We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LHLS, aka Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages heavily declines--run” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Pacifica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LHLS, aka Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages heavily declines--run”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Been coming here for over 20 years both on business (week long stays using their meeting rooms) and pleasure with the family BUT NO LONGER! [advised by front desk staff at check out that new owners again as of Aug. 2011]. Have stayed in all sizes of both lodge rooms and fancier suites (a Jr. Suite for "discounted" $240. weekday) located across the street. A HUGE JUMP in room costs, over 25% from past stays, and a noticeable, big decline in customer service and usual amenities present.

Room decor and paint not even closely matching, furniture is worn out, sofa and chair covered with tacky blue stretch covers that had to be completely removed to open the hide a bed, cracked sinks and tubs, jacuzzi missing control knob and working tub stopper mechanism (cheap rubber stopper substituted instead of fixing), mattresses worn out, lumpy and soft, door keys operate upside down. Had made reservation for 4 persons but only had 3 threadbare towels/2 washcloths, 1 set of cheap Sysco soap/shampoo, and 2 coffee cups. All of the usual suite amenities (plush robes, upscale toiletries, wine/alcohol glasses, dishes, plates, cutlery) are gone and reduced variety, quantity and quality of breakfast, dinner, and BBQ items, as well as reduced hours 7-930AM and 430-6 PM. Now extra cost for more breakfast items with no substitutes but service was excellent. Missing a lot more salads and soups for suites' afternoon reception and pasta/salads for BBQ on lodge side.
Some roof repairs going on but all rooms are badly in need of routine maintenance and capital improvements from past owners/management.

Now has $4 PER DEVICE, not per room fee, for poorly working Wi-Fi internet access and $25/person extra for more than 2 persons/room.

Beware, eemed like staff was reluctant to actually show final bill before running your credit card to avoid discussing "room tax" (10.07% ? transient occupancy tax) and "TID" (PGHID-Pacific Grove Hotel/Tourism Improvement District) of $2/room/night that is not posted anywhere, nor where any room charges posted in room. Being surcharged for the "privilege" of encouraging more tourists at past tourists' expense to return to Pacific Grove and receive more bad service and bad accomodations!

Although name and website (http://lhls.com) is still listed as the Lighthouse Lodge and Suites your actual receipt now says Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages The Suites’ check in/front desk station has been closed and you must go across the street to the lodge to check in, check out and deal with any room issues!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere; new owners far from returning Lighthouse to its former, well-deserved great reputation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    120
    90
    65
    50
See reviews for
117
170
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I go to the coast at least 2 times a year. We usually stay in Seaside, but decided to go further in this time. The photos on the site for this hotel, are deceiving. If you stay here, make sure you get a suite. The hotel is on two sides of the street. Our room, if you can call it that, was in the Adobe wing. It was horrific. We first noticed a horrible smell, and thought maybe it was new paint. There was one small window, which had no screen, so we couldn't open it. The room was so small, and everything looked old, and dirty. We spent one night, only to find that the horrible smell was mold. It was all over the bottom of the curtains, on the walls in the bathroom... I will say that the hotel did offer to move us, but they had no room available. We left a night early, because I didn't want to sleep in a room that had such a bad odor from mold, and I am allergic to mold.
The BBQ- it is hamburgers and hot dogs. not gourmet, but it was ok. Breakfast, was ok.
The location is great, you are not that far from the ocean, and it is a nice little walk. But, for the money we paid per night, $140.00, I would probably not stay here again, just because the side that we stayed on was very run down, dirty, and very small rooms. THe photos are not accurate. If you are going to stay here, get the suite, you may have better luck. Most of the rooms that were on our side, had a view of a staircase, it was like apartments...... THe staff was nice, and we did get a refund, but never again....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

When we got there we had a regular room and when we checked in there were a few "issues" Staff was very nice and upgraded us and our family that we were traveling with to the suites across the street! Very Nice!! Great room, large, bed comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. Very nice location and perfect if you are a golfer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My enjoyed a night in a junior suite here in late June and couldn't have asked for more. The room was spacious and had a little balcony overlooking the lovely cemetery (think peaceful over creepy) where deer walked quietly. We took advantage of the hot tub on the lodge side, the wine & cheese reception in the evening, and the made-to-order breakfast the next day. Coming "home" to the fire pits outside the room in the cool of the evening after a night out was simply perfect.

If I could make it my ideal, I would fix the fan so it didn't make a clicking noise during the night while it was on, make the pool long enough for lap swims, and have bathrobes in room. All things considered, those are very minor.

This place was recommended to us by my parents. Although it is not like the most extravagant boutique hotels we stayed in on our honeymoon, we've already decided we'll stay there next summer when we take our annual California trip, especially given that we got a great price ($40 less than the place where we stayed last year and this had more amenities).

Perhaps it also appeals to us because we tend to like more privacy and flexibility than is offered by a B&B, but more charm and hominess than a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I were staying in Aptos, Ca. We wanted to see Monterey and take the 17 mile drive. We knew that to see everything we would need a place to overnight down the coast. I was very surprised to find a place in Pacific Grove at the last minute. It was our 46th. wedding anniversary. The day turned out to be rainy and cold but we enjoyed Monterey very much. Because the reservation was so easy, I was afraid the place would be a big disappointment. It turned out to be a really fun experience. Our room was clean and they gave one with a fireplace which made a really cosy night. The beds were comfortable the room was clean. I am not sure I would want to spend a week there, but for what we were looking for, it fit nicely. The surrounding area has outstanding views and made our time there a wonderul memory.

Room Tip: Unless your stay is in late summer, get a room with a fireplace. We did not expect the weather to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsv2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We planned a family getaway at the coast. Having decided to try something "new", we decided to stay in Pacific Grove rather than Monterey. After looking online for a reasonable family friendly hotel, we booked 2 nights at the Lighthouse Lodge. What a disappointment! It was not at all what it claimed to be! It was sad, run-down and dirty with torn bedding and curtains. I would have rather slept in the car! Definitely not worth the $200 per night we paid! I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have been staying with LL&S for a number of years. I have watched the roller coaster reviews of the past years. We found the room to be quite quiet, spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was very minimal lateral noise transfer. Our backyard neighbors are always very quiet(it's a cemetary). The staff is very helpful and nice, always. As a traveler, I always try to be nice bc good things happen to good people. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Sea Harvest.......excellent fresh fish..........Ice Cream Shoppe in PG next to Toasties for homemade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centurions1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing