We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monarch Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I tried this motel for the first time as we visit Pacific Grove two or three times a year. It is an older place that had been renovated to some degree. The staff was welcoming and pleasant. The room was average but was clean and orderly. I was impressed by the bath towels that were Real towels not the usual "motel quality" thin pieces of cloth. Maid service was very good. The price for the room was great. The only real negative we experienced was a ceiling fan we couldn't use because it wouldn't stop clicking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    34
    21
    33
See reviews for
66
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

After reading glowing (recent) reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked two rooms for one night. Our room, 107, was dated but clean. Most of the older reviews citing filthy carpets, dirty bathroom,etc., did not apply to our experience. HOWEVER .... my husband and I both awoke simultaneously early in the morning, petrified, after having simultaneous nightmares. (Not the same nightmares, but similarly frightening.) After talking for a few minutes, we fell back into fitful sleeps to awaken again after both having nightmares (different ones). We were, frankly, freaked out. The fact that we had nightmares at all was amazing, since there was a mysterious, loud sound of water flushing every 10 minutes or so from approx. 1 a.m. to about 5 a.m. with no one in the adjoining room (this was designated as the breakfast room). When we checked out, bleary-eyed, the next morning, I made a point of our unsatisfactory experience. The desk clerk noted she couldn't authorize a discount or refund for the room and directed the maintenance person to investigate the mysterious water noise. We were grossly disappointed in the quality of our experience, including "breakfast," which was probably purchased at Wal-Mart. The family members in the other room,down the hall, also heard water in the middle of the night but were not plagued by nightmares or bad vibes. I can attest that the feeling in their room was vastly different and pleasant. Stay away from room 107 or this motel at all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 559Rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Los Barriles, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

For the price this place is a rip off. Old worn out furnishings. Smelly rooms. Ripped curtains. 45 minutes to make the key work because they haven't repaired a faulty door handle. A fan that seems like it's going to wobble off the ceiling. A check in receptionist as warm as an orphanage mother. And 170 per night. Are you kidding??? I've stayed in many places in Pacific Grove, by far the worst.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Monarch Resort is an old building with old furnishings, an old elevator, old TVs, old carpet and old plants. Lots and lots of plants. I've never seen so many plants inside a hotel. We stayed the last few days of March, yet there were poinsettias with little snowman-themed gift tags hanging around since Christmas along with Christmas lights already hanging outside, just waiting to be plugged in the day after Thanksgiving. The elevator was convenient, but old and a little jerky. The carpets were all old. The windows were really dirty (they had chicken wire over part of our window for some reason, even though there were no chickens present, so it would have been difficult to clean them even if they wanted to. The window screens were about 6 inches narrower than the windows themselves, so there were flies in every room I visited (mine plus other family members' rooms). I can only imagine how much worse this would have been in summer.

The desk staff were pleasant, friendly and attentive. The housekeepers had this interesting habit of throwing sheets, towels, toilet paper (unraveled) and whatever else might have been in their way out into the corridors, where they left it to fester for hours on end. I thought this was an isolated incident, but it happened daily. They would leave it all over the floor through an entire hallway, and late in the afternoon, someone would clean it all up. Again, this happened daily.

The breakfast was typical for a property like this. They did have bagels, which was a pleasant addition to the usual white and brown bread, but the bagel flavors were a very random selection (at one point, only cinnamon raisin was available). The outdoor pool looked clean and they claimed it was heated to 85°F.

Cell phone coverage in this neighborhood isn't great. T-Mobile has almost no signal at all, Sprint, Verizon and AT&T all have about 2 bars at best. So the one saving grace for this hotel (this is why I gave them 3 stars instead of 2) is that they have a very fast Comcast Business Class internet connection (30+ Mbps) and their Wi-Fi network is powered by Apple AirPort Extreme (802.11ac) routers. This is good stuff, folks. I've never found Wi-Fi service in any hotel that even came close to this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

One of the worst Hotel stays we have ever encountered. Don't plan on spleeping as the floors and walls are extremly thin. We were up all night because of the folks above us walking around. Very outdated decour and the most uncomfortable bed you can imagine. This is truly the "Hotel Time Forgot". The price was decent but the stay was terrible!! Do not stay here..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

A search at booking.com yielded the lowest weekday price for an obviously high-end hotel room with marble fireplace with complimentary log and matches on the hearth, sliding glass door onto a balcony overlooking a mini-forest, warm outdoor Jacuzzi minimally occupied, lush greenery in stone-lined planters in the halls-nice. There was a metallic dolphin sculpture in the hallway which contributed to the posh atmosphere.

Surrounding hotels with similar prices did not appear to be as solidly-built with white rock facing on the outside, including the carport, although the surrounding clapboard-faced hotel prices were the same or higher.

The bathroom was pristine; the shower head tall enough to accommodate someone over six feet tall. The room had a microwave and refrigerator; the refrigerator made noise, so I unplugged it, with no resulting water dripping to the bottom of the refrigerator, thank heavens! There were several pillows of different density, from light to heavy, giving the sleeper a choice of comfort.

The blankets are always too thin in every hotel room in which I have ever stayed, but there were additional blankets in the closet at this hotel, along with an iron and ironing board. The thermostat was highly responsive; turn it to the right a little bit and the heater came on almost immediately.

The heavy, light-blocking curtains with a separate pleated gold panel in front of them allowed me to sleep late (alas, causing me to miss out on the continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs the first day). Off the hallway leading to the pool patio was a room with a dry sauna-looked like a bar-b-que to me with pointy metal briquets. I mean, isn't the idea of a sauna heated steam? Guess they didn't want liability for steam burns-another consideration for the guests.

Across the street from the hotel is a local bus stop for the MST Line 1, which meanders around Lover's Point and will take you to the Nob Hill grocery store and Monterey Bay Aquarium, ending at the Monterey Transit Center, where you can transfer to the Line 20, which will take you to Salinas within a few blocks of the Greyhound or Amtrak station, which has train/bus combinations north to San Jose where there is an airport, Oakland, etc., or train/bus combinations south to San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Los Angeles, and further.

I would recommend this hotel for honeymooners, because of the fireplace. The staff is very courteous and friendly. And while I was in the Jacuzzi, a couple of monarch butterflies fluttered through the area, so the hotel is aptly named. Be sure to look up local events before booking, such as the Triathalon, as prices may escalate due to increased demand.

Room Tip: Because the hotel was practically empty, I got what I perceived was a good room, although for all I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My son and I were staying in Pacific Grove, CA for approximately one month. We stayed at the Monarch Resort several nights. Not only are their prices excellent, the staff are helpful, kind and respectful. I had a mix up with my bank and the Resort waived the cancellation charge and did not charge me for the additional room rate. I cannot express how much I appreciate their generosity and kindness during this embarrassing situation. The rooms are clean and complimentary breakfast is great. There is nothing like the "personal touch" provided by the supervisor's and owner. I will certainly stay at the Monarch Resort each time I visit Pacific Grove and Monterey.

Room Tip: Make the reservation and do not move hotels in the middle of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Resort

Property: Monarch Resort
Address: 1111 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monarch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Monarch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing