We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent dog-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Pinole, California, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent dog-friendly hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The location can't be beat(a couple of blocks from the ocean), but the grounds/rooms could use a little updating. We stayed in a room by the pool which was nice and quiet and noticed that there were other dogs in some rooms, but they seemed well behaved like our little guy. The pool wasn't heated, thus un-usable. The hot tub was nice and hot though and felt good after a day of beachcombing. Poolside breakfast was nice (included with stay). We went down to the cottages one evening and sat by the fire pit with a glass of wine. It's too bad they don't have a little bar or restaurant on site.
We used a Groupon so the value was there. I don't know if I would pay full price to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    92
    66
    52
See reviews for
119
174
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We're staying in this hotel for 2 nights, in room 201. One night down, one to go. It's a fairly quiet room and if you peek thru the trees, you can just barely see the ocean... pretty cool. If you open the sliding door (which locks only if you get it in just the right place, much jiggling of the latch is required. Good thing we're on the second floor.), you can hear the ocean, which is awesome!. The room has a rustic feel to it, but the wallpaper needs updating, as it looks like your grandma's best dress...from 1982. The real kicker is the carpeting. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, but I have NEVER seen carpet this dirty and stained. Either it's the original from 100 years ago or there have been 1000's of underaged spring break parties in here...or both. The rest of the room seems clean enough. The ceiling fan doesn't work. The breakfast was good, the scrambled eggs seemed to be freshly made. I would have rated this higher if it weren't for the carpet (it really is that bad) and the wonky sliding door lock. The location is terrific. I'd come back if I heard it was renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with clean carpeting and a sliding door lock that works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeiyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. They have a great wine reception in the afternoons and the breakfast is cooked to order. Our room was in one of the cottages and was nice and quiet. Although the website for the hotel says that these rooms have a view of the ocean, that was not the case for ours.
We loved our Jacuzzi tub and look forward to staying there again.

One drawback: The morning that we left there was a landscaper blowing leaves and blew debris on our car and us! When we told the staff at the front desk, we received the response "Oh we'll have o talk to him about that." They didn't seem to care that our car could have been damaged or that we were struck by debris. It was really disappointing and unexpected being that we were the only car for that cottage and were among only a few occupied rooms.

Room Tip: Chose the cottages instead of the lodge if you want a more intimate stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 13_Tink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at Lighthouse Lodge for 2 nights. We stayed in room 244, which is on the upper floor in the corner/end. Good location, very quiet / peaceful area. This place could be so much better, it just needs updating and it would be ideal. Value for money is ok considering breakfast is included. Plenty of parking.

ROOMS
Our room was spacious, clean, although dated, it could do with modernising and decorating. There is a fridge, tv, microwave, desk, chairs and plenty of storage. Bed was ok. Bathroom was adequate, again needs updating, we had a loose toilet seat. There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms, although signal is weak. Our friends were given room 137, which is on the ground floor. The room was smelly and windows were covered in a film making it difficult to see out of, not good. They moved to another room, but had to pay extra, which is not very good service.

RECEPTION
Staff were ok, helpful with knowledge of area and information on whale watching trips. But disappointing when friends complained about their room.

BREAKFAST
Plenty on offer, it is not the best breakfast you will have, but no complaints. You have a choice of bread/toast, bagels (although toasters were very slow), egg, bacon, porridge (oatmeal), cereals, fruit, juices, milk, tea and coffee.

LOCATION
Close to Monterey, 17 mile drive and several good restaurants i.e. Fish Wife, and a short drive to Carmel. Good place to stop off to explore the area before moving on along the coast.

Room Tip: Request higher room, from other comments, ground floor rooms may suffer from insects and possibly be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Bad bed- very soft!! Paint missing, curtains ripped, termites in room, smelled bad! Breakfast was horrible! Pool was not working. Told managers and they did not seem to care! I really thing this could be a nice place, but needs a lot of work!

Room Tip: horrible breakfast too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank krisfreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location was perfect but the room itself did not meet expectations. The drapes were falling down, heat did not work, one large sliding door only had a sheer drape over it which did not give us any privacy. Size of the room was fine and we appreciated the wifi. Breakfast each morning was okay. Especially glad to have the coffee. In my mind, I thought a Lodge would be a large building with indoor hallways to rooms. These were actually separate buildings with 8 rooms to a building and everything opened to the outdoors more like a motel than a lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

A little background--We purchased this room on priceline for the dates April 11-13, 2014 at the rate of $177 per night. It was advertised as a 3-star property on priceline (and on trip advisor and expedia) which priceline specifically describes as a "really nice independent hotel" on par with national chain brands such as the Hyatt, Four Points, or Double Tree.

First, let's start with the good. It's clean, and it's in a nice, safe location just a block or so from the beach. The open-beamed ceiling gave the tiny room a more open feeling. The staff was pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and it was quiet. At a minimum, I was thankful to not be sleeping in the car.

Now, the not so good. The room is very tiny--barely big enough to hold the queen bed contained in it. If you are a couple traveling with 2 carry-on size suitcases, you will not have enough space to store the suitcases. We just kept our suitcases in the trunk of our car. All of the furniture is very cheap, old, chipped, laminate, faux wood, particle board that is of a circa 1970's style and has definitely seen better days. For example, the mirror in the bathroom had chips all over it (and not in a shabby chic way). The room had a slightly moldy/mildewy smell which could cause allergy-sensitive individuals migraine headaches. The TV was a very small, circa 20th century cathode ray tube TV. (Granted, we came to this area to enjoy the outdoors, but the average traveler would expect something much better.) The water in the "heated" pool was very cold and not usable. We did not see anybody in it. (The pool issue was very important to us because we like to swim in a pool when we are on vacation).

Simply put, I am shocked that this hotel has any good reviews b/c I have stayed in nicer Motel 6s. If this room had been advertised as a 1 star and we had paid well under $100 for this room, I would not be writing this article. However, as you can see from the description above, this is definitely not a 3 star hotel. It is an absolute fraud to advertise it as such. Also, and most importantly, I gave the manager on duty this review before I posted it to tripadvisor to allow them the opportunity to remedy the situation. If they had remedied the situation, I would not have posted this here. They blamed the issue on priceline (even though trip advisor and expedia also advertise it as a 3-star), and they declined to remedy the situation. I strongly urge trip advisor, expedia,and priceline to send a representative back to this hotel to reassess it and decrease its rating to a 1-star.

Room Tip: Do not recommend at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing