We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monarch Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Interesting Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Monarch Resort is an old building with old furnishings, an old elevator, old TVs, old carpet and old plants. Lots and lots of plants. I've never seen so many plants inside a hotel. We stayed the last few days of March, yet there were poinsettias with little snowman-themed gift tags hanging around since Christmas along with Christmas lights already hanging outside, just waiting to be plugged in the day after Thanksgiving. The elevator was convenient, but old and a little jerky. The carpets were all old. The windows were really dirty (they had chicken wire over part of our window for some reason, even though there were no chickens present, so it would have been difficult to clean them even if they wanted to. The window screens were about 6 inches narrower than the windows themselves, so there were flies in every room I visited (mine plus other family members' rooms). I can only imagine how much worse this would have been in summer.

The desk staff were pleasant, friendly and attentive. The housekeepers had this interesting habit of throwing sheets, towels, toilet paper (unraveled) and whatever else might have been in their way out into the corridors, where they left it to fester for hours on end. I thought this was an isolated incident, but it happened daily. They would leave it all over the floor through an entire hallway, and late in the afternoon, someone would clean it all up. Again, this happened daily.

The breakfast was typical for a property like this. They did have bagels, which was a pleasant addition to the usual white and brown bread, but the bagel flavors were a very random selection (at one point, only cinnamon raisin was available). The outdoor pool looked clean and they claimed it was heated to 85°F.

Cell phone coverage in this neighborhood isn't great. T-Mobile has almost no signal at all, Sprint, Verizon and AT&T all have about 2 bars at best. So the one saving grace for this hotel (this is why I gave them 3 stars instead of 2) is that they have a very fast Comcast Business Class internet connection (30+ Mbps) and their Wi-Fi network is powered by Apple AirPort Extreme (802.11ac) routers. This is good stuff, folks. I've never found Wi-Fi service in any hotel that even came close to this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    34
    21
    33
See reviews for
66
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

One of the worst Hotel stays we have ever encountered. Don't plan on spleeping as the floors and walls are extremly thin. We were up all night because of the folks above us walking around. Very outdated decour and the most uncomfortable bed you can imagine. This is truly the "Hotel Time Forgot". The price was decent but the stay was terrible!! Do not stay here..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A search at booking.com yielded the lowest weekday price for an obviously high-end hotel room with marble fireplace with complimentary log and matches on the hearth, sliding glass door onto a balcony overlooking a mini-forest, warm outdoor Jacuzzi minimally occupied, lush greenery in stone-lined planters in the halls-nice. There was a metallic dolphin sculpture in the hallway which contributed to the posh atmosphere.

Surrounding hotels with similar prices did not appear to be as solidly-built with white rock facing on the outside, including the carport, although the surrounding clapboard-faced hotel prices were the same or higher.

The bathroom was pristine; the shower head tall enough to accommodate someone over six feet tall. The room had a microwave and refrigerator; the refrigerator made noise, so I unplugged it, with no resulting water dripping to the bottom of the refrigerator, thank heavens! There were several pillows of different density, from light to heavy, giving the sleeper a choice of comfort.

The blankets are always too thin in every hotel room in which I have ever stayed, but there were additional blankets in the closet at this hotel, along with an iron and ironing board. The thermostat was highly responsive; turn it to the right a little bit and the heater came on almost immediately.

The heavy, light-blocking curtains with a separate pleated gold panel in front of them allowed me to sleep late (alas, causing me to miss out on the continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs the first day). Off the hallway leading to the pool patio was a room with a dry sauna-looked like a bar-b-que to me with pointy metal briquets. I mean, isn't the idea of a sauna heated steam? Guess they didn't want liability for steam burns-another consideration for the guests.

Across the street from the hotel is a local bus stop for the MST Line 1, which meanders around Lover's Point and will take you to the Nob Hill grocery store and Monterey Bay Aquarium, ending at the Monterey Transit Center, where you can transfer to the Line 20, which will take you to Salinas within a few blocks of the Greyhound or Amtrak station, which has train/bus combinations north to San Jose where there is an airport, Oakland, etc., or train/bus combinations south to San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Los Angeles, and further.

I would recommend this hotel for honeymooners, because of the fireplace. The staff is very courteous and friendly. And while I was in the Jacuzzi, a couple of monarch butterflies fluttered through the area, so the hotel is aptly named. Be sure to look up local events before booking, such as the Triathalon, as prices may escalate due to increased demand.

Room Tip: Because the hotel was practically empty, I got what I perceived was a good room, although for all I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My son and I were staying in Pacific Grove, CA for approximately one month. We stayed at the Monarch Resort several nights. Not only are their prices excellent, the staff are helpful, kind and respectful. I had a mix up with my bank and the Resort waived the cancellation charge and did not charge me for the additional room rate. I cannot express how much I appreciate their generosity and kindness during this embarrassing situation. The rooms are clean and complimentary breakfast is great. There is nothing like the "personal touch" provided by the supervisor's and owner. I will certainly stay at the Monarch Resort each time I visit Pacific Grove and Monterey.

Room Tip: Make the reservation and do not move hotels in the middle of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is quite nice, with lot of plants in the corridors, a good sauna, allright rooms.
The location is great, you can hear seals and sea lions, close to the ocean, beaches and park near Monterey
The Sauna is not on and one has to wait quite some time before it gets warm enough.
check in is 4PM and the manager is quite "rigid" on that, and has quite an attitude.
The rooms was supposed to have a view: a view on the road, which was about a small jump from the balcony. In the balcony not even a chair or a table.
Breakfast was rather poor

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diporzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, quiet. Spacious room with the balcony. Fireplace was a plus. It is pretty run down, but clean. The bedding is sub par, pillows need to be replaced, do not feel like pillows. Overall, efficient, pleasant stay if you bring your pillows.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mura02456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked two rooms, a 2-queen and a king, over Thanksgiving. Luckily the Monarch had vacancies. The rooms are clean, well furnished including frig, microwave, TV, complimentary bottled water, and some rooms have a built-in fireplace. There's a pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Friendly staff. Ample and easy parking. Loads of complimentary shampoo, lotion, facial wipes. Complimentary breakfast (cereal, juice, bagels & cream cheese, toast, oatmeal, coffee and tea. The rooms are basic - i.e. carpets but not plush, rather stiff pillows (not fluffy), somewhat noisy bathroom fan, thin coverlet, but excellent heating, easily controlled. My daughter and her friend had the 2 queen room and were happy. We had the king, and it smelled strongly of smoke - probably from the flue being closed when the fireplace was in use. So, just avoid room 113!

Room Tip: Not room 113 (smoky). Ask to be away from the elevator - although we were right opposite and it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdkLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Resort

Property: Monarch Resort
Address: 1111 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monarch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monarch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing