We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”
Review of Monarch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monarch Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The service we received was great.The room was nice size,bathroom was clean and with plenty
of towels.Parking lot has enough spots for all guests.The breakfast was a typical continental one,
nothing delux but the area where they served it ,is too small .If they open it at 7am ,at least for the summer high season they could do us,early birds, a favor.You need a car to go to the beach ,Monterey Bay etc.,if you stay at this hotel you will need to rent a car like we did.We would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing the parking lot,there is a road with some traffic on the other side.pick the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    68
    34
    22
    34
See reviews for
66
74
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice two night stay at this clean and peaceful location, away from the hustle of fishermans wharf. Our room had a fireplace that made us feel at home. Close enough to all attractions yet far enough to enjoy the peace of montery. The included continental breakfast was a nice bonus. Clean and bright layout and friendly staff. I would definatly come back here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Last minute road trip and booked online. Drove 6 hours, went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, then checked in. Older, clean, maintained, as per reviews. Had 2 children and the wife, room was clean and roomy enough. Was expecting a microwave and frig but mine did not come with it. Not too bad if you only stay one night but more than that it would come in very handy.
I requested easy access to room and parking and got it, hence the room without microwave or frig. We did have time for a swim before dinner, and found the pool to be clean and refreshing. Hot tub/jacuzzi worked well, was clean, and jets were nice and strong. There was a Sauna and was not able to try it out such a shame. I love Saunas! They have towels near the pool area to use,(nice touch).
Electronic key card doors were not a problem for us, but someone had the same problem as a reviewer had. Maybe a certain door has problems? TV in room was old type with remote, room came with a log to burn(_ _ _ _ flame) worked surprisingly well(my first experience with it) for instant romance/fascination for kids. Bathroom was very adequate and functional with coffee maker and hairdryer.
I would stay there again, but would like a pool view, frig. and microwave. Included continental breakfast was more than basic, but not extensive. I was counting on WiFi as advertised but I had none, so borrowed a network cable from the front desk.

Pros: Close to Aquarium and Cannery row, but far enough to feel relaxed, Internet, Sauna, ample free parking.
Cons: Basic amenities, microwave/Frig. seems hit or miss was never given the option. WiFi don't know if it existed.

See: "rmranger" review.

Room Tip: See reviews about WiFi or cell reception. Rooms 113/114 right across elevators. Rooms near sauna nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islan_Stylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Front Desk Clerk was a Nightmare!

She was rude and mean to the guests that were checking in. The credit card machine broke down on a poor customer before we were helped, and the Clerk yelled at him! That same customer, who called in advance to assure room ready at 4/had his credit card stuck, did not even have a cleaned room at 5:30pm.

The rooms, were fine for the price, and the carpet could use a little updating, but the service was the worst.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFWife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Belmont, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our first time staying here and we will NEVER stay here again! First, the front desk clerk Maria called to tell me my credit card was declined. She said that this was my problem and for me to call my bank! I had to conference in Maria, with my bank on the phone for verification, only to find out they had the exp. date wrong and didn't she didn't bother to verify that with me! Second, the hotel says they offer free wireless internet. Their wireless connections did NOT work, and could not get cell phone reception in the room. I asked to be moved to another room toward the front, for improved cell/internet connection, but my room option was not offered. None of the rooms in the front had refrigerators & microwaves, only fireplaces. Third, my room keys got wiped out twice, and the 2nd time I told Maria, she was SO VERY RUDE to me! I was appalled! The carpets were outdated as well as the TV and bed comforters. The beds were uncomfortable as well!
This was the worst experience we've had in PG and will never stay here again! I suggest you don't either!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room toward the back of the building as you get no "free" wireless, or cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albanyCA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Terrific price. Large enough, clean enough, comfortable enough. Would stay again! Just down the street from butterfly grove. Highly recommended. Nothing special, but just fine. Beats motel row in Monterey any day! Go have a great dinner somewhere with all the money you save.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rmranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Monarch Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are working hard to earn your travel dollars.

All our best: Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californis
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had a very nice stay. We needed a reasonably priced, clean & quiet spot, located near everything we wanted to see and do. The Monarch Resort fit the bill perfectly! The room was large and spacious. The breakfast was enough to give us a good start to the day. The microwave and fridge in the room was an added bonus. We've been coming to Pacific Grove for years and never stayed here... but we will definitely be back! It was a great value!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Monarch Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our inn and Pacific Grove, it truly is a special place and we are so glad that you chose us for your lodging needs.

Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Resort

Property: Monarch Resort
Address: 1111 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monarch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Monarch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing