We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Pavel's Backerei

Pavel's Backerei
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Love the breakfast treats and the sheperder's bread is the best I've ever had! My kids love the donuts the size of your head!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    29
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bakery ever!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in PG at a B&B. The offerings of Pavel's were so great, we skipped breakfast at the Inn twice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Huge pastries!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The pastries here were amazingly huge. We went 3 different times over the course of our stay in Pacific Grove. Even with the large size of the pastries, they were surprisingly light. The donut was especially tasty and not as filling as many other pastries I have had. My kids really enjoyed it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarisseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best peach danishes EVER!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had some friends and family visiting so we picked out an assortment of items which were all delectable. Each of us got to taste a little of everything and the peach danish was the last thing that everyone saved for last thinking it would be an ordinary danish. To our surprise it was the most amazing peach danish EVER! Every single one of us made a face of delight as soon as we bit into it. The moral to the story is, don't every expect ordinary at Pavel's!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible edibles!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

OMG! Really to die for baked goods. From breads to pastries to donuts. It's a small place with plenty of varieties to choose from but they have limited quantities of what they are selling. So get there early by 8:00am for the best selection and buy more than you will want because everything is so good. I wanted one of everything and I should have done so, no kidding! Closed on Sundays & Mondays, cash only. Run don't walk to this bakery!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fab61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavel's Backerei also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Pavel's Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing