We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“SURPRISE... NO HOT WATER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
“SURPRISE... NO HOT WATER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

"Always try to be positive", my motto, and standpoint, but it was unacceptable for there to be no hot water to take a shower the day when we were leaving. Not feeling well, that morning, I found it to be around 11:00 am before I was able get going, and when I got into the shower, I had no idea that there would be NO hot water. I stood waiting for the temp to become warmer, but it NEVER happened. I had to bite the bullet and wash off in cold water, a miserable and torturous experience.
Also, being that the rest of the room was in such nice shape, it was very surprising that the carpet in jr lodge #317 is HORRIBLY STAINED, and dirty.
The lodge is nice in general, most of all the staff were pleasant and helpful, especially the room service attendants, cooks, and wait staff, but there were a few conditions of improvement that need to be brought to the attention of the lodge proprietors.

Room Tip: I was happy to have a room/cottage near the back, so that we weren't subjected to the noise of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLOO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    82
    59
    44
See reviews for
107
151
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on July 17 in room 212. Unfortunately, i got there at 11pm, otherwise I would have looked for another hotel. Carpet it being used as waterproofing, paint drops all over the floor, the door had white paint brush streaks, the door grinds when open and I am not even in the door yet. Once inside, it is obvious pets are allowed, the carpet was filthy, furniture was beat up, sofas were smelly, cabinets were falling apart, light bulbs were out, vanity faucet was leaking, sink edge was moldy, pet hair was not cleaned, door were poorly patched. Bottom line, awful! If you want to sleep in your clothes, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezequiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Please see my first review of the Lighthouse Lodge and Cottages to know exactly what I feel about the place. But, in summary, it's the best!

Just stayed here for the third time, two years since the second, and everything is just as great.

It should be noted the free BBQ I mentioned in my first review seems to no longer be offered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved this place 2 years ago but were very disappointed this time. I was traveling with my two grandsons So I needed 2 doublebeds which are only available downstairs. At check-in, the room smelled like too much carpet deodorizer was sprayed. We opened the window and hoped it would clear out. We got back from dinner and realized that the deodorizer was there to mask the smell of mildew. On closer inspection, I noticed that the comforters and matching pillows were filthy. The pillows smelled like someone's sweaty head had been on it. I pulled the comforter and pillows off the bed and went to the office. I explained the situation and was given extra blankets and clean pillowcases. No apology for the poor condition of the room and no offer to move to a clean room.

There was also garbage by our door when we arrived and it was still there when we checked out in the morning. The sliding glass door was difficult to open and there was no screen to keep the bugs out. Also went to the pool for a quick swim and the water in the hot tub was green.

the next morning I went to the office to check out and again, explained the situation to the women behind the desk. As I was speaking someone tapped me on the shoulder and told me that he had the same exact problem the night before and was moved to a new room. My guess is that we ended up in the room he had left. Again, the staff showed absolutely no concern for the condition of the room and didn't offer any sort of apology.

I am really disappointed that this motel has changed so much. I don't expect to return with my family anytime soon.

Room Tip: don't stay in room 127!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Pacific Grove is beautiful and the Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages are right there near the tip of Pacific Grove. You can take a 1 1/2 mile walk around to the ocean, pass the Point Pinos Lighthouse, pass the cemetery where you will see deer much of the time, pass the Pacific Grove Golf Links, on to the gorgeous rock formations and crashing waves, pass NOAA, having seen birds and sea life.
This facility has the less expensive Lodge properties that allows dogs and the cottages across the street. The "Residence" on the cottage side slept 5 comfortably (3 bathrooms) and was the home base for our family of 43 to gather for cocktails and a dinner barbecue. The Cypress Dining Room was great for breakfasts, afternoon wine receptions and a catered dinner for one of our evenings.
The staff is hard working and attentive.
The rooms are quiet for sleeping.
Yes, the rooms could use a little TLC, but for a family gathering it had everything we needed for a fun family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked two nights but after reading reviews that it was ON a cemetary changed our reservation. Military traveled all over US. We visited the lighthouse across the street from the hotel and gasped when we saw the condition of the property. It was old and literally on the grounds of the cemetary, doors opened onto it. Main hotel exterior was in disrepair and cottages across the street looked nice. Cottages seem newer. This hotel is the typical low end property that appears run down, but the cottages are in an excellent location closer to the water. Walking distance to shops and water and lighthouse but also cemetary. We have a dog but family watched her. This hotel takes multiple dogs staying in rooms...uh no. I love my pets but wet dogs back from the surf, no thank you. Bedding appeared old, fixtures very old. ?? A/C in hotel units. Buyer beware, but great location. Great pizza rest. as drive out of Pacific Grove! Restaurants in town expensive as expected. $6 pbj, so drive outside town. Stayed in Salsilito indoor pool and commuted 30 mins.

Room Tip: None all appeared run down from outside. Hotel roof in disrepair and entrance knocked down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pacific Grove offers many wonderful amenities, such as oceanside walks, excellent restaurants, golf, proximity to Monterey Aquarium, beaches, Highway 1 drives, etc. This property is an affordable option in an area that can be expensive. The location is within very easy walking distance of the spectacular shoreline and the charming PG downtown. Rooms are somewhat dated but clean and larger than most newer facilities. In summary, location is excellent, hotel is fine for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room (high ceiling) away from Lighthouse Ave and overlooking neat old cemetery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. The Lodge is a sixty-four unit property with oversized hotel accommodations. Our Lodge rooms have either one king size bed or two doubles. Each day, we provide a complimentary American breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. and a home style pool-side barbecue each afternoon from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M. Heated Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit Cape Cod styled property. Our Cottages have a king size bed, Jacuzzi tub, honor bar, wet bar, and gas burning fireplace. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. The Residence is a 1400 square foot, two- bedroom suite that is wonderful for social or business gatherings. It has two master bedrooms, three full bath, living room, full-equipped kitchen, dining room and private back yard patio. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 50 people classroom style and banquets for up to 120 people. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms and have a onsite chef to cator all of your private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Groupon, Travelocity, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing