We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavel's Backerei

Pavel's Backerei
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It was tough to decide what to choose! It all looked so good. Unanimously, we thought the chocolate croissant was the winner! Nice staff too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    28
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Popular Pacific Grove Baker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Handsome breads, croissants, etc. My palate was not overly impressed by wonderful to behold whole grain seeded bread or the gigantic croissant. Good croissant, rather too soft and average flavor bread. The popularity of the place probably suggests my taste buds are dying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rpmcestmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“delicious pastries and bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We tried several of their Danish and some sourdough bread. It was all very tasty and still warm when we got it. Will definitely return to try more of their treats on our next trip. This looks like a small family operation, the people are very pleasant and the atmosphere is comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Gourmet Bakery - Cash Only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wow! Fantastic quality! Not a large selection, but the 2 counters are packed with the hugest, most gorgeous pieces of bread and pastries I've ever seen, and a couple of premade sandwich options. Coffee and drinks are available, and a couple of tables for sitting down. Cash only at check-out, so come prepared. It's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kermitthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was told to check out this bakery as it had the best baked goods around. It was great, however, the bakery only takes cash. I had no clue and had to scrounge in my car for ten dollars. Yes, I am one of those people who never has cash. It would have been nice if I could have had my cinnamon roll warmed up, as I had to eat on the run.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisanc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavel's Backerei also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Pavel's Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing