a 2nd level with ceiling noise continuously until 10pm and beginning at 6:30am. It was people walking up the stairs, down the corridor and into thier rooms with the slamming o f doors.
Slept terribly.
Never again

Helpful?
1 Thank johnjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Very, very cute cottage in a quiet neighborhood. We had 2 queen beds in one room for our 4 kids. Then a walk thru mini kitchenette to the other bedroom with a double. The beds and furniture were tight, but the room was decorated very nicely and super clean. We had 6 people in the cottage (4 were kids) and it as OK. Didn't spend too much time there -- just returned late in the evening.

The breakfast is across the street and is sparse. We went into pacific grove the 2nd morning for breakfast at Toasties. Nice cafe. The hotel breakfast is take out, mostly muffins and bagels, and our cottage was a little cramped for 6 people to eat at the coffee table. But that is my only complaint. The place is kept super clean and the room was really nice.

I thought for the Monterey area, the price was decent for accomodations for 6. It is often hard for us to find places where we can all be together, so I appreciated the cottage with all kids and adults together. We always have a blast on our family vacations, and like to be in close proximity to each other.

Cozy and cute, but it you like lots of elbow space, this place may feel too small.

  • Liked — cottage was decorated in French provincial style - very cute
  • Disliked — breakfast a bit skimpy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripletmomohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
748 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

Property: Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
Address: 1100 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2362
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Inn And Cottages
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing