We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1100 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at Sea Breeze. Let me start with the positive....great location and the bed was comfortable! The area is very quiet and close to the beach and lighthouse. We were so excited for our vacation and were very disappointed when I opened the door to our room....actually when I got out of the car. The walkway outside our room smelled like cat urine and the smells continued when I opened the door...the room smelled like mold/mildew. We had no cable on our last day of our stay. The parking lot is very small and I nearly hit two vehicles trying to maneuver through to get to my parking spot. The walls are very thin and we could hear the neighbors television and everything else. Free breakfast consists of a cup of coffee and a muffin. Now that I know better, I will not be staying here again. This is my second trip to the area and we saw many other places that would have been a better option.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages instead of a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newhome2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    156
    77
    28
    21
See reviews for
122
146
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Sea Breeze Inn in Pacific Grove. We love going to the Monterey area and have stayed in Seaside, Monterey, Santa Cruz and now Pacific Grove. We got a good price through an online site that listed it as a 3-star. We consider it a 2-star and were happy with the hotel at that rating. Staff were very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Towels small and thin; "breakfast" just Costco muffins, oatmeal packets, coffee, tea and OJ; walls thin; good microwave and small frig. There was a wonderful sea breeze and the windows open to let it in at night. We stayed on the 'office side' which is opposite of the pool side which is actually across the street but we weren't interested in the pool. We loved the close proximity to the ocean and the cute P.Grove shops.
If we returned to this hotel we'd try one of the bungalos (cottages). They looked really cute and we heard a patron giving them a great thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the pool often, choose a room on the 'pool side' (although I read that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a medium sized conveniently located between Inn Montarey and Carmel in the area of Pacific Grove. Very nice, quiet and near the shoreline. The serve a modest limited breakfast in the morning. The rooms are clean, very comfortable beds and quiet. They have a really cool fireplace outside people sit around and roast marshmallows. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krikor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This isn't a fancy place but nice, quaint, quiet and clean. The front desk folks were very friendly. The location is in a quiet neighborhood setting. The bathrooms are clean but very small. The view out the window is nothing but wasn't in the room very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darthvayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln,CA
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First, I'd like to say that the good out-weighed the bad, so I consider that a great stay! We traveled with 2 17 yr-olds, who were looking for adventures and found them. This meant that they slept more during the day. While asleep late one morning, a man with a clipboard walked into the room, without knocking and said that he needed to check the color of the microwave. Ridiculous and unwarranted to EVER come into a hotel room during a guest's stay.

That said, the beds were comfortable, the help was friendly, the rooms were clean and the kids enjoyed the fire pit. The continental breakfast was sparse, but worked.

We also had some LOUD neighbors, with little kids playing and running around their room at 1:30 am. They quieted when my husband told them they were keeping us awake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partyof6Lincoln_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a good experience here. We booked the cabin with 2 queens and it had a small kitchen area where we were able to cook out breakfast and evening meals, thanks to Trader Joe's shopping trip near by. It does not come with any cooking items like salt/pepper, etc. so be prepared to get your own. It came with a gas fireplace inside too which was great since it was rather chilly. Room was clean and efficient even though rather small. There are lots of decorations that take up valuable space for visitors use but we just moved them. The hotel breakfast was just big cold muffins cut in half and coffee so we skipped that. Easy walk to the ocean if you want or a very short drive. We would definitely stay here again and request a cabin.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with the kitchen if you want extra room, quieter building, and comforts of being abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Italylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was lucky enough to get a winning bid for Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages on price line. The property was really quaint and exactly what I was looking for. The location was perfect, just blocks from the ocean. Also close to miles of coastline perfect for sunset watching. My room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. I very pleased! It had plenty of room, a microwave, mini fridge, modern fixtures. The staff were fantastic. Super friendly and welcoming. When I stopped in the next day to ask a question they remembered my name, nice touch! I highly recommend the Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages. I will be a returning customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

Property: Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
Address: 1100 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Inn And Cottages
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing