We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Official Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Official Review”
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We commuted all the way from S.F. International Airport to Monterey, CA. Thanks to the safe and fast travel provided by Monterey Airbus, they charge only $40 one-way. Anyway, the driver dropped us off to Howard Johnson Express Inn at 660 Dennet Ave., Pacific Grove, CA. It is within the residential area so we were expecting a quiter place to crash in while touring Monterey downtown, Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf 1 & 2. Our room was a king standard, $159/night. From their website I was expecting a small room, but we were suprised we had a fairly spacious room, for 2 people. There was 2 sinks for us to us individually, the kitchen room has complete amenities and we were able to iron our clothes. The bath tub is clean and romantic, the only thing that was small is the toilet room itself but it is enough for us. There was a nice balcony, with 2 vinyl green chairs and a small table. The bed we had was big and very comfortable.

If I were to make suggestions to the owner of the hotel? It would be a more efficient front desk officer, when we were checking out the receptionist was said to be assisting a guest and we waited like 36 minutes (this was not appreciated at all since we could have been late for our trip back to San Francisco). We didn't eat at their complimentary breakfast at the breakfast building because they meals looked cheap and junk.

We went to American Tin cannery or First Awakenings instead, and Toastie's the next days.

My regret was only the first night. The other tenants (3 rooms per building) had kids who were running up and down the stairs, banging doors.. but they left before us so we were in for a good sleep.

I expected HJ to be worse but it exceeded my expections, in a positive note. I actually missed the place now that I am back home.

  • Liked — The room itself and the bed
  • Disliked — The somewhat inefficient staff on duty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pnr_mbr2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    203
    69
    28
    15
See reviews for
216
217
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Arrived on Saturday evening at 6:30 PM to be told that my Visa had been declined earlier in the morning. Apparently they put your card through in the morning of your arrival. I had be using the card all day so couldn't figure out what the problem was. I had booked the hotel 2 -3 months ago for a two night stay as part of a California trip. What was more infuriating is that the woman at the desk refused to let me use a phone to call Visa or use the computer to find other accommodations. She wasn't even sure where I should go to get help! Eventually I ended up at the Marriott in Monterey where I was allowed to use the concierge's computer to find that the closest available accommodations was an hour's drive away in San Jose. When I contacted Visa they told me that the woman had entered the wrong expiration date on the card! I hope all the Howard Johnson's aren't like that. The place looked nice from the outside. Be careful not to run over a deer.

  • Liked — Never got in
  • Disliked — That I never got in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We are travelling with two teenagers and the best accomodation we could get was this one with the king bed and two twins. The only real drawbacks are the slightly cramped quarters and only one bathroom for the four of us. Whatever you see on the internet site is what you get. Relative to every other accomodation around it is pretty good. The location is quiet as it is in a residential neighbourhood but, access to all streets and downtown, fishermans wharf, cannery row and all the other tourist attractions is fast and easy. The breakfast is decent as it offers the usual bagels, danishes, frozen waffles, cereals. Some apples, no other types of fruit is a drawback. Overall, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cramped quarters
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

For a two room suite, the price was great. The hotel is located in a very quiet area of Pacific Grove and it's close to Asilomar so you can walk to the beach. However, the two room suite (one King, two twins) was very small. The closet was about three linear feet. There was one tiny round table with one chair, so it was difficult to eat or play cards in the room. We did have a small balcony and a wet bar (not a kitchenette, as advertised). The rooms that the hotel promoted as renovated were still very outdated. The parking was pretty tight and the front desk was very unhelpful. Our room wasn't ready at check in time and we had to wait an extra hour to check in. Then, after one night we were asked to change rooms to a "renovated" room. It was a hassle to move four people, but we obliged (after having to hang around and wait for the other guest to vacate and for the room to be cleaned). Unfortunately the room was just as tiny and out dated as the other room. When we asked the manager if he would consider doing something for us due to the hassle, he told us we were getting a good room rate already. However, we were getting the same rate that anyone going on-line through Howard Johnson would pay. The new room we were moved to was next door to a room being renovated. The work began at 7:30 am each day and the crew worked until 7 pm. When we contacted the front desk, they said that the crew woudln't start until 9 am the next day. No apology was offered. Of course, work started at 7:30 am the next day. I was very disappointed in the desk staff and the manager.

  • Liked — The breakfast was nice.
  • Disliked — The staff.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2007

It is a beautiful location. they could not find our reservation on their computer. resolved that went to our room, and the inside hallway leading to our room smelled very bad, like curry. the managers apartment was right below our room. well, the manager and friends partied untill after 2am, keeping us awake. and when we complained about it would not admit or take resposibility. This location is too great to be sooo mismanaged.
do your self a favor and stay somewhere else, i wish i had.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobonanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed in one of the king suites in 2004 and again in May, 2007. Rooms are currently being renovated, new paint, some new cabinents, fixtures and carpet. Although renovation on other rooms was ongoing during our stay, we were never bothered by the construction work.

They also upgraded their internet service with both wired & wireless capability. Download speed was excellent with rates consistently over 3Mb.

The King Suite is larger than most one bedroom suites with a large bedroom with fireplace, den area with sofa bed, and full kitchen with a breakfast area. The bedroom and den have separate TVs but are only separated by a half wall.

Our room was reasonably clean but the kitchen floor and windows in the breakfast area needed cleaning. No objectionable smells, mold or meldew. The staff was courteous but they didn't know anything about local restaurants.

You don't get an ocean view but the beach is only a five minute wall thru Asilomar conference center which has a ton of deer.
IMO, it's a good value for the Pacific Grove area.

The Tinnery at Lover's Point is now Latitudes but it's still a good place for lunch or dinner.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank fknight636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

I stayed in this hotel Christmas weekend (2006) and after reading the reviews before I went? I thought I'd share my impressions, "post-stay." First, it is not a "fancy-schmancy" property. If you are looking for luxury, I would urge you to stay somewhere else. Is it functional? Yes. Was the bed comfortable? Yes. Was property management courteous, friendly and professional? Yes. My boyfriend and I stayed in unit #101. #101 is a king suite with a full kitchen, king size bed, and fireplace. The unit had a wonderful patio deck that could be accessed from the bedroom or the kitchen. However, it was a little too cold to use in December. But in warmer weather? I could see myself sitting out there enjoying a glass of wine and pre-dinner appetizers after a long day outside riding bikes on 17 Mile Drive or playing golf at the Links, conveniently located nearby. The room had an "odd" shape, but as others on this site have commented, the hotel used to be an apartment complex. Where they had to make divisions to make larger rooms into smaller hotel units, sometimes make odd angles in the room. For instance in room #101, as soon as you enter, there are 3 little steps that go down from a sitting/TV room to the bedroom. If you don't anticipate those stairs being there? You could trip and fall. Though once you get used to them? It's no big deal. Again, while HJ Express is not the "lap of luxury," we found the room to be clean, comfortable, and quiet. It was a non-smoking unit where travellers have respected the "no smoking" policy and have NOT smoked in the room. This is very important to us. We CAN'T STAND the smell of secondhand cigarette smoke and the residual odor it leaves behind. No problem (so far) in unit #101. Traveling frequently to Pacific Grove, we enjoy doing activities outside all day and then picking up groceries and making ourselves dinner and breakfast in the morning. Normally we have rented a house there posted on Craigslist when we visit. This time the house was already booked and we had to find other options. The unit at HJ Express with its full kitchen was perfect for us. Also, there is a Safeway and Trader Joe grocery store and Blockbuster and Hollywood Video stores (DVD player in the room) right up Forest Ave. It's about a 20 minute walk from the property, even less if you drive there. You can also rent DVDs at the property office from a collection they keep on site. The ocean is close, as is 17 Mile Drive. Overall, we had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something basic, functional and comfortable.

  • Liked — The unit had a full kitchen in it.
  • Disliked — Needed a little facelift - - - a little paint to make it look newer.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be afraid to call the property directly for rates. They'll give discounts travel sites don't.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank K Grizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Property: Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing