We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful refuge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Monterey Peninsula
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful refuge!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Perched at the edge of Pacific Grove, short walking distance from beautiful Asilomar State Beach, and surrounded by beautiful large trees. Room was lovely with a fireplace. Breakfast was amazing. it consisted of a menu with "made to order" choices. If that didn't suit you, there was a great continental breakfast. Staff was very accommodating and sweet. Didnt get in our car for two days.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are close to the pool/hot tub, and rooms in another area all together that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    128
    102
    70
    55
See reviews for
132
187
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

For five weeks I have enjoyed my stay at this wonderful resort. The entire staff from house keeping, kitchen, front desk, grounds, and management were friendly, professional, and accommodating to my every need. The property is ideally located- close to town and the beach- both walking distance. My room was clean and spacious- including a lovely balcony where I enjoyed bird and deer watching while listening to the surf. I also enjoyed the pool and hottub which were kept immaculate. The hot breakfast and evening bbq were an added value which helped to keep my cost down- saving money for lunch out on the town. I am sad to leave, but know I will be returning for another extended stay in the future. I highly recommend this lovely property along with the attentive staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a two-night stay with my two daughters (2 and 13) and were greeted with smiling faces and helpful staff at every turn. The favorite part for my daughters was the heated pool and hot tub and my wife and I loved the gourmet breakfast and tasty tortellini at the evening wine reception. Just a two-minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, too. The ongoing improvements are a welcome change after the previous owner's bankruptcy followed years of neglect. Our carpet was dirty and the chair in our suite needed a clean, but the new management is well aware of these shortcomings and are refreshingly proactive. Plan to stay again soon and hope for more of the same!

Room Tip: Ask for the Suites on the Asilomar side which overlook the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLSGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We are glad your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Please accept our apologize for the condition of the carpet & chair. We are currently in the process of upgrading the interior decor & maintenance of our suite units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We moved to the Lighthouse lodge after an awful night in the next door Sunset Inn. The Lighhouse Lodge was 100% better in all aspects and it was $2 cheaper than the Sunset Inn.

The room was large and had a view of the forest / trees. It was quiet and comfortable.

The breakfast was a fully cooked (made to order) breakfast of eggs and was accompanied by all the usual extras.

The Lodge offers free wine and beer at cocktail hour at nice outdoor fire pits.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLSGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We were pleased to learn that you had a positive experience during your stay in the Suites.

Pacific Grove offers a diverse number of unique lodging types that are available to our guests. The key is matching a property to your needs.

Even at our property, we offer both the Lodge experience with oversize guestrooms with a King or Double/ Double beds, near the pool & hot tub that are great for families. Our Suite units across the street, are great for romantic getaways with the King bed, fireplace and Jacuzzi tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

It was recommended by our workshop organizer.
The rooms were not clean enough to touch anything comfortably. There was hair everywhere, in the bathroom, in the beds on the coffee mashine.
There was a strong smell of dampness in the room.
The door in the bath was not closing because of the water splashing from the shower.
I would not stay in this hotel in the future, as there are much nicer hotels around this area with the same price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side of the hotel are overlooking a cemetery ! Very quite naughbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dralanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at this place as it offered "discounted" rate of $180 for a junior suite for the Big Sur Half Marathon. For the price it definitely was not worth it. Many things were not working including the heater and the coffee maker. Furthermore the room had a musty smell to it. The only nice feature was the recently-remodeled bathroom. I'm glad we only stayed a night.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank maipenraiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was my first time to Lighthouse Lodge and Suites, had such a great time walking a few blocks to the ocean. Even saw a few of the deer wandering right behind the property. There are 2 outdoor fire pits on the Suite side of the property, a great place to enjoy the cooler nights, have a glass of wine and relax. The breakfast was amazing, and quite a few options. Was very nice that breakfast and evening reception were apart of the rate. The staff was very attentive and all very friendly. The room I was in had a gas fireplace and balcony. Take advantage of the short walk to the ocean, and the reception every evening!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLSGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience at Lighthouse Lodge & Suites. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
770 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Property: Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing