We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewed October 25, 2011

the location of this inn is great....you are a block from the ocean... a block from Pacific Grove Golf Course and right next door to a cemetery !!! the staff was very nice and helpful....included in your room rate is a very nice full breakfast....nicer then most....the one problem is the decor in the rooms...stuck in the 80's....needs a little sprucing up.....the rooms were clean but just outdated. so if you love'd the 80's and are not too picky this really isn't bad place......

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaGioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

I booked through travelocity secret hotels for $85 a night. Obviously this Lodge saves the worst rooms near the front entrance for these types of deals or "third party reservations"...The picture in the photo is for the suites, not the lodge, very misleading! I have never written a poor review before and I am not picky at all, but when I saw this room I booked as a surprise for my fiance, I almost started crying.. The room was very musty, there was a used washcloth hanging from the rafter on the ceiling that must have been there for a year. The room was missing a chair, the carpet was filthy and the bedspread was stained..old particle board furniture and an old black TV..Very strange that they updated the toilet, sink, counters and shower but did not paint the walls?? The walls in the room were filthy and very dusty..when I expressed my dissatisfaction of this horrible room to the front desk person, they offered to upgrade to a suite for ADDITIONAL $125 per night, how generous. ..he also told me they were booked solid and no other rooms were available..but after I mentioned the washcloth he offered another room 2 doors down pretty much the same as the first one but I took it as it was in the corner and quieter.
On the second morning, my fiance got in the shower and he was greeted by 2 cockroaches..YUK!!
The free breakfast was tasteless and not very appetizing to say the least..It's very apparent that management has zero interest in guest satisfaction at this place...do yourself a favor, don't stay at this nasty hole in the wall!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duhhbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The room was quite nice, felt spacious due to the high ceiling but the bathroom was tiny. The room needed some tlc and was a bit tatty looking but was very clean (except from the patio windows which we could bearly see through). We also had a fire which made the room very cosy. This turned out to be essential as there were no bars and only one resaurent nearby so we didn't have much choice but to stay in the room after dark. All other amenities were a car drive away which for us was disappointing as we were on holiday so wanted a social drink in the evening but couldn't. The breakfast was basic and seats in the breakfast room were wet which was very annoying! The overall feel of the place was basic but quaint. We would however not stay again due to the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vLel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

For the price we paid ($89), I didn't expect the world, but gosh, I wanted a bit more than lumpy pillows, poor water pressure, broken wi-fi and a bare bones breakfast. The saving grace was the hot tub. Inability to adjust the temperature in the room was frustrating. Limited, low lighting also annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan7482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Although the outside may look a little tired, the room we had was tastefully refurbished with the best king bed we have slept in for ages. The included breakfast and light dinner was a bonus. The location is as peaceful as anywhere we have stayed in the US.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

You were vert pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Lodge. Rooms had wood paneling and our suite had a solid pocket door to close of the bedroom from our daughter's fold out bed in the living room. Two flat screen TVs added a touch of modern and the fireplace certainly comes in handy during the cooler 3 seasons. We loved the complimentary menu ordered breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in a room that looked like it hadn't been remodeled since the 80s. It was generally pretty clean but looked as if it was a converted senior home. The pillow top mattress was very comfortable and we slept well, but the comforter was old and had some stains. The staff didn't do a thorough job cleaning behind our mattress at the headboard. The overall maintenance of the grounds needed some work...sticking doors, door jambs in disrepair. .The exterior had several maintenance issues including a door that was so water logged it had completely deteriorated on the bottom, delapedated, non-functioning landscape lighting and a large concrete bag that had been left outside our room which became part of the interesting landscape design. The pool was very small, but the barbeque was nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallaback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $88 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing