We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our second extended stay here during the winter. We love the location- easy walk to the beach AND close to downtown happenings. We were close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, the monarch butterfly sanctuary, rail trail, and great restaurants! All the employees are wonderful- always friendly and accommodating. The large, lodge, king room with fireplace is spacious and includes a small refrigerator and microwave. The bed and bedding are very comfortable. Wrapped in our provided robes, we often enjoyed the pool and spa which were always kept immaculate. A huge plus for us is being able to travel with our dog- she is always welcomed here. There is a jar of dog treats at the front desk and doggie clean up bags are conveniently located around the grassy area. Provided meals, hot breakfast and evening bbq are an added bonus which make this property a real value. We consider this our "home-away from home" due to all the wonderful hospitality we are offered at the Lighthouse Lodge and Cottages!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 451 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Lighthouse Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. My husband and I stayed there for 5 weeks during January and February to get away from the cold of Michigan. The staff is amazing! The food is fabulous! The rooms are huge and extremely comfortable! We can't wait to return next winter!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at this motel many times during the past 5 years. We had a confirmed reservaation, when we checked in we were told our junior suite was not available so they upgraded us to a larger room in the Lodge. this was not an upgrade, I refused to take the room.She then said that another room in the cottages just opened up, a junior suite. When we arrived at the cottage area all of the rooms were vacant, and we were the only guests in that area. The room was just OK, recently repainted, but very sloppy job in and out. Cold water spigot in tub turned the wrong way, dangerous when showering. No cooked to serve breakfast or wine and cheese in evening. Maintenance of place is minimal. Needs some TLC. We only stayed one night, and moved on. Will not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. However, during the time of your stay, there was a private event on the Cottage Property and all cottage guests were moved to the Cottage rooms on our Lodge Property, for which there are three, two Upper Lodge Cottages and one Lodge Junior Cottage. All three cottages on the Lodge have jacuzzi tubs, pull our sofa sleepers and large living rooms areas. All three Lodge Cottages are by far larger and more renovated cottages. If guests choose not to accept upgrades, then unfortunately there isn't much we can do as management to assist you further. We hope you will return and look at the Cottage rooms on the Lodge property. They are the most requested and our loveliest of rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites, after scoring a wonderful deal on Expedia, which included a bottle of wine. Outside of our entrance was a path that led just down the street to the ocean and it's breathtaking expanse! Perfect spot for our sunset and sunrise the next morning. With an small bar, lovely sitting area, fireplace, 2 TV's, and king bed, it was spacious, romantic, and luxurious. Beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub and copper-guilded sink. Breakfast was fabulous - classicly elegant room with white-cloth tablecloth tables, breakfast to-order from friendly staff, and oversized leather couches in front of a massive stone fireplace, crackling with heat. The "free" lunch wasn't much more than bbq hot dogs/hamburgers in a rather plain room on the motel side, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay again on the lovely "suites" side.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVida4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just wanted to add that the service I had while staying at Lighthouse Lodge and cottages was so great. The staff was attentive and made sure I was having a nice stay, also asked me if there was anything I needed to make my stay more enjoyable. I was greeted every time I went to get my breakfast and it was nice to see people who really enjoyed what they were doing and the place they worked at. It made my stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you to all the hard working staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family of 3 stayed a week in the upper lodge cottage suite. We loved it. It was comfortable, clean and everything worked as expected. We enjoyed the cheif prepaired breakfast each morning and it was amazing. We had 2 outdoor patio doors that opened out to a beautiful grounds and a view of the beach. When we would ask the frontdesk for something they took care of it right away. I would recommend this locatation for a great stay in PG.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites have bigger patio areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markjenkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We love staying at Lighthouse Lodge our young children love it it's perfect it's really close to the aquarium and to the children's museum. The kids love the heated hot tub. Their prices are really reasonable and they actually have discounts to go to the aquarium which we loved. The first place we book when we want to come to Monterey Pacific Grove area

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamalalajimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $97 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing